We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, central and staff very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Marbella Banus
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, central and staff very nice”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed in a moron on the level floor. It was large; however a bit random in that there was 2 double beds within it which I was confused by. The room itself is nice, bathroom I would say is a little bit tired. You have a pillow menu, which is perfect for me as I need to sleep really flat. On the
first night of our stay a fresh fruit platter and bottle of cava was delivered and your room is turned down and chocolates left. Breakfast was very good, with a huge choice and if you want the full cooked breakfast type affair the bacon looked more like what you get here in Britain which seemed to please folk. If you stay on the level floor you can go into the level lounge and make use of the complimentary cava and soft drinks and snacks all day. On an evening between 6-8 they offer other drinks which are branded. This is okay and we often went in, but it is quiet and a rather sedate affair which seemed to suit the people utilising it. Pool area is lovely as we're the day time snacks and we found staff very helpful. I noted a few remarks about service staff on here particularly in regards to the breakfast waiting staff, but watching them in action they never stop and they are just very very busy so they may come across as brusque but it doesn't seem intentional to me and they were very helpful as far as we were concerned. It's a short five minute walk into Banus and we found this okay when we wanted to walk, but taxis actively wait in the hotel grounds so you always have a choice. Overall it was what I expected and as we wanted a hotel in Banus this seemed the best option, which i think in hindsight it was . Good value, clean and suited our needs.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room on the level floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vankaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your feedback on the hotel!

We’re glad to see you were pleased with your The Level experience and that you enjoyed all it has to offer. Thank you for taking the time to rave about it!

The little things are what counts to us and we try to make every moment special for all of our guests here at Meliá Marbella Banús.

We look forward to welcoming you back here at the hotel for your next holidays in Puerto Banús…

Sincerely yours,

Juan Ignacio Broncano, GEX and Human Resources manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    615
    167
    65
    36
See reviews for
416
715
22
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our group of 9 mature ladies arrived for a 3 night stay only to be greeted by a charmless reception staff. This would prove to be the start of things to come. !!!! We waited for almost an hour to be served drinks and lunch only to be told by a rather dismissive and blatantly rude barman to go to the restaurant if we wanted to eat!!! Only after complaining to the duty manager TWICE did we eventually get served. The new waiter was delightful but his appearances were rare.
On one evening, we returned around 12 pm and in elated mood but not loud or rude. As we chatted in reception, the security guard told us to shush and then proceeded to print of the hotel policy on nuisance noise ie , the threat of removing us from the hotel. This was excessive to say the least but maybe the Brits abroad reputation has necessitated a zero tolerance.
That said, the breakfast and cleaning staff were warm and welcoming.
On a positive note, the proximity to the restaurants and bars is excellent and the standard of cleanliness, breakfast choices and fresh flowers everywhere softened the blow for a really woefully inadequate staff!
Pool gardens were lovely too!!!

Room Tip: 406 directly over a building so avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patricia941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Valued Client,

First of all I would just like to thank you for your feedback on our hotel.

I would like to apologize on behalf of my staff for the curtness on their end. I’m sorry that you felt like they were rude and that the service wasn’t urgent enough, it’s truly unacceptable and we will absolutely have a meeting on the subject.

On the other hand, we’re always happy to hear that you enjoyed the aesthetics of the hotel along with the breakfast services and the cleanliness. If you would ever re consider coming back to see us again, I would like to greet you personally upon arrival and assure you that we would exceed you expectations.

Sincerely,

Juan Ignacio Broncano,
GEX and Human Resources manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

we travelled to puerto banus for a girlie weekend with friends and family, having chosen our hotel very carefully, we were looking for comfort and relaxation, with a touch of elegance. the hotel is around 50 mins drive from Malaga airport. It is situated within a stones throw from the beach., And a 15 minute walk to the harbour.On entering the hotel the ambience was very pleasing on the eye. However, the Reception staff were not ready for our party, even though we had booked almost a year in advance. The paper work & organisations of the Rooms was very slow, & laborious we also found the male receptionists to be quite aloof, and not welcoming.
However our rooms were of a very good standard, spacious and very well equipped. We did feel that a basic kettle would have been a welcome addition to the room. the communal areas are very relaxing with large comfortable sofas, and outside there are numerous tables & chairs, sun loungers where mattresses and towels are supplied from 10am.
We found the dining room for breakfast to be excellent, a great range of all manner of food to suit every taste. Some of the staff lack a little warmth and enthusiasm, but this didn't spoil our experience. The gardens are great to relax in there are two pools, spa area with sauna and steam room. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel

Room Tip: The fifth floor rooms have good views over the pool or side view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alynthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments on your stay in the hotel!

I’m glad to know that you enjoyed your rooms during your stay and that the location of the hotel was up to your standards.However, I apologize for your delay to get the room at check in. Organization is crucial and something we put a lot of emphasis on and I will make sure the staff hears these comments.

Again, thank you for your input on the improvable aspects of the hotel and we hope to welcome you back with your next visit to Puerto Banús/Marbella!

Sincerely yours,

Juan Ignacio Broncano, GEX and Human Resources manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Melia Banus and must say was pleasantly surprised. It does exactly what it says on the tin. Staff were pleasant and helpful and the hotel and our room was of a high standard. Breakfast was included and provided a range of items. Great pool area and great location away from the crowds of Puerto Banus, but still within walking distance. 5mins from the beach and restaurants and 10mins from the marina. The only downfall was the room that we were given had two double beds and they couldn't change our room. Other then that a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyjo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your feedback from your stay with us!
We really appreciate the positive comments you’ve made about the hotel. I will definitely make sure to pass on these positive reviews to the staff and I know they´ll be thrilled. About your comment on the beds, all of our standard rooms come equipped with two queen sized beds.
We´re looking forward to hosting your next vacation in Puerto Banús!

Sincerely yours,

Juan Ignacio Broncano, GEX and Human Resources manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked a room with a seaview and it was a great size with two large beds and was well cleaned every day. The staff were excellent and friendly and very attentive. We were B&B and the breakfast was fantastic, with an excellent range of fruits, meats and cheeses as well as cereals, pastries and the more typical British fare. The hotel is well situated - a 3 min walk into the centre of P Banus and virtually on the beach front.
A couple of points to note - we arrived after a late flight (2am) and could not get any room service, although there is a mini bar thats reasonably priced. Secondly, I had read remarks about a lack of parking and it is true that you may struggle to get a space right in front of the hotel, but the surrounding roads are quiet and I parked my hire car 1 minutes walk, around the corner and it was perfectly ok!
I would thouroughly recommend this hotel and will be returning when I can.

Room Tip: The sea view room we had had the sun in the morning but not in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your comments on your stay in the hotel!

I’m pleased to read that the staff was up to your standards and that you had a wonderful bed & breakfast stay with us. In regards to the parking, there is almost always availability around the hotel but as a safety we always offer the parking garage at a daily rate. I´m glad you would recommend the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you for your next stay in Puerto Banús!

Sincerely yours,

Juan Ignacio Broncano, GEX and Human Resources manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great location and lovely rooms! Very close to beach and town! Lovely swimming pools and excellent service. There were a very drunk group of people on a work do who kept breaking glasses but staff handled it very well and politely. Wifi was excellent and the breakfast outstanding! No complaints although drinks were pricey but then I guess so is the area. Guess only negative would be the €16 parking fee

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your time to give us your feedback on the hotel. We’re always excited to hear that a guest’s experience has been made better by the services of our staff. Thanks for your loyalty to the hotel and we look forward to your future visit with us.

Thanks again,

Juan Ignacio Broncano,
GEX and Human Resources manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The rooms are spacius and the bathrooms are big. This is a vacation hotel that I would stay at again. The staff is friendly and helpfull - and can manage big Groups arriving:) They where prepered for us 53 persons arriving at once. We did not wait long to get our rooms.
The Beach is really near by, and if not you have 2 large pools at the hotel. The breakfast and lunch is not so good arranged. For warm foor (eggs and meat) you had a long line waiting. But the foos itself was verry good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urgent78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your feedback about your stay at our hotel.

We’re so glad to hear that your large group’s check in went smoothly-the perfect way to start the vacation. Also, although there was a line to get your show cooking meal fresh off the stove, we’re glad you enjoyed the food itself. We’d love to welcome you back if your travels ever bring you back to Puerto Banús, Málaga.

Best,

Juan Ignacio Broncano,
GEX and Human Resources manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
2.6 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,721 reviews
1.2 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
0.9 mi away
H10 Andalucia Plaza
H10 Andalucia Plaza
#1 of 1 in Nueva Andalucia
2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 70 in Marbella
918 reviews
3.7 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
3.4 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#15 of 70 in Marbella
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Marbella Banus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Marbella Banus

Property: Melia Marbella Banus
Address: Mario Vargas Llosa, S/N, Carretera de Cadiz km 175 | Puerto Banus, 29660, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#14 Family Hotel in Marbella
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#19 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Marbella Banus 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive area of Puerto Banus, in the famous Golden Mile and very close to the beach and some of the most Deluxe shopping and leisure facilities in Europe. The Melia Marbella Banus Hotel is the perfect choice for visiting Puerto Banus and Marbella thanks to its excellent location, its complete and comfortable facilities, and the quality of its services. In the heart of the "Costa del Golf", and surrounded by some of the finest golf courses in the area, all available at a special discount. Amongst its magnificent facilities and services, Melia Marbella Banus provides 200 superb rooms with two double beds; different dining spaces such as El Rio Verde Restaurant, the Patio Bar, La Hiedra Restaurant and the Pool Bar (the last two only open in summer); free high speed WiFi internet; exclusive The Level service; 3 outdoor pools (1 adults only pool, 1 pool with 3 waterfalls and 1 children’s pool); Wellness Area with indoor heated pool, sauna and Turkish bath; 1 tennis court; 2 paddle tennis courts; a children’s play area; 4 meeting rooms for up to 150 people, and underground parking for the exclusive use of guests with space for 60 vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Marbella Banus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Marbella Banus Hotel Marbella
Sol Melia Marbella Dinamar
Melia Marbella Dinamar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing