We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,678)
Filter reviews
1,678 results
Traveler rating
1,514
125
30
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,514
125
30
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis teamcourtyard buildingshanghai roomroof terracecharming hoteldifferent buildingsfour poster bednarrow streetsbreakfast is servedsatellite tvsmall hoteltapasorange squashbeautiful roomsmall poolhome from homebeach towels
Filter
Updating list...
1,149 - 1,154 of 1,678 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2009

We just returned from a two week trip to the UK and Spain, ending our journey at La Villa Marbella. In this instance, we most certainly saved the best for last.

Traveling with our two sons (19 and 22), we elected to stay in the 3-bedroom Sarawak Apartment which is located about 60 seconds from the door of the main lodge. The comfortable, spacious, well-appointed modern apartment was everything we needed and more - full kitchen with washing machine and dishwasher, air conditioning, satellite TV, spacious living room with a large flat-panel TV. The only issue we encountered was the Wifi internet was not working, a problem of the phone company and not the hotel who made every effort to rectify the situation.

As many others have said, the old city of Marbella is a wonderful experience. We spent literally hours each day walking the streets finding cultural attractions, new churches (there are 14) as well as literally countless restaurants and shops. The seafront and beaches were a mere 10-minute walk from our apartment. The San Bernabé Fiesta and Summer Fair was also going on which had parades, fireworks and parties night and day. It was a charming and relaxing environment, and a welcome change from our previous stops in London and Madrid.

As great as the facility was, the hotel was defined by its exceptional quality of service. Marcos and his staff were delightful and helpful beyond all expectations (which were pretty darn high due to the reviews we had read). This began before our arrival with maps and travel suggestions (as we were driving from Sevilla), but really came through when we got lost in the city while trying to drive to the hotel. Upon calling Marcos for directions, he insisted that we pull over and let him come to us on his motorcycle to guide us to the parking garage. What a huge and unexpected relief. Upon arriving at the garage, Marcos had his porter take all our bags to the apartment while he served us cold drinks on the rooftop terrace.

At every step, Marcos and his staff were gracious and helpful without being intrusive. Beginning each morning on the rooftop terrace with a delicious breakfast was a great way to make plans for the day's adventures. In fact, upon Marcos' recommendation we spent a wonderful and unplanned day in Morocco with a tour guide he arranged. When the ferry was late returning, Marcos was in contact by phone and SMS trying to insure that we knew which restaurants would be open upon our arrival. As you might be able to tell, I just can't say enough about the level of service which any other luxury hotel would aspire to offer.

I don't know when our travel plans might take us back to Marbella, but we will consider no accommodation other than La Villa Marbella when we return. Many thanks Marcos, Ben and Bolivar!

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drad1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

We stayed for a week in June 2009 in the Shanghai Room in the Courtyard building. Like other reviewers we found the room to be lovely, tastefully decorated and with everything you could need: air con, satellite tv, minibar/fridge, safe, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, beach towels, bathrobes. The bed is a queen size Chinese four poster which is very comfortable and the room is very quiet. It has its own private sun terrace which overlooks the pool. Continental breakfast was served either by the pool or on the roof terrace of the main hotel building approx 2 mins walk away. Internet access is available on the free computer in each building. We used the taxi transfer service from the airport to the hotel (approx 30 mins) which took the stress out of getting there. Marcos and his team could not be more helpful. Marcos recommended restaurants for us to visit as we are vegetarians and he even arranged for a local Italian restaurant to cook us a special meal for my husband's birthday. 11th June is St. Barneby's day - the patron saint of Marbella and during the week there were festivals, fireworks, flamenco and much more to celebrate. The beach is approx 10 minutes walk away. The further you walk along the beach the quieter it is. Sunbeds and parasols cost 5 euros a day and there are lots of restaurants and bars along the beach front catering for all tastes. Marbella old town is quaint and the tiny residential streets give you a taste of the real Spain. Once outside of the old town it becomes much more touristy. The bonsai tree museum on the outskirts of the old town is worth a visit and Ronda is a good day trip out by bus (1 hour) if you don't have a car. Overall we had a great week which was very relaxing thanks to the excellent service provided by Marcos and his team.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebotleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

My husband and I stayed for 2 weeks at this lovely hotel and we found everything perfect. It was slap bang in the middle of the Old Town but it was so peaceful and tranquil that you could have been in the middle of the countryside. We were in the Courtyard just down the street from the main building and we were in the "Shanghai" room which had its own private sun terrace with sun beds and a huge parasol. We ate breakfast by the pool served by a lovely Polish girl which was delicious.Clean beach towels were provided daily. Marcos and his team were very welcoming and friendly throughout our stay and nothing was too much bother for them the courtyard as spotless. We used the taxi service from the airport to the hotel booked by Marcos which is highly recommended. We look forward to another holiday in Marbella staying at "la Villa Marbella"

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

We enjoyed every minute of our stay at La Villa Marbella - thanks to the outstanding hospitality of Marcos and his team. They really make you feel welcome and provide an individual service we never had experienced before. The lovely, stylish rooms are very quiet and beautifully decorated, so we instantly felt at home. In addition a great breakfast is served on a fantastic roof top terrace which offers a nice view. Unfortunately we were only able to spend two nights, but next time we'll stay longer! Chris & Mirko

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisandMirko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

Just returned from a 4 day stay at this super boutique hotel run by Marcos Torres and his staff. He sets the tone with a great friendly welcome, charm and good humour. This is picked up by all of his team who provide the best and most friendly service we have received in many years of holiday making. La Villa Marbella is in the heart of the old town of Marbella so the atmosphere is very Spanish. We stayed in the Courtyard building which consists of 6 double bedrooms over three floors and has its own swimming pool at ground level and sun terrace on the roof. Great recommendations from Marcos for places to eat - to suit all budgets and tastes. We are telling all our friends about this place and will be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews