We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should and Could Have Been Better !” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Marbella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barcelo Marbella
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Should and Could Have Been Better !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were a late arrival and were given a twin room and not a king as booked - told we could change rooms in the morning as the king beds were on the 3rd floor - but in the morning were told in no uncertain terms that it was not necessary to change rooms as all the beds in the hotel are the same and the maid would make it into a king - it was very uncomfortable with 2 different mattresses and not satisfactory. Inadequate air conditioning - toilet did not flush easily - screaming children running up and down the corridor - generally a dark and dismal interior - unhelpful staff and certainly no service with a smile ! We bought botled water at the bar and the price varied each time - did not eat here so cannot comment on the food. Only stayed here as the location was very close to our friends apartment. I guess you get what you pay for but whatever the charge some things should always be guaranteed and that is good customer service. This was not the case here and the hotel staff couldn't care less about us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the golf course as it is a little quieter !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time spent writing your personal opinion about Barceló Marbella. We do appreciate your comments and will like to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    399
    173
    71
    35
See reviews for
416
421
22
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

To be honest, I feel that this hotel deserves more than its 3.5 'star' Tripadvisor rating.

We have just returned from an 8 night stay - thoroughly enjoyable.

We followed the directions on the hotel website and drove straight therel. There is very safe underground parking- it is usually 15 euro per night but we negotiated with the folks at reception and got a rate of 10 euro per night which was fine.

We had a pool facing room which was incredibly spacious and very clean. There was a small fridge in the room. (If we were going again I'd ask for a room facing the Golf course and mountains - fantastic view.)

Pool towels are provided and when we were there the pool area was busy but there was not the awful 'rush for the sun loungers' that can often take place. Life Guard on duty from 10.30 onwards. Most guests seemed to be Spanish or French.

The reception staff were always most helpful and polite.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis - breakfast served until 11. It was very good with plenty of choice. Plates cleared away quickly and efficiently.

We tended to spend the day at the pool and then go out to eat at night. We had a lovely trip to Istan - worth a visit, and another evening in Ronda. Ronda is about an hour away.......but you could spend a day there. Plenty of shops, historic places to visit and lots of restaurants.

We went to the Old Town in Marbella on two evenings. Look out for a brilliant restaurant, La Cuisine - brilliant value and excellent food. We also spent an evening in Puerto Banus. Good shopping here in the big Corte el Ingles store. If you have a car, the La Canada shopping complex is also excellent (about 20 mins from hotel). Here we ate in M.Wok, an Asian buffet - very good value, very clean and excellent food.

We would be very happy to stay in this hotel again.......for the area it is reasonably priced, very comfortable and the staff are excellent.

Room Tip: For relaxation ask for room facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pianoviolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time spent writing your personal opinion about Barceló Marbella. We do appreciate your comments and will like to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We just got back 28th july wife and me 2weeks all inclusive hotel set back from all hustle n bustle nearest shop about 1 mile or ten minute walk down past golf courses and villas rooms nice n spacious bed fit for a giant, masive, free shuttle bus to take you into porta banus twice a day and pick you back up later downside you have to be first on bus if busy should have a ticket system only about 18 seater first come first on!, hotel is not youre norm allinclusive joint no yobs lots of spanish but cater for english we never had a bad bit of food three meals a day its presented well and tastes well safe in room free sunbeds free you can hire pool towels for the euro deposit, meal times good breackfast 7.30-100 lunch 1.30 -3.30 dinner 8.00-10.30 and pool bar serves inbetween not many do the all inclusive so it not crap what youre served,soft drinks at the bar are out of bottles, beer on tap or bottles cocktails and bottles of water and youre not limited to how many drinks you can order at once they just give you an information sheet with all details on politely asking not to wast food and drink which is right,would deffo go back

Room Tip: We booked with jet2 and we got a superior double
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deanSCAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time spent writing your personal opinion about Barceló Marbella. We do appreciate your comments and will like to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned after a weeks stay at the Barcelo Marbella and I have to say we were not overly impressed. Disappointing to say the least. The hotel itself is fine, however the staffs attitude and the ability of its cleaners left a lot to be desired. Firstly we waited 30min to check in because the reception staff had their heads stuck in their computers. We were not acknowledged once. This happened several times over the course of the week. That is except for when the manager was in reception. Quite a change in their attitude then. At the bar, we were frequently ignored. On one occasion I went to get 2 bottles of water the waiter refused to accept that I had been there before the others he served. In the 30min I waited one guy got served twice! The rooms were very dusty. It was clear that they were not swept or dusted all week. The bed covers were also not changed. The air conditioning in the rooms was inadequate.
When we booked this holiday we had been told it was not a place for children. However this is not the case, so for anyone looking for a quiet get away this is not it. The hotel is remote, however this is clear from the brochures etc. what u do have to be aware of is it is VERY remote. Nothing is really within walking distance and there are not service buses. There is a shuttle from the hotel which runs twice a day but is limited to beaches and Porto Banus. You will spend a lot on Taxis if you wish to go anywhere. There are a good selection of buses from San Pedro to Marbella and Gibraltar for anyone who wants to get out and about. But it will be approx €12 return in a taxi to get you for one.
Plus sides the manager was very good. We had an issue with the first room we were given (sparse and lacking a balcony) however he changed it without hesitation. Also the views over the gold course are lovely. It's nice to sit out in an evening drink in hand and enjoy the attractive surroundings. This was the 2nd time my mother had stayed in the hotel and did not have these issues the 1st time. So perhaps we were unlucky on this occasion. Unlucky or not once was enough for me.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dlang28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time spent writing your personal opinion about Barceló Marbella. We do appreciate your comments and will like to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two weeks. The rooms were painlessly clean and had copious space. We had bed and breakfast and the breakfast was plentiful and at a human hour allowing for holiday lie ins.

The pool area is spacious, attractive and there is no problem getting a lounger.

Bars and entertainment, v good value and there is plenty of variety.

Location wise I see has caused some gripes. If you want to roll off your lounger into the yacht basin at Puerto banus you will need to take the shuttle bus or get a cab. We spent most evenings in San Pedro which is ten minutes away and quintessentially Spanish. Much more real than Puerto banus and ample choice of restaurants.

Overall this hotel offers incredible value. It is near five star quality at three star price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamesyd82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time spent writing your personal opinion about Barceló Marbella. We do appreciate your comments and will like to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I don't have any bad comments to make, hotel is very comfortable with excellent service. Rooms cleaned daily, sheets changed every other day and food delicious.

Restaurant has a fantastic range of salads, breads, fish, meat and sushi on occasion, we also had a chocolate fountain at dinner one Saturday evening. Food is cooked to a high standard and the desserts are to die for. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

It is located about a 15 min walk from San Pedro and a 10 min car journey to Puerto Banus, so if you want a good value hotel away from it all with easy access to the glitz, glamour and gregariousness then this place is for you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaOoPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time spent writing your personal opinion about Barceló Marbella. We do appreciate your comments and will like to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel sits approx 10km outside the main town, not the easiest to find. Take exit 170 off the A7 signposted Guadalmina and follow the road by the golf course.
We had a room overlooking the golf and was clean and spacious and the maids did a good job daily.
Breakfast was as you would expect with plenty of choice, dinner was however disappointing and was rather hit or miss. It's mainly buffet but a chef does cook a couple of dishes nightly. One night I had the roast beef and was very tough so I think there could be some improvement here.
Facilities are good and they offer discounts at certain golf courses.
Overall it was OK.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrishann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time spent writing your personal opinion about Barceló Marbella. We do appreciate your comments and will like to welcome you again.

Just to inform TripAdvisor readers, it is clearly indicated in our web site where the hotel is located, we are in Guadalmina, one of the best and most exclusive urban developments in Marbella, about 10 minutes driving from City Center and 5 minutes from Puerto Banús.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
5.8 mi away
NH Marbella
NH Marbella
#17 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
3.5 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
7.1 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
7.1 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
6.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#4 of 71 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Marbella

Property: Barcelo Marbella
Address: C/ de Granadillas, s/n. Urb Guadalmina Alta, 29670, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is in a magnificent natural setting, with one of the largest and best golf courses in Europe, the Guadalmina Golf Club, with a 45-hole course, where Hotel guests can benefit from special rates. All this, together with its wide range of functional facilities for congresses, conventions and incentive travel, large rooms, gastronomy and sports and leisure facilities, make this Hotel the ideal venue for a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Barcelo Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Marbella Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing