We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfectly good hotel but no character and a bit out of the way” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Marbella Banus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Marbella Banus
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Shropshire
Level Contributor
134 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Perfectly good hotel but no character and a bit out of the way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

There is nothing wrong with this hotel, the rooms are clean, a reasonable size and everything works, it also has parking and free WiFi but that is about it.

Other reviewers praise it's location so I wrongly assumed it was close to places where we could pop out for breakfast. It is a good 15 minute walk from Puerto Banus (quite a nice walk but a long way for a coffee) and three miles in the other direction to Marbella proper.

The staff on reception were very helpful and the swimming pools looked good but the whole place lacks any character whatsoever. It is a big modern hotel, great for a business trip, not so good for a holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireOldfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando Preto R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, March 27, 2016
Dear ShropshireOldfart,

Thank you very much for sending your opinion in 2012.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon at Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel and let you enjoy the new changes experienced by our structure since.

We will be expecting you!

Warmest Regards,



Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    485
    139
    50
    28
See reviews for
302
544
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gateshead
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

just got back from the melia marbella banus hotel puerto banus spain for a surprise birthday for my wife with friends the weather could not dampen the experience of a finely run hotel with first class staff and lovely clean well maintained rooms breakfast was also a treat with a fine selection of food on offer i would recommend this hotel for any occasion

Room Tip: there is no tip the rooms are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando Preto R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, March 27, 2016
Dear Sheene,

Thank you very much for sending your opinion in 2012.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon at Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel and let you enjoy the new changes experienced by our structure since.

We will be expecting you!

Warmest Regards,



Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byfleet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

On arrival to this hotel it all appeared fabulous, do not be fooled by the nice reception area.
On the second day the rain poured down and the roof in the bar/foyer area was leaking and they had to put towels on the floor.
The corridor to our room had an awful smell and in our room the grab rail and towel rail in the bathroom were hanging off. The finish to bathroom was poor with crumbling sealant around the bath.
The toilets in the bar area were often left dirty and one toilet door lock was all mangled.
On our last evening we went to dinner to be told there were no tables (even though we were booked in for dinner) and had to wait. I went to complain to be told there was no manager but was offered the complaints book that I was not given!, however all of a sudden the other half of the restaurant was opened so we could have a table.
On the whole the food was excellent and freshly cooked.
The location was great with only a short wall to the marina, however there was no atmosphere in the hotel. We have been on other holidays out of season yet there has always been some sort of entertainment, but nothing at the Melia.
On leaviing the hotel and settling our bill they tried to make us pay again, even though we had done so up-front. The receptionist spent ten minutes arguing with us, and again I asked for the complaints booked but was just ignored! Eventually they realised they had made a mistake but did not seem sorry for the stress it caused as our transfer was waiting to take us.
This hotel is not four stars at all, and I would never go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando Preto R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, March 27, 2016
Dear Sarah J,

Thank you very much for sending your opinion in 2012.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon at Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel and let you enjoy the new changes experienced by our structure since.

We will be expecting you!

Warmest Regards,



Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chigwell
Level Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

There are lots of hotels in this part of Spain but if you don't fancy being totally dependent on driving or taxis and like everything within a 5 - 10 minute walk you will find it hard to fault the Melia Hotel which is situated just one row back from the sea at the north end of the Puerto Banus promenade.
We have stayed here many times before but it has only been under Melia management for the past few years and the improvement in all areas is significant enough for me to write this review. Not that the hotel has undergone any great refurbishment but more the fact that it now seems to be run by staff that really care.
The reception is always warm and friendly and arriving before 1pm we were pleasantly surprised to find our room ready and waiting on the 6th floor (607) and with a patio complete with sunbeds, parasol and table and chairs overlooking the sea, perfect for watching the sun rise.
This was classed as a Level room which has lots of perks going for it particularly the level lounge that offers the advantage of lunch bites and pre dinner appetisers as well as Tea/Coffee/Beer/Wine etc and pastries and canapés at almost any time from 08.00 - 10.00.
The pool areas are quite diverse, one being lagoon themed and the other designed around serious swimming, both of which I have to say were freezing cold but oh so refreshing for hardened swimmers like me, (why don't Spanish hotels heat their pools?)
Breakfasts are served Buffet style with what can only be described as an amazing variety of dishes both hot and cold and there is no rush whatsoever with it being served from 08.00 through to 11.00 and the buffet style dinner offers fantastic value for money at 30 Euros per head. There are pleasant lounges and a bar and perfectly located terrace for ding and drinks.
Walk through the Lagoon Pool area and exit at the back of the hotel and you can walk either into Puerto Banus or turn left and take a longer stroll into the heart of Marbella all along the beach.
This place is great for a short break or if the weather is settled in the midst of summer even a week or two, we rate it a great 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Level rooms offers lots of perks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeffy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando Preto R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, March 27, 2016
Dear Zeffy15,

Thank you very much for sending your opinion in 2012.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon at Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel and let you enjoy the new changes experienced by our structure since.

We will be expecting you!

Warmest Regards,



Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed in a family room situated on the ground floor overlooking the gardens and pool. Hotel was nice and quiet and perfectly situated for a 7 minute stroll to the Puerto Banus Marina. Parking at the hotel was free. We stayed half board for 1 week. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and the restaurant staff were always courteous and very pleasant. The food at dinner became a little repetitive but was always of a high standard. The rooms were very clean, however the bathroom was a 'little tired' and mould/mildew was appearing around the bath/shower area. Overall, nice hotel and would recommend :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calitraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando Preto R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, March 27, 2016
Dear Calitraveller2012,

Thank you very much for sending your opinion in 2012.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon at Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel and let you enjoy the new changes experienced by our structure since.

We will be expecting you!

Warmest Regards,



Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We (2 adults 2 children) stayed at this hotel for a week half board, after a few days the food got boring as the same thing was served every night, the pools and the surrounding gardens are great and the hotel really is only a 7 minute walk to the prestigious Puerto Banus Marina. The room itself was a good size but the bathroom was worn down and things were starting to look grotty, overall we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando Preto R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, March 27, 2016
Dear Katie K,

Thank you very much for sending your opinion in 2012.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon at Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel and let you enjoy the new changes experienced by our structure since.

We will be expecting you!

Warmest Regards,



Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

enjoyed a five night stay here in october. Garden room ground floor was a good size for two,beds really comfortable and bedding luxurious, even had a choice of pillows.The terrace had own sunbeds. Breakfast no complaints. Felt location convenient and loved the prom between puerto banus and marbella. 6k walk.
Only downside was the price of drinks in puerto banus

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glynis o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando Preto R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, March 27, 2016
Dear Glynis o,

Thank you very much for sending your opinion in 2012.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon at Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel and let you enjoy the new changes experienced by our structure since.

We will be expecting you!

Warmest Regards,



Fernando Preto
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
2.6 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#4 of 73 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 stars 1,347 reviews
1.4 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
0.9 mi away
H10 Andalucia Plaza
H10 Andalucia Plaza
#1 of 1 in Nueva Andalucia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
9.7 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#21 of 73 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Marbella Banus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Marbella Banus

Property: Melia Marbella Banus
Address: Mario Vargas Llosa, S/N, Carretera de Cadiz km 175 | Puerto Banus, 29660, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#14 Family Hotel in Marbella
#19 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Marbella Banus 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive area of Puerto Banus, in the famous Golden Mile and very close to the beach and some of the most Deluxe shopping and leisure facilities in Europe. The Melia Marbella Banus Hotel is the perfect choice for visiting Puerto Banus and Marbella thanks to its excellent location, its complete and comfortable facilities, and the quality of its services. In the heart of the "Costa del Golf", and surrounded by some of the finest golf courses in the area, all available at a special discount. Amongst its magnificent facilities and services, Melia Marbella Banus provides 200 superb rooms with two double beds; different dining spaces such as El Rio Verde Restaurant, the Patio Bar, La Hiedra Restaurant and the Pool Bar (the last two only open in summer); free high speed WiFi internet; exclusive The Level service; 3 outdoor pools (1 adults only pool, 1 pool with 3 waterfalls and 1 children’s pool); Wellness Area with indoor heated pool, sauna and Turkish bath; 1 tennis court; 2 paddle tennis courts; a children’s play area; 4 meeting rooms for up to 150 people, and underground parking for the exclusive use of guests with space for 60 vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Melia Marbella Banus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Marbella Banus Hotel Marbella
Sol Melia Marbella Dinamar
Melia Marbella Dinamar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing