We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of La Villa Marbella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Villa Marbella
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Outstanding”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Service was great.
Room was great Filled with charm and personality and most affordable.
In a perfect location. Close to everything that mattered.
People working there were easy to communicate with an d eager to offer assistance finding
what we needed in town and how to best navigate out of town. Could not ask for more.

Room Tip: All rooms here seem great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,299
    110
    27
    7
    1
See reviews for
175
954
37
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
148 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

How do you begin to describe the place that is La Villa Marbella. Maybe you begin with the location and realizing when researching the things to do in Marbella, you must go to the old town of Marbella. Well that's where this hotel is located, so you can't beat the location.

The next way to describe La Villa Marbella is with its charm. You have small rooms, remember it's Europe, but such a great feel and "freshness" to this charming hotel. The breakfast in the morning at the top of the hotel, the delicious food, the noises from the streets of old town Marbella...all of these made La Villa Marbella charming.

The best part of La Villa Marbella is it's service. We lost one of our two bags, we were in the city for the first time, trying to make outgoing calls, etc.....the staff helped us with every single thing!! They never hesitated to take it upon themselves to help us in any way they could, and to make our stay as wonderful as possible.

Unless you plan on staying by the beach at Puerto Banus, treat yourselves to a stay at La Villa Marbella. Ours was unforgettable, thanks in part to the amazing people working there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhoenixRising7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I loved this place! Bolly and Ben at the front desk were informative and helpful. My friend left some clothes in the room and our maid ran down the street after us. What a sweetheart. It has beautiful open rooms overlooking a charming street. The narrow winding streets have some great little boutiques and shops. Hang out in Orange Square under the orange trees for cafe or wine. We only stayed one night! Next time longer. You can walk to the beach which has a lot going on. Only complaint is that you should know you cannot drive up to the door. Make sure you know how to find this gem in the old town before you arrive. A GPS was not helpful.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JoAnCanning2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel is fabulous. For those who don't know, it consists of apartments over several small buildings in the heart of the old city. We stayed at the Sarawak apartment and it was a dream. Well decorated in an asian theme, it had free wifi, more channels on tv than I've ever seen in a hotel, full kitchen, and it was a lot bigger than we expected. The only thing I have to say is the matress in the downstairs bedroom was not very confortable, but both upstairs bedrooms were great. There were only 3 of us so it was not a problem. Breakfast was very good, you fill out a form when you arrive to pick out what you want, my choice was cereal and milk, yoghurt, a croissant, donut and orange juice, and it was perfect. It's a block away from more restaurants than you can count, yet it was pretty quiet. Everyone I met was extremely friendly and spoke great english.
I can't recommend this enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justcris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The Villa is great for a couple looking for peace and quiet, and away from the noise and hustle associated with normal large Spanish hotels. The rooms are not massive, but are well decorated and appointed, with good design features. But why would you want a large room, when there are lots of great bars and restaurants around the corner, to party in or to chill out. Cars are largely banned from the surrounding streets, which is great, and I do not count a 5-10 minute walk from the parking a long way to be in the middle of a beautiful old town.
This is a simple, pretty and well run establishment, and we will be back. If you want the glitz of Puerto Banus, or fully appointed hotel, with huge reception and large car park, this is not for you, but if you want something a bit different, for a short stay, try it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paullywaully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
152 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is what an ideal boutique hotel, without the correspnding prices ! Even before our trip, Juan provided us with all the transport info needed to get from Malaga airport to La Villa Marbella.

They have about 29 rooms scattered around several properties along the streets of the Old Town in Marbella. Each has about 3 to 5 rooms, and ours in Loft 15 had a lounge and an open courtyard, where breakfast was served. Each room is unique, with different layouts, design and furnishings. Marco (the owner) had worked in the Far East for many years, and this influence is reflected in the decorations in the rooms as well as the room names (no numbers here!)

Our room was a good combination of both eclectic and modern - Balinese-style sideboard and bedside tables added to the decor of the room, at the same time, large and clean cupboards provided plenty of storage and also held the in-room safe.

Their service and advice was faultless ! As the hotel is off the main street with no vehicle access, the closet the taxi could drive up to was about 50 m from the hotel on Calle Ancha at the west end of Calle Principe. But the hotel staff were waiting there to help us with our bags, even though they only knew our approximate time of arrival at Malaga airport.

Marco's advice at breakfast each day was fantastic; what to do, where to go etc. The restaurants he recommended had great food and were not the touristy-type immediately surrounding Orange Square. Breakfast was selected from a check-list the night before, and prepared hot only when you come down to the courtyard.

No wonder it is #1, no other place to stay in Marbella !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulington, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We recently visited LVM for 5 days, enjoyed so much, great location, walking distance to beach, old town, new town, fruit market, bakery. Breakfast each morning served on roof top terrace was hot croissants, fresh fruit, coffee and serviced with a smile. 5 plus on service from Ben, Juan, and Marcus, gave great suggestions on activities, places to visit in Spain. Marcus arranged a great tour for us to Gilbalter with a tour guide, shout out to Paul DelMar was very informative and so enthusastic,so much fun to see the monkeys. Highly recommend this hotel, you will not be disappointed, top notch service.

Room Tip: Java Room, comfortable ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 70 in Marbella
320 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
2.3 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
3.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 70 in Marbella
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Marbella

Property: La Villa Marbella
Address: Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#2 Family Hotel in Marbella
#4 Business Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — La Villa Marbella 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Marbella Charming Hotel is located inside the romantic Old Town of the internationally renowned Marbella. The 150 years old house has been fully refurbished and the 4 suites carry a very cozy Asian Style. The rooms are full equipped: air conditioner, heater, ceiling fan, TV satellite, stereo chain, ads, mini bar, safety box, electronic keys, telephone with private voice mail and full amenities in the bathroom. From the terrace, during the breakfast or relaxing in our Chinese Lounge, you will enjoy stunning views of the Sierra Blanca, Old Town and the Castle Walls. 3 minutes walk to the famous Orange Square and its selected bars and restaurants, 7 minutes walk to the beach or 10 minutes by car to the famous Marina Puerto Banus and its nightlife , La Villa Marbella gives you the tranquility of the Old Town yet close to the interesting points of the city. You will come back !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your La Villa Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hotel Marbella Charming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing