We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but I had issues”
Review of Barcelo Marbella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Marbella
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
New Britain, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but I had issues”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

To start with I'll say the interior of this hotel is gorgeous. The rooms are huge and well decorated/maintained. The buffet breakfast was one of the best I've had in Europe.

My problems- we could not find this hotel. Coming in at night with google map directions website directions and a map we got soooo lost. Eventually asked some cops who gave us an escort to the hotel (in her words- there is no way to describe how to get there) When you get there it is not apparent where to go, there is a hidden driveway in front of the building with a sign saying not to stop in the driveway and no place to pull over on the street. Parking is unexpectedly pricey. Given bad directions by the front desk on way out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katiebugstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments, we will proceed to review our web information.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    450
    185
    77
    37
See reviews for
499
460
25
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
coventry uk
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed at this hotel at the end of september 2012. we arrived at 2am in the morning and check in was easy and efficient. We found the hotel easily with a sat nav.

The hotel lobby and bar was very nice; and reasonably priced. Pool area was pretty and had a tennis court and childrens play area.

The room was spotless, very large with a well equipped bathroom and balcony. TV had several channels including BBC1, BBC2, ITV1 and Sky News.

The location of the hotel is a little out the way, but if you have a car or are there to play golf, you will be fine. We took a cab to Puerto Banus one night and this cost about 9 euros each way. There is a supermarket, pharmacy and a lovely restaurant called demario's about a 10 minute walk away.

We didn't eat at the hotel, but it looked like a nice restaurant.

My only small gripe was the fact the room did not have an iron, due to the fact they have a extortionately priced laundry service. But if you bring an iron you will be fine.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank couchguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed recently for an event. Efficient, friendly staff. Surrounding pool area pretty. Food pretty nice. Would score the rooms average due to a dated feel.

The lobby also had an overpowering smell of 'country pine' air freshener.

Fantastic wifi connectivity.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bead007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We choose Barcelo Hotel because i had good experiences in Barcelo Hotels before.
First room: phone and bathroom did not work properly,after front desk had said they had been fixed . Still did not work properly. CHanged to another room ,a connecting room reuqested a third room.
Room A/C did not work ,bathroom was mouldy, towels with holes,Minibar did not cool. Shower hot water with flashes of cold water.
Keys did not work properly, I ended with 5 keys for one room only 2 were useful
Arrived on a sunday hardly found staff available, hotel does not have a map with the hotel location.
Internet went on and off

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank limlira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellabar, General Manager at Barcelo Marbella, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time spent writing us your comments about your stay in Barceló Marbella.

Our guest’s opinion is the best way to aim efforts at offering you the best services and facilities, your suggestions help us to improve every day.

We are very sorry to know that we did not meet your expectations regarding the services provided during your stay and will like to contact you to talk about that.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast, ireland
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Barcelo Marbella for three nights while attending a friend's birthday celebrations in the Marbella area. We booked the Barcelo based largely on a great value price via a hotel booking website....and didn't quite know what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised. The standard room was very large and spacious, there's a very good pool area with its own snack bar, and the breakfast is excellent (much better than we've had in some 5-star hotels in the past). Our second floor room had a superb view of the neighbouring golf course and the mountains beyond.
And, in terms of location, it might not be in the centre of either Marbella or Puerto Banus or on the beach, but that probably explains the competitive pricing. In any case, a short taxi ride takes you to either of those places....although taxis in this area don't come cheap. If we had a small gripe, it's that the bathroom toiletries weren't replenish at all during our stay. A little annoying, but hardly a major issue. Otherwise, this is a great value, roomy and pleased place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank businesseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

We spent a couple of nights in this hotel and loved it. A lot of golfers use it as the golf course is right next to the hotel. Lovely quiet area, but depending on how full the hotel is and how noisy the clientele when you visit, you may need earplugs! There was a wedding on when we were there and the sound of every trolley case pulled along the corridor, high heels above and Christian Grey banging the headboard against the wall next door, seemed to be amplified. The plusses of this hotel far outweighed this though and we loved the food (breakfast chocolate and blueberry muffins were the best I've found in Spain). At each meal, speciality dishes can be cooked to order, omelettes pancakes etc at breakfast, and fresh meat and fish at lunch and at dinner. The staff were attentive and helpful, drinks reasonably priced, rooms are spacious and clean. Beds big and comfy. Car park is charged by the minute, up to 15 euros per day. Reception validated our ticket so we paid just the 2 days and not 3 which we half expected.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penarth - south wales
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We did not stay at the hotel but used it as a bolt hole whilst staying in Guadalamina. PLEASE DO NOT BASE YOURSELF IN THIS AREA IF YOU WANT A BEACH HOLIDAY!!!. We booked a private apartment in Guadalmina golf and told we could walk to beach in 20 minutes......in fact the nearest shop was 20 minutes away and in 10 days could not work out how you could do this in less that 45 minutes.. Hotel was fab, great staff, good food, reasonably priced drinks and spotless. Would have no hesitation in recommending. In fact we are looking at the Barcelo Menorca for next year..

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank marcus_rees_davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
3.4 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,649 reviews
7.0 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,459 reviews
2.5 mi away
H10 Andalucia Plaza
H10 Andalucia Plaza
#1 of 1 in Nueva Andalucia
2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
6.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,720 reviews
5.8 mi away
NH Marbella
NH Marbella
#17 of 70 in Marbella
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Marbella

Property: Barcelo Marbella
Address: C/ de Granadillas, s/n. Urb Guadalmina Alta, 29670, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is in a magnificent natural setting, with one of the largest and best golf courses in Europe, the Guadalmina Golf Club, with a 45-hole course, where Hotel guests can benefit from special rates. All this, together with its wide range of functional facilities for congresses, conventions and incentive travel, large rooms, gastronomy and sports and leisure facilities, make this Hotel the ideal venue for a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Barcelo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Marbella Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing