We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice , my choice almost every time I go in Spain”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Barcelo Marbella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Marbella
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Really nice , my choice almost every time I go in Spain”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here several times
Decided to write a review
What a great hotel for a god price
I was amazed by how complex it is
It has a good size gym , really big to be Honest ,, seen bigger hotels with smaller gyms
Rooms are really clean every time and bed comfortable
Pools have different sizes and enough sun beds on the side
Breakfast is delicious
Couldn't fault this hotel
Really nice
I always stay there when I go in again as it's a really good price for what you're getting
The only thing I would complain about is that is a bit far away from the sea
Definitely a car is needed or a taxi or anything
Is far
It's not 10 min walking
Maybe 40 easily

Apart from that is great
Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, Director General at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Alexandra,

Thank you so much for sending us such kind and attentive words, we are very grateful. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Those words are the reason of motivation and satisfaction for the entire Barceló Marbella team. Our main aim is to make our guests happy, to give an unique and memorable experience, make them feel at home and to share unforgettable moments.


I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Sincerely,

Enrique Castellanos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    409
    173
    73
    36
See reviews for
435
429
22
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Just returned from an overnight stay. This hotel could be really good with a bit of tlc.
Firstly the good points......the staff were fantastic, very friendly & helpful.
The rooms were spacious.
Nice views from the balcony.
Great breakfast.
Bar prices very good €2.50 for a glass of wine.
And the not so good.....
The pool was filthy with what looked like algae in the bottom.
The rooms need decorating, paint job very tired.
Having to pay €15 to park was excessive.
safe in room didn't work.
Balcony divide was not private.
No changing rooms by the pool.
I have to say that we enjoyed our stay but the main concern for us was the state of the pool, it was a lovely sunny day & we would have liked to have used it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bennettkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, Director General at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Customer,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your e-mail as well as the included comments. Only by receiving feedback from our clients we are able to improve.

I deeply regret that you could not swim in our outdoors swimming pool, but the day before, was raining,It is not usual, in this season and in this place of the coust, to have temperature changes from 15ºC to 26ºC in few days, it is a natural effect, beyond our control and a case of force majeure

With our gratitude and comprehension and regretting once more the inconveniences produced.

My sincerely apologices

Bes regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We were booked into this hotel on a golf package, wow - we were blown away by the quality and service, especially for what we had paid. We had two twin rooms that over looked the mountains and golf course of Gaudamar South. The breakfast was fantastic with fresh omelettes being cooked at your request by the very friendly cook who always repeated your order in Spanish in a way to encourage you to learn...
The rooms were large, clean and suitably equiped with TV & small fridge (very handy).
The pool is large and clean and there were ample loungers to use for free along with pool towels that you just request from reception. We had free parking included in our golf package which was fantastic as the car park is in the basement of the hotel with lifts directly into the hotel lobby - very useful when carting your golf clubs in and out.
On our last day, we asked if it was possible to leave our luggage until later as we were off to play golf and our flight was not until late in the evening. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful, they let us leave our luggage in a side room off the main recemption and upon our return, let us use a free room to shower and get ready in - complete with towels and shower gels, all free of charge! We think this is fantastic customer service and have never had the same treatment in any other location we have used for the same trip.
We would all return here for any occasion as it meets every need in good measure.
The one thing to point out - you do need a car to get anywhere if you are thinking of stopping here for an actual holiday. Beeches etc. are too far to easily walk to as are most restaurants and shopping areas etc.
Cannot wait to be able to book another stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view - stunning as the sun rises / set's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tozzy1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, Director General at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you so much for sending us such kind and attentive words, we are very grateful. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Those words are the reason of motivation and satisfaction for the entire Barceló La Marbella team. Our main aim is to make our guests happy, to give an unique and memorable experience, make them feel at home and to share unforgettable moments.


I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of Trip Advisor, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectations.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just returned from a lovely stay at this hotel , staff very welcoming on arrival. Room was nice and spacious , comfy beds ( 2 singles pushed together to make Queen size ) , however floor not the cleanest as feet got very dirty and lighting not too bright for mirror in main room. Bathroom was nice enough with separate shower and bath and loads of space on sink area for 2 peoples toiletries. Food was incredible on the first night ( Saturday ) however dinners after that declined and far less choice ( due to hotel being far quieter it was understandable ). Wi-fi is free in room and hotel areas and was very useful, TV in room has BBC1 and ITV to keep up with news.

Only down side was the description in our travel brochure ( JET2.com) stated the beach was 200m from the hotel , when it was closer to 2.5km and brochure also stated Puerto Banus was 2.5km when it was over 6km. Also the hotel is a fair walk from the nearest shops and 15 minute walk to nearest bars, however the bar in the hotel was fine and very reasonable prices at 3 euros for large beer. The hotel does offer a free shuttle bus each day to Marbella and Puerto Banus from 11am and picking back up at 5pm which is a great service, always on time and in quality coaches.

Would recommend this hotel unless you like a short walk to an outside bar after dinner as its a good walk or a taxi ride each night.

On final day the travel companies coach did not arrive and this was immediately sorted by the man on reception and got another coach to pick us up , fantastic service as would've had to have been an expensive taxi ride without him. All staff throughout spoke at least good English , reception staff spoke excellent English making life very easy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliJohn65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. Hope to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel offered excellent value. It is somewhat off the beaten track so a car is desirable. Parking in the basement was free of charge. The large bed was very comfortable and the amenities of the hotel were well maintained. Breakfast was a delight!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Smiler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments, hope to welcome you again to Barceló Marbella.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed for an entire weekend Friday through Sunday. The hotel and grounds were beautiful. The breakfast was great and while it was typical European, you could order an omlet, eggs over, pancakes, etc. The free shuttle service to Marbella was a plus. We drove to the hotel and were happy not to have to drive into the City! We ate in San Pedro at places that were recommended by staff - excellent. I used the services at Pricyla (hair, beauty, etc.) and it was great - very reasonable not pricey at all! Or room was spacious and bathroom as well. The A/C perfect. We live at the beach so not being close to it did not matter to us. We would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charleston29412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments, we wish you the best and hope to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here a few times now and literally can't get enough, I can't really fault it. We got a transfer from the airport to our hotel saving us about €90 and there was a daily shuttle bus to the beach, aswell as free wifi, stunning pool, lovely food and cocktails. San pedro town is only a ten minute walk away.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments. we hope to see you again and wish the best.

Yours sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
5.8 mi away
NH Marbella
NH Marbella
#17 of 71 in Marbella
1,406 reviews
3.4 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 71 in Marbella
1,559 reviews
7.0 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 71 in Marbella
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
6.4 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
6.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#4 of 71 in Marbella
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Marbella

Property: Barcelo Marbella
Address: C/ de Granadillas, s/n. Urb Guadalmina Alta, 29670, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is in a magnificent natural setting, with one of the largest and best golf courses in Europe, the Guadalmina Golf Club, with a 45-hole course, where Hotel guests can benefit from special rates. All this, together with its wide range of functional facilities for congresses, conventions and incentive travel, large rooms, gastronomy and sports and leisure facilities, make this Hotel the ideal venue for a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Barcelo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Marbella Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing