We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
Review of La Villa Marbella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Villa Marbella
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here at Christmas 2012 from Boxing Day for four nights. Not sure what to add to all the other brilliant reviews, but this place just is brilliant. The location, the rooms, the service, the breakfast, the personal attention to your needs by the owner. Everything is just what it should be. Seems to good to be true..........................it isn't. You still feel as if you are staying in an area frequented and lived in by locals. laying in bed listening to the sound of voices drifting in through the windows, food smells etc. The whole ambiance of the place is just wonderful. We had the Saigon room, beautifully decorated with a little balcony overlooking the pool and a front juliet balcony overlooking the very quiet street. Highly recommend this hotel, but please don't ruin it for me by you all turning up at the same time

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevec8126511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    108
    27
    7
    1
See reviews for
173
944
35
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed for just one night in Villa Marbella, and what a wonderful stay!
We were a family (2 adults, 2 small children) and had booked a 2-room suite. Upon arrival we found otu we'd been upgraded to the Sarawak duplex, with 3 bedrooms, living room, full kitchen and 2 bathrooms. The proprietor told us the next day he thought we would be more comfortable there, with two children - what a nice treat for just a one-night stay!
The duplex was lovely with lovely decors and very comfortable beds. The whole of Villa Marbella is situated in the old town of Marbella, in quaint little streets (very little traffic).
Breakfast was amazing - they ask you to fill in an order form the night before, and then serve a wonderful, freshly cooked breakfast for you the next day. The breakfast waitress was very friendly and helpful, and already had a babychair ready for our youngest (just under 2 years). The proprietor came around and greeted the guests, and took the time to talk to new guests. Lovely, and very personal service!
Looking at the other guests, I assume families aren't the most common guests at this hotel, but I have no hesitations recommending this to other families, given their hospitality and willingness to provide just that little extra to make a family stay a real vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pheegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in Copenhagen
Level Contributor
95 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We booked two adjoining rooms for a week during July 2012 on the strength of the Trip Advisor reviews. I must admit that I couldn't understand how any hotel could be that perfect. Now I can. From the moment we exchanged the first email to the moment we bade our new friends a fond farewell, everything was "that perfect".
We discussed our needs (one room for our teenage children and one for my wife and I) with the owner and he mailed us photos of the rooms and outlined the various possibilities, which ranged from a small town house for our exclusive use, to two adjoining rooms on the first floor of another building, which is where we ended up. We were sent instructions how to get there, where to park and telephone numbers to call when we arrived or if we got lost.
We had no problems at all finding the nearby car park and then the hotel reception where we were booked in with the minimum of fuss and escorted to our rooms in a nearby building. As reported elsewhere, the hotel consists of five separate buildings all close to each other in the old town in Marbella and you have access to all the buildings. There is a pool and sun terrace in one of them, reception area and breakfast terrace in another and public areas of one sort or another in the others and this unusual concept actually works very well. We had exclusive use of the entire first floor in one of the buildings and the smart design meant we could turn it into a two bedroomed flat with two bathrooms. The rooms were just as beautiful as the photos suggest. Beds are very comfortable, there is plenty of cupboard space and the bathrooms are superbly appointed. We had everything we needed, including a safe in each room. You probably wouldn't want to visit Marbella to watch TV but it's worth noting that they provide satellite TV with dozens of channels in several languages, including the most popular UK channels (BBC and ITV 1, 2 and 3 etc), but you'll probably need initial advice on which buttons to press on the remote controls.
The management specialise in advice. Best beaches, restaurants, day trips, car parking, shopping, airport transfers, etc etc. If they didn't know the answer (which is very unusual) they will find out for you and every single staff member will help you in a friendly and efficient manner. We really couldn't find any fault at all with either the hotel or the staff. It may be a good idea if they could set up some sort of common bar area where guests could meet up early evenings for a drink before exploring the old town, but it's not something that you'd really miss unless your main objective is to meet the other hotel guests. In which case, I suppose you could sit up on the breakfast terrace every morning and take a couple of hours to eat your pre ordered fresh breakfast. I could certainly think of worse ways of starting the day.
Very highly recommended, we will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JENSBritinCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have just returned from a five night stay at La Villa Marbella, we booked this hotel after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor.
We used the bus from the airport to the bus station at Marbella, which was very easy to do, we used a taxi to get from bus station to hotel.
The hotel is right in the centre of the old town, a fantastic location; as other reviews have said it is not one building but a series of buildings all very close together. We were in the ‘Design’ building in the Cherating room, after being greeted by Marcos and paperwork filled in with Ben we were shown where the Courtyard building with a pool was and then taken to the Design and our room. It would be fair to say that the photos on the website are accurate, if anything the room is even better in real life. We had booked this room as we particularly wanted some outside space, which was provided on the terrace. The design building has just four rooms one on the ground floor and two on the first floor with the door to the Cherating room also on the first floor, once through the door there is a short flight of steps to the lounge area which had a TV , sofa, wardrobe and safe etc, a sliding door led into the bedroom area with a door into the bathroom and a door onto the terrace. The room was spotlessly clean, the mini bar was well stocked with a variety of both alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks and some chocolate. We were provided with beach towels as well as bathroom towels and robes, the terrace was beautiful with reclining chairs and a hot tub, (it is described as a Jacuzzi on website but in reality it is a hot tub) which was lovely to sit in when we had a day of not great weather. Breakfast in the main building was served on the roof terrace by lovely helpful staff. All the staff were friendly and courteous, Marcos and Ben were more than helpful with suggestions for days out and bars/restaurants to use, which helped to make our stay more enjoyable.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our time at La Villa Marbella and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: If possible try for one with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floradora04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great location in the old town and a lot of excellent attention to detail in the rooms, which are very to a very high standard. However, the main thing which made this hotel stand out was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Extremely nice and always providing you with tips on what to see and where to eat, drink etc. We got some great advice which we wouldn't have got from a travel book. This hotel should be on the top of your list if you are planning a visit to Marbella!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmcconville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The owner and staff here are still the most courteous and friendly I have ever met in the whole of the Marbella area and the Costa del Sol! This was the second time I have stayed there and if anything, it is better than last time. I stayed in the newly renovated 'Cottage' which has been extremely well and sympathetically designed. It also had a small kitchen. It would be ideal for a family or a group of friends as it only has three bedrooms. The area is also nice and quiet at night but only a short walk from the numerous bars, restaurants and shops of the old town as it is situated right in the middle. It is a ten minute walk from the beach.

Room Tip: The Cottage, which is a small house with three bedrooms and its own kitchen, was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onefourall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We've just spent two wonderful nights at the Villa Marbella, the most enchanting hotel we've ever stayed in with the most amazing, charming, friendly and helpful staff we've ever met. They looked after all our needs, from finding us the best local place for a pedicure, to recommending wonderful local restaurants but most of all, their bright smiles greeting us every morning! Although the hotel was tricky to find, it was so worth it. Staying right in the middle of the old town was charming and fun and everywhere we wanted to go was within a gentle stroll. We stayed in the Bali Suite, a very restful space - we could hear the bustle of the streets when the window was open, and then silence and calm with the windows and shutters closed. It really is an old world haven of relaxation!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanneobrien16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 70 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Marbella Heights Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
0.3 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
0.4 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Marbella

Property: La Villa Marbella
Address: Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#2 Family Hotel in Marbella
#4 Business Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — La Villa Marbella 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Marbella Charming Hotel is located inside the romantic Old Town of the internationally renowned Marbella. The 150 years old house has been fully refurbished and the 4 suites carry a very cozy Asian Style. The rooms are full equipped: air conditioner, heater, ceiling fan, TV satellite, stereo chain, ads, mini bar, safety box, electronic keys, telephone with private voice mail and full amenities in the bathroom. From the terrace, during the breakfast or relaxing in our Chinese Lounge, you will enjoy stunning views of the Sierra Blanca, Old Town and the Castle Walls. 3 minutes walk to the famous Orange Square and its selected bars and restaurants, 7 minutes walk to the beach or 10 minutes by car to the famous Marina Puerto Banus and its nightlife , La Villa Marbella gives you the tranquility of the Old Town yet close to the interesting points of the city. You will come back !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your La Villa Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hotel Marbella Charming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing