We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”
Review of Barcelo Marbella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Marbella
Ranked #12 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Lovely stay at Barcelo Marbella very clean and staff are lovely especially in pool snack bar. You could not reserve sunbeds which was great just being able to go down when you were ready and find a bed a big plus. Only down side was location we had to taxi in and out of puerto banus and as there was six of us we needed two taxis costing 12 euros each way I would recommend this hotel highly .

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank muzza964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, Director General at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Dear Mrs. Muzza,

Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sending us such kind and attentive words, we are very grateful. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Those words are the reason of motivation and satisfaction for the entire Barceló Marbella team. Our main aim is to make our guests happy, to give an unique and memorable experience, make them feel at home and to share unforgettable moments.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Sincerely,

Enrique Castellanos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 1,542 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2014

The rooms were dated but very well equipped and clean. The Breakfast Buffet is really good. Location is a bit far away from the beach, Puerto Banus and Marbella but if this does not bother you, then you will really like it. Great free wifi available within and at the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, Director General at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Dear Mrs. Melanie,

Thank you so much for sending us such kind and attentive words, we are very grateful. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Those words are the reason of motivation and satisfaction for the entire Barceló Marbella team. Our main aim is to make our guests happy, to give an unique and memorable experience, make them feel at home and to share unforgettable moments.
Please accept my sincerely apologies about the location´s Hotel, but we try to do our best.
I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Sincerely,

Enrique Castellanos Jaque
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

this was my second time staying in this hotel, it is surrounded by golf courses but a 30 minute quick walk to the beach, the hotel is clean, the staff are very friendly, the rooms are large and what you would expect from a 4 star hotel, the pool area is ok a bit concrete for my liking but the 50 - 60 kids that were in on this occasion were enjoying themselves.
Almost exclusively spanish guests so going to bed early is not an option, the bar area shows 3 different sports simultaneously on 3 televisions, bar prices are cheap compared to other bars in the area, the bar food is pretty good, The Breakfast Buffet is really good with a huge selection to chose from, there were 2 juices which neither were freshly squeezed which was a bit of a shame, dinner is also buffet again lots to chose from and very reasonably price at 18.50 euro's per person, overall a good hotel, location is a bit far away from the beach, Puerto Banus and Marbella but if this does not bother you, then you will really like it. Great free wifi available within and at the pool.

Room Tip: Room on the pool side can be a bit noisy, Room 217 had a fab jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, Director General at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dera Mr Robert,
Thank you so much for sending us such kind and attentive words, we are very grateful. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Those words are the reason of motivation and satisfaction for the entire Barceló Marbella team. Our main aim is to make our guests happy, to give an unique and memorable experience, make them feel at home and to share unforgettable moments.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Sincerely,

Enrique Castellanos Jaque
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in June 14, a party of three including a teenager.
Lovely hotel off the beaten track with a free transfer to Banus twice daily. Rooms were spacious and clean, good maid service. Food choice was good and plentiful. My only minor complaint is the cost of the drinks, certain items were very pricey but they had a good choice. Staff friendly and helpful. Entertainment on most nights.
It is quite a way from the airport so a transfer is essential, though as it's one of the furthest from the airport the return transfer was nearly 3hours. :-( I'd pay for a taxi next time despite the cost.
Would recommend if you want a quiet family break in the sun.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JayhoLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, Director General at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Mrs. Jayho,

Thank you so much for sending us such kind and attentive words, we are very grateful. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Those words are the reason of motivation and satisfaction for the entire Barceló Marbella team. Our main aim is to make our guests happy, to give an unique and memorable experience, make them feel at home and to share unforgettable moments.


I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Sincerely,

Enrique Castellanos Jaque
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I found this hotel a good place to come if you have kids and want to enjoy some good time in the pool with them but not suitable for adult needs. Room service is not as you would expect from a big chain hotel, the bar closes early even on friday nights (12pm). Mini bar at the room has nothing, you have to order what you want choosing from packages they offer, basically if you walk in at 2am to your room and want water its going to take some time for room service to provide it. My room was facing the pool and Friday night they had live music which I found it a little loud considering I was located in the second floor and I felt I was in third row of the show. The balcony is nice but lacks of privacy having this space dividers full of holes that you can see thorough your neighbor balcony and if they have the room curtain open you can see the room too. Guest services are great, the people is very friendly and prices are reasonable. If you order food from the pool I strongly suggest to stay with pool food, don't go fancy; the burger is great compared to the grill chicken that was too dry and the pasta that was't that great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RBethancourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, Director General at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Dear Customer,
First off all I want to thank you for your information about the sound of the music, thanks to this, we will be able to repair our mistakes and so avoid that this happens in the future. I am sorry that I was not informed earlier to excuse myself personally and so trying to resolve this unfortunate circumstances.

In the name of the staff of the Hotel Barceló Marbella and in my own, we kindly request you to accept our apologies, asking you to consider conceding us again in the near future, to honors us with your presence in another occasion. So you can allow us to demonstrate you our professionalism.

Please be also ensured that we will do everything possible to make your next stay exceptional and unique.

With our gratitude and comprehension and regretting once more the inconveniences produced.

Yours Sincerely,

Enrique Castellanos Jaque
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Me and a friend stayed full board for a long weekend. Our room was large and very clean with a balcony overlooking a quiet road and views of the countryside.

The pool was large and clean with lots of sunbeds, the buffet at meal times had a large range of food and everything was really nice. The hotel snack bar was good value and the drinks at the bar were good value, considering the measures were HUGE!

The hotel was great for a quiet girls weekend. Marbella and Puerta Banus are a taxi ride away (20euro / 13euro). It is more of a family hotel and a taxi from the hotel for the airport was 80euro so not cheap. There is a small parade of shops and bars in San Pedro, which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

A very nice, quiet hotel but it won't suit people looking for lots close by or looking for a more rowdy experience.

Room Tip: All rooms would be quiet due to the location but the kids club went on a little late so rooms overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank miss303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, Director General at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Miss303:

It is a great satisfaction for the whole team of the Barcelo Marbella to know that your expectations have been covered.

Your comments are a matter of professional pride and joy that inspire and motivate us in our daily efforts to the full satisfaction of our customers.

Please feel free to advise me of your next stay, since I will be delighted to personally welcome you.

Best Regards.


Alberto Segura
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel is about 40 mins from Malaga airport and a very expensive cab ride - pre book a transfer would be my advice!

It's also about 15-20 mins cab ride into Marbella and 10 into Puerto Banus - so not a great location for us, but that's not the hotels fault.

So, hotel... Rooms are very clean and comfortable, restaurant is also very clean and a good selection of food - we were full board and breakfast, lunch and dinner were all very nice. Drinks are reasonably priced and service was fairly good, all staff we encountered were helpful and polite but they could've done with an extra person on the bar most of the time.

Pool area is nice, plenty of loungers while we were there but the hotel wasn't busy at the time.

Overall nice hotel, perfect for chilling out but if you want to get out then location isn't ideal unless you hire a car or don't mind shelling out for cabs (there is a free shuttle bus from the hotel but it didn't work out right for us).

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank RachelJane82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, Director General at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear RachelJane82:

It is a great satisfaction for the whole team of the Barcelo Renacimiento to know that your expectations have been covered.

Your comments are a matter of professional pride and joy that inspire and motivate us in our daily efforts to the full satisfaction of our customers.

We understand your comments about our localization but with the transfer service that we have every day we try to minimize that problem.

Please feel free to advise me of your next stay, since I will be delighted to personally welcome you.

Best Regards.



Alberto Segura
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
3.4 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 70 in Marbella
1,776 reviews
7.0 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,509 reviews
6.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
#30 of 70 in Marbella
918 reviews
2.5 mi away
H10 Andalucia Plaza
H10 Andalucia Plaza
#1 of 1 in Nueva Andalucia
2,349 reviews
7.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Marbella

Address: C/ de Granadillas, s/n. Urb Guadalmina Alta, 29670, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: $80 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is in a magnificent natural setting, with one of the largest and best golf courses in Europe, the Guadalmina Golf Club, with a 45-hole course, where Hotel guests can benefit from special rates. All this, together with its wide range of functional facilities for congresses, conventions and incentive travel, large rooms, gastronomy and sports and leisure facilities, make this Hotel the ideal venue for a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Splitty, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barcelo Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Marbella Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing