We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great value”
Review of Barcelo Marbella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo Marbella
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great value”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Lovely hotel, rooms are spacious with great decor. View of pool is really nice. Staff are very helpful. Great value for money. Would need a car, although they have a free shuttle service into marbella & puerto banus. Would definitely recommend and return :-)

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Maeve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments. we will be very pleased to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    426
    182
    75
    37
See reviews for
461
448
23
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

we recently stayed here in may it was really good value, good size bedrooms and the breakfast which was included in the price exceeded our expectations. It would have been nice to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The staff were friendly and helpful would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion, I am very pleased to hear that you had a pleasent stay in Barceló Marbella.

Yours sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights from 27th April to 1st May. Got a great deal through lowcostholidays, about £45 per night bed and breakfast. Upon check in we got offered the hotel parking for 10 euro's per night, as opposed to the advertised 15 euro's. We took this offer as there is no street parking near by. We checked into our standard room which was ok, but then asked if there were any upgrades available. For an extra 20 euro's per night we upgraded to a full suite, the best decision we made. We had a lounge/dining area, full terrace, bedroom, dressing room and huge bathroom, with access to the Club Lounge which offers Coffee and fruit/pastries throughout the day, overlooking the golf course. Found the hotel ok with directions from the hotel website. Breakfast was good, i recommend the omelettes, lots of choice hot and cold and always well stocked. Drinks in the hotel bar were reasonable at 4.50 euro's for a beer and a glass of wine. Also had room service which was hot, reasonably priced and quick! Would defintely return here, all staff friendly, no compaints at all.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool if you want the sun all day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gorgegeorgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion, I´m very pleased to hear that you have a pleasant sty in Barceló Marbella.

Yours sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Tesco clubcard deal gave us a week at £21 per night B and B
Room was very large with huge bed and and large bathroom with separate shower cubicle.
Free wi-Fi and safe, breakfast comprehensive, one evening buffet (€30 ) had varied and well cooked choices and wine and alchoholic drinks were not overpriced as in some hotels.
It would be nice to have an indoor pool or have the outside one heated.
Only gripe is car parking charge for use of the underground garage; they want €15 per day but will come down to €7.5 when pushed. It should still be free as at most hotels.
Staff all friendly and helpful. We know the area well and there is easy access to the town and shops if you have a car. I'd especially recommend the Benavista bowls club if you're a bowler !.

Room Tip: Overlook pool not road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion, I´m very pleased to hear that you have a pleasant stay in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had a few days away from 15 to 21 of april at trhis hotel. The season does not start until may so was very quiet. Having said that the service was superb, the food was great as were the rooms. My only sugestion would be to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Not a beach hotel. but within reach, lovely part of spain. It would be difilcult to find somthing to complain about.

Room Tip: no bad rooms all good we had two double rooms with conecting dood
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenrogers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion, I´m very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,


The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
206 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

In Marbella about 21:30. We too had difficulty finding the place despite having printed off the directions. Eventually used my phone and after what was in total an hour's delay we found the place and there our difficulties and misery finished. But, this review is about the hotel and the difficulty in finding it. Arrived at the door at 23:06.
At reception it was pointed out to me that the parking was 15 Euro per night and if I upgraded at a cost of 30 Euro less my discount The parking was included in the cost of the room. You have to use the Parking as there is no on-street option. We upgraded to a Junior Suite, it was two large rooms and very comfortable, I'll try and attach a photograph. Bath Gowns, slipper, huge bed etc.etc. the accommodation was beyond reproach and we are already looking forward to our next visit.
After some sandwiches, limited choice but it was nearly midnight, we had a wander in the hotel's large gardens around the waterfalls and swimming ponds, perhaps a great place for rest and relaxation.
Next, the breakfast (desayuno) extensive selection of hot and cold, pastries etc. etc. staff on hand to prepare omelettes and pancakes. When an establishment tries to make available, on demand, hot food there is always a conflict with the food being hot and the food drying slightly on top with over heating from the equipment. The hot food suffered slightly from being under the heat for too long.
Would I recommend this Barcelo to a friend, most definitely.
Asked at Reception for directions to Ronda, absolutely no problems following them.
Thanks for a pleasant stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Caravanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion, I´m very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay in Barceló Marbella.

Yours sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed for 9 nights late Feb/ early March 2013 and found this hotel excellent. Very clean, massive comfy bed, lovely view over golf course with mountains in the background. Weather wasn't wonderful but hotel nicely warm. Wonderful breakfast - we ate out in the evenings with friends. Staff very helpful and friendly. We would most definitely recommend, and would certainly book again. No complaints whatsoever. Thankyou Barcelo Marbella.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion, I´m very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay in Barceló Marbella.

Yours sincerely,


The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
3.4 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 70 in Marbella
1,621 reviews
7.0 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,444 reviews
5.8 mi away
NH Marbella
NH Marbella
#17 of 70 in Marbella
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
H10 Andalucia Plaza
H10 Andalucia Plaza
#1 of 1 in Nueva Andalucia
2,163 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
7.0 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Marbella

Property: Barcelo Marbella
Address: C/ de Granadillas, s/n. Urb Guadalmina Alta, 29670, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is in a magnificent natural setting, with one of the largest and best golf courses in Europe, the Guadalmina Golf Club, with a 45-hole course, where Hotel guests can benefit from special rates. All this, together with its wide range of functional facilities for congresses, conventions and incentive travel, large rooms, gastronomy and sports and leisure facilities, make this Hotel the ideal venue for a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Marbella Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing