We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely rooms”
Review of La Villa Marbella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Villa Marbella
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed a 2 night stay here recently. Stayed in the borocay room which was really nicely decorated with a large bathroom. The staff here were very welcoming and friendly. They provided nice recommendations for dinner. the hotel is in the old town and everything is within walking distance. My only complaint would be that we were not informed that breakfast was served in a seperate building a few doors up. The information booklet in the room stated the terrace. No one was available on the 24/7 reception to direct us and as a result we did not enjoy breakfast which we paid for. Also the room was not replenished on a daily basis with tea and coffee facilities or water.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louboutin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

660 - 666 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Brazilian owner Marcos is very friendly and helpful as all his crew, this makes the visitor to feel comfortable. The rooms are very clean. The decor in the hotel is South Asian.
Stayed at the Banyan ”Junior” Suite. The floor area is what I would call a double room but as it is in the attic, the ceiling descends from the middle of the room down to a height of approx. 1 m at one end. This makes that to reach this end you must crawl. On this “wall” is the rooms only windows, two round portholes of about 0,5 m in diameter, making the room hazy even in broad daylight. The room has no table, except for a small chest in front of the two seated sofa. Neither are there any chairs. The only reading light is at the one side of the bed. Just above the bed is the AC/Heater blowing to the bed. The terrace, size 3,5x2 m is to the southwest, enjoyable on a sunny day. The terrace door has windows giving some light to the room but as it is at the end of a corridor, it did not give much light. This “Junior” suite suits mainly newlywed or young couples who are happy with a large bed.
Generally the areas in the hotel are not heated; in the breakfast room the staff used the parka jackets or similar winter clothes. This is quite general in most of the small hotels and restaurants in Spain.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a long weekend at this hotel because it was recommended to us by my daughter. We like the concept of lots of separate houses as it is in keeping with the old town and doesn't spoil the area with a large hotel. We were upgraded by Marcos to the Palawan room as we had been recommended to the hotel. The room was in a house two minutes from reception and was on the first floor with a little balcony. It was very tastefully furnished with a Thai theme, a large comfortable bed, mini bar, tea and coffee and TV with millions of channels! Isabella welcomed us and she couldn't have been more helpful, she recommended places to go and where to eat and gave clear instructions on the map. We had a fabulous time and can't wait to return. We enjoyed our breakfast very much particularly the large bowl of sliced fresh fruit with Greek yoghurt and lots of honey and lovely warm croissants yummy! Marcos arranged our transport back to the airport for us...a perfect end to a perfect mini break! I am recommending this hotel to all my friends.

Room Tip: Ask Marcos and Isabella to recommend a room depending on what is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank herecomesthesun44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights last week and found it to be everything we wanted. It felt so small it was more like a B & B which we like. Gorgeous terrace to have a very nice breakfast served up until 12 noon which was great if you want a lie in on holiday! The perfect location in the old town. We stayed in the Lombok room on the ground floor which we probably wouldn't again only because it could be a bit noisy when people were checking in and out of the hotel. It wasn't a huge problem though and the staff are charming and couldn't do enough for us. We will definitely return but in a room on the first floor or in one of the other buildings. We got a taxi booked by the hotel from and to Malaga airport which meant no hassle!
All in all a very good stay :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clairejlawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We spent a month touring Spain and this boutique hotel provided everything the five star hotels we stayed in did, if not more. The location was fabulous; right in the middle of the old part of the city and a short walk to the beach. The reception was efficient and the friendliest of all our hotels in Spain. Juan and Marcos are very hospitable and made us feel very welcome. Our room, the Palawan, was spacious, very clean, well appointed, and tastefully decorated. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom provided everything we needed. The tea and coffee in the room was very much appreciated and the soft music as we entered the room created a homey ambiance.
The breakfast was satisfactory, the food was good and the service friendly and efficient.

I agree with a previous reviewer - this property was not over the top or an unique experience.

What La Villa Marbella is - is a charming, clean, quiet, and comfortable hotel in the heart of the old part of Marbella, with a friendly and efficient staff, and good value for your money. What more do you really want? It did meet our five star requirements and then some.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank okanagansun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I booked Room Java. It is a lovely ground floor room with a nice big 4 poster bed. Loved the room design. Room was absolutely spotless and cleaned to a very high standard every day. Everywhere in the hotel was very clean. Staff at hotel are second to none. Very nice people. Marcos is very helpful and takes such pride in the hotel. Ben is also very helpful and good fun! I loved the location of the hotel in the old town. The old town is such a nice, relaxing, romantic place. Breakfast in hotel delicious. If i stayed here again i would treat myself to a suite with a jacuzzi...those rooms look amazing! Overall, we loved this hotel! Its a great place that i will recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rosco263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because we read that it was the top ranked hotel in Marbella on this site. We were not disappointed. Marcos and his staff made us feel welcome and like family. The hotel was so nice and we thoroughly enjoyed the patio and spending time there as well as our room. They helped with any details of itinerary for the days we were there and even knew exactly when each bus would be leaving the station and the time we should call the taxi to be there most comfortably. It was truly an awesome experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank becyoung1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.4 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
0.1 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 70 in Marbella
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,846 reviews
6.5 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Marbella

Address: Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#4 Business Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: $111 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — La Villa Marbella 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Marbella Charming Hotel is located inside the romantic Old Town of the internationally renowned Marbella. The 150 years old house has been fully refurbished and the 4 suites carry a very cozy Asian Style. The rooms are full equipped: air conditioner, heater, ceiling fan, TV satellite, stereo chain, ads, mini bar, safety box, electronic keys, telephone with private voice mail and full amenities in the bathroom. From the terrace, during the breakfast or relaxing in our Chinese Lounge, you will enjoy stunning views of the Sierra Blanca, Old Town and the Castle Walls. 3 minutes walk to the famous Orange Square and its selected bars and restaurants, 7 minutes walk to the beach or 10 minutes by car to the famous Marina Puerto Banus and its nightlife , La Villa Marbella gives you the tranquility of the Old Town yet close to the interesting points of the city. You will come back !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Villa Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hotel Marbella Charming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing