We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel- But take your earplugs in case!”
Review of Barcelo Marbella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Marbella
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Fab hotel- But take your earplugs in case!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

We spent a couple of nights in this hotel and loved it. A lot of golfers use it as the golf course is right next to the hotel. Lovely quiet area, but depending on how full the hotel is and how noisy the clientele when you visit, you may need earplugs! There was a wedding on when we were there and the sound of every trolley case pulled along the corridor, high heels above and Christian Grey banging the headboard against the wall next door, seemed to be amplified. The plusses of this hotel far outweighed this though and we loved the food (breakfast chocolate and blueberry muffins were the best I've found in Spain). At each meal, speciality dishes can be cooked to order, omelettes pancakes etc at breakfast, and fresh meat and fish at lunch and at dinner. The staff were attentive and helpful, drinks reasonably priced, rooms are spacious and clean. Beds big and comfy. Car park is charged by the minute, up to 15 euros per day. Reception validated our ticket so we paid just the 2 days and not 3 which we half expected.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    419
    178
    73
    36
See reviews for
445
437
22
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
penarth - south wales
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We did not stay at the hotel but used it as a bolt hole whilst staying in Guadalamina. PLEASE DO NOT BASE YOURSELF IN THIS AREA IF YOU WANT A BEACH HOLIDAY!!!. We booked a private apartment in Guadalmina golf and told we could walk to beach in 20 minutes......in fact the nearest shop was 20 minutes away and in 10 days could not work out how you could do this in less that 45 minutes.. Hotel was fab, great staff, good food, reasonably priced drinks and spotless. Would have no hesitation in recommending. In fact we are looking at the Barcelo Menorca for next year..

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank marcus_rees_davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Hotel is 45min from Malaga Airport. The hotel and staff were welcoming. Room was a good size and clean, with a balcony over looking the swimming pool. Wish there had been a kettle to make a hot drink!! Food was good, but not up to the standard I was expecting (Barcelo, Blackpool, was exceptional). Very close to lots of Golf Clubs. Hotel is in a quiet area of San Pedro, 10mins away from Puerto Banus and 25 mins from Marbella. Obviously very popular with the Spanish and seems to cater more for them than tourists. Staff were very friendly, but not many spoke very good English, which was a shame, but luckily I speak a little Spanish so enough to get by!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigeress1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elda, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel is excellent!! We stayed for 1 week all inclusive. The food was amazing and very fresh with so much to choose from. The staff are really friendly and the hotel is really clean! We had a suite with a massive bathroom and living room and views over the golf course. The kids enjoyed the mini club, disco and cinema every day. We will be back next year!!!! Thank you to Hotel Barcelo Marbella for a wonderful holiday!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1gingerbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hotel is nice, not amazing but its nice. You get good value for money. The rooms are very nice and spacious. The pool is area is nice and there is about 20 golf courses within 15 mins. Puerto Banus is about a 10 minute cab ride and Marbella is about 30 minutes in a cab. If you go here you must go and eat at the Port the food there is unreal. This is a great place for a quick break for golf or just a break with a parter or friends. Transfer time from Malaga Airport is about 45 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bish777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed here for four nights as the first stop on our mini tour around southern Spain. Hotel is located in a very quiet area of San Pedro, some distance from Marbella but that didn't really matter. Our room had a good size terrace with a wonderful view across a golf course with spectacular mountains in the distance. We arrived around 10.00pm, just in time to catch the buffet in the restaurant which was exceptional value for money, as were the breakfasts served in the same room, which had an outside seating area. The staff here are a real asset, you could not meet friendlier or more helpful people. In short we loved this hotel. San Pedro is a fifteen minute walk away and well worth a visit, typically Spanish with a lovely vibe about it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the golf course side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

One of the best holidays ever.First class hotel with everything you could ever need.The breakfasts are out of this world and the choice is outstanding. If you can fault this hotel and location in any way then the problem lies with you.

Mr Clark from Glasgow UK.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank musoman666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
5.8 mi away
NH Marbella
NH Marbella
#17 of 70 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
3.4 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 70 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
7.0 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
6.4 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
1.4 mi away
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Marbella

Property: Barcelo Marbella
Address: C/ de Granadillas, s/n. Urb Guadalmina Alta, 29670, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is in a magnificent natural setting, with one of the largest and best golf courses in Europe, the Guadalmina Golf Club, with a 45-hole course, where Hotel guests can benefit from special rates. All this, together with its wide range of functional facilities for congresses, conventions and incentive travel, large rooms, gastronomy and sports and leisure facilities, make this Hotel the ideal venue for a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Barcelo Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Marbella Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing