We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Thai food with a warm welcome!”

Ban Thai restaurant. Marbella
Ranked #47 of 1,378 Restaurants in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $34
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Opened in 2013 Ban Thai has rapidly become one of the most successful, modern restaurants in Marbella. The cool and contemporary interior design has an open plan layout and visible kitchen and the alfresco dining area allows diners the opportunity to enjoy the warm Mediterranean climate. Owner Fandi, together with Ban Thai's chefs have created a menu which includes an exceptional range of classic and modern authentic Thai dishes. The Front of House Team, offer warm and friendly hospitality and a sophisticated service which is both approachable and unobtrusive. These combine to create an informal and sociable atmosphere. Open for lunch and dinner, Ban Thai welcomes private parties and is the ideal venue for corporate bookings and family functions. At Ban Thai we are committed to providing our guests with a first class and memorable dining experience.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai food with a warm welcome!”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We visited on a Wednesday in March and were warmly greeted by the owner and his staff. There were 14 of us we had booked in advance. Good thing we did as they were quite busy that evening. We all shared starters then I had the crispy honey duck with ginger sauce. Duck was cooked to perfection very soft and tasty. I also had the mixed rice which was served in a pineapple! There was a lot of food! I tasted a few dishes others had chosen and all were superb. Then we had a delicious dessert which was coconut rice with mango. Absolutely lovely!! All in all it was a fab night with fab food! Looking forward to going back again very soon!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fandi760809, Guest Relations Manager at Ban Thai restaurant. Marbella, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Hello there

Thank you for the review of Ban Thai in March 2014

We are happy and encouraged to hear you enjoyed your visit

If you would like to keep up to date with any offers or new additions please take a look at our Facebook or Twitter pages

We hope to see you again soon

Regards
Ban Thai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    127
    25
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply great food!!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We visited Ban Thai on sat 1st March 2014 it was a cold & breezy nigbt, but we got a very warm welcome,we had not booked but the friendly staff made room for us in a very busy restaurant, the food was delicious we all had different dishes but each one was top class! If you like Thai food Ban Thai is the place to go, looking forward to going back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janhayes67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nothing cool about this deal!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The food and service were both just ok but lets face it we came and tried this restaurant because of the 'cool deal'. We've tried a lot of restaurants using the cool deals website and most have them have been really good and an excellent way of trying a new restaurant without having an expensive night out. This one is basically a con. The deal says you get a starter, main and rice for €18 instead of €34.The starters were either €4, €5 or €6 the rice was either €4 or €5 so lets call that €10 for the two. The main courses were all €14 or €15 if you didn't have Duck or Fish which you had to pay extra for. So the most you could have spent without the deal was €26. If it wasn't for the deal most people would share a rice so I reckon the deal saves you about €5 per person. €5 is €5 but compared to other cool deals this is poor value. It might explain why the place was empty apart from us on a Wednesday night so there was no ambiance whatsoever. The food was honestly no better than average and I think if we want to have Thai food in future we'd rather go to Tuc Tuc in Aloha.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Felipe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fandi760809, Guest Relations Manager at Ban Thai restaurant. Marbella, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Customer
We are saddened to read your review from March 13th 2014.
Ban Thai has used Cooldeals in the past and were more than happy to do so when the chance came along again, it is our way of not only offering something to future clients but existing ones too.

I have read your review and have worked out the figures and hope that it will explain any questions you may have.

We offer a choice of Starter, Main and Side/Rice. If you had ordered the most expensive of these (Starter €8.50, Main €15.00 and Rice €8.00) your bill per person would have been €31.50pp not including drinks.

The advertisement on Cooldeals is €34.00pp on the assumption you would have a drink, which you did.

I have taken the liberty to work out your bill from the evening in question and food alone would have cost you €134.00, that´s €22.33pp on a table of six adults. Food on this occasion with your Cooldeals voucher was €108.00 (€18.00pp) paid to Cooldeals, all of which we do not receive as I am sure you understand this is not a money making scheme it covers cost but nothing more.

Without Cooldeals your bill on the evening would have been €178.90 including drinks (€44.90) not a huge sum for 6 people (€29.81pp).

As this is an offer we at Ban Thai are allowed to include what we see as reasonable, hence Duck and Fish dishes have a €2.00 supplement. Another reason for this is that we do not like to see waste.

I do hope this clears up any confusion

Regards

Ban Thai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If Carlsberg did restaurants !!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I must say what an enjoyable meal we had here Friday night, the food was delicious, the staff friendly, location was great... Thumbs up all round and great Value for money! We will be back!! )

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fandi760809, Guest Relations Manager at Ban Thai restaurant. Marbella, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thank you for the review from March 9th, a pleasure to have you join us, we hope to see you again soon and dont forget our large terrace area for a nice evening meal this summer

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Came all the way from Canada to try this restaurant”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Yes we did. We purchased a Cool Deals coupon and enjoyed a fantastic evening with our friends.

The owners are fantastic. The meals were out of this world. Located very close to the board walk allowed us to enjoy a walk back to our car after.

The coupons allowed us to try 4 different main meals. All were excellent.

A trip to Marbella is not complete without a stop here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abkw231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ban Thai restaurant. Marbella also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
Nueva Andalucia, Marbella
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
Nueva Andalucia, Marbella
 

Been to Ban Thai restaurant. Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing