We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So far so good”
Review of Barcelo Marbella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Marbella
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We arrived here on the 7th July at 11.30am following a very fast private transfer in a Mercedes
Car.we decided to use the toll road at a cost of 7 euros extra to save 15 mins possibly not worth
It but to us it was and thankfully our room was ready to check in,again very fast as only us at the counter.
The door lock/ card entry system refused to work until many in and out attempts and likewise the
Toilet flush had the same fault.
The food is OK and you won't go Hungary,unless you stand by the leg of pork station and wait for
The Chef to slice you some and likewise the next night with the roast beef.
Puddings are really nice and always a good selection of fruit although the breakfast is not great
the Chef ( if on station ) will cook the bacon some more for you if you ask,along with fresh
Fried eggs omelettes and pancakes to your liking.
Orange juice pastries and cakes plus cheese ham fresh crusty rolls and bread for toaster,although
You could die while waiting for toast (6 times per slice per side )to brown on conveyor.
We had problem with noisy bad mouthed Brits next door and we moved to what is clearly the
Spanish section of the hotel.
The key card worked first time the toilet flushed with a blue tinge first time,the view was stunning
Over the golf course and the mountains,our neighbours both sides are Spanish and very quiet.
The hotel is 80% Spanish with a few Germans,eastern Europeans and thankfully only a few Brit
Yobos ( why are they always Brits who are drunk and foul mouthed )
We are here for another week and will do final report when home,oh and flight was with Jet2 it
Left 10 mins late and got to Malaga 20 mins early.
Worth a mention is the staff are really nice and friendly attentive waitresses plates cleared quick
Or do it yourself if you want.
Pool is beach entry with lifeguard, it smells a bit sweaty and I have not really smelled any chlorine
Or witnessed any cleaning of the pool.
I pointed out some loose floor tiles round the pool to one of the groundsmen as They tip up and
Could injure someone especially the toddlers.
One day later not repaired.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvdubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Dear Guest, Thank you for the time spent writing your personal opinion about Barceló Marbella. We do appreciate your comments and will like to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

I had read some negative reviews about this hotel on holiday watch dog which made me reluctant to stay there. I am glad I did, the hotel was great value for money and none of the bad things that I had read about it were true.

The breakfast buffet is great, I'd stayed half board and the evening buffet is not so great but you can always find something to eat so you wont starve.

There is a free shuttle bus that takes you into Puerto Banus and Marbella which is ideal if you dont like walking as the hotel is a bit of a distance aay from most things. I love walking so that suited me but if you dont enjoy walking I'd suggest hiring a car or taking advantage of the shuttle bus.

The only slightly negative thing I could say about the hotel is that the walls are really thin and its its tiled floors throughout so you hear every noise and by the time I left I was surrounded by guests with young children who were not so well behaved.

Room Tip: Dont have a room overlooking the pool or the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samantha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We will be very pleased to see you again in Barceló Marbella.

Yours sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I and our 16 year old daughter stayed at this hotel for one week in June 2013 and found it pleasant and welcoming. It has a very 'laid back' atmosphere...but the service is good and we were never kept waiting for drinks or hot food when we ordered it. We stayed on a half board basis which was sufficient, if we had been full board I think the buffet served in the canteen/restaurant would have seemed too repetitive. Instead we ordered a snack from the bar if we wanted one and being able to eat it outside at a different location in the hotel suited us better. We found the food and drink to be reasonably priced.

A car was a real bonus and on recommendation from the hotel receptionist we had a day out in Ronda...a long drive up/down windy roads but well worth it...such a beautiful scenic place to visit, lots of breath taking views...and also a good place to shop in the town if you want to.

My only disappointment with the hotel was that our junior suite did not have a door separating our bedroom from our daughter's bed which was placed in the lounge area. It meant that we had no real privacy, but apparently none of the suites have doors so we just accepted it.

The pool area is lovely, no shortage of sunbeds and nice size 'walk in' swimming pools which means you can 'glide in' gracefully!

A relaxing and chilled out hotel, and one that we would recommend.

Room Tip: The view from our room was out over the golf course..it was truly beautiful with the mountains in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisotrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We hope to see you in te future.

Yours sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Hotel in the middle of nowhere - when asked, the reception staff informed us that the nearest shops were 20 minutes walking. However, if you have a car, San Pedro Alcantara is close.

First impressions were good, but when you have to pay 10/15 euros to park the car (and we coudn't find anything closer), you see in reception scales to weigh luggage (paying), massage chairs (paying) - you begin to understand that this hotel wants money from you!

For some unknown reason, there was an extra bed in our room. It took 4 personal requests and 24 hours for the bed to be removed.
Amenities in bathroom are very scarce. After asking 3 times for hair conditioner,,,(and being told to walk 20 minutes to local shop), we gave up.
WC seat was broken...again, nothing done.
Bathroom large, but shower cubicle tiny - I'm 168 cm and couldn't close the door!

Can understand guests want entertainment, but rather annoying at 4pm

Breakfast was low quality - canned orange juice, bad coffee,

There are better and cheaper places in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quijano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time spent writing your personal opinion about Barceló Marbella. We will be very pleased to contact you personally to talk about your comments.

Yours sincerely,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I don't play golf so didn't know what to expect. What I got was a great value all inclusive 4 day break. The food improved over the 4 days. As usual the breakfast bacon wasn't cooked well. The staff were great pleasant and helpful. The maid service good with the rooms kept very clean. The corridors could do with a bit of a spruce. The bar service was very good with international brands being offered as part of the all inclusive deal - a bonus. I liked the fact that mixers and soft drinks were dispensed in branded bottles not from the awful soft drinks dispensers that seem to have taken over everywhere. Plenty of room around the pool. Would I go back yes without a doubt.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waterhenbloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments. we will be very pleased to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Lovely hotel, rooms are spacious with great decor. View of pool is really nice. Staff are very helpful. Great value for money. Would need a car, although they have a free shuttle service into marbella & puerto banus. Would definitely recommend and return :-)

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Maeve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments. we will be very pleased to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

we recently stayed here in may it was really good value, good size bedrooms and the breakfast which was included in the price exceeded our expectations. It would have been nice to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The staff were friendly and helpful would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion, I am very pleased to hear that you had a pleasent stay in Barceló Marbella.

Yours sincerely,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
3.4 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 69 in Marbella
1,818 reviews
6.4 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
6 mi away
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
#29 of 69 in Marbella
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
7 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 69 in Marbella
1,539 reviews
2.5 mi away
H10 Andalucia Plaza
H10 Andalucia Plaza
#1 of 1 in Nueva Andalucia
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Marbella

Address: Calle de Granadillas, s/n | Urb Guadalmina Alta, 29670, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: $80 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is in a magnificent natural setting, with one of the largest and best golf courses in Europe, the Guadalmina Golf Club, with a 45-hole course, where Hotel guests can benefit from special rates. All this, together with its wide range of functional facilities for congresses, conventions and incentive travel, large rooms, gastronomy and sports and leisure facilities, make this Hotel the ideal venue for a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barcelo Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Marbella Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing