We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is such a fabulous place you have to go”

EL Castillo Del Gourmet
Ranked #182 of 1,378 Restaurants in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is such a fabulous place you have to go”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I love this place and have been going since it was 1st opened. Sitting on the terrace in the summer or inside in the winter, the food is fabulous, the staff are friendly and Penilla the owner is focused on her guests having a great night out. Wines are varied and recommended based on what you are eating, a real twist with food as the underlying theme of Scandinavian comes shinning through. Try the tapas to share as a starter fantastic! I would recommend this Restraunt to anyone going into benahavis it's a gem.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johannaandpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    60
    11
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
243 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Paella on the waterfront”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The restaurant is in a great location along the waterfront with great sea views. We stopped in for a late lunch and had the mixed seafood Paella for two. It was fantastic and contained clams, mussels, calamari, shrimp, fish, and chicken. It took about 20 minutes to prepare and arrived in a cast iron Paella Pan steaming hot and much more than the two of us could eat. Lunch with 2 Vino, 2 Cerveza, bread, and tip was €40.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AZ-LGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
114 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very nice and authentic lunch”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This restaurant on the sea promenade of Marbella stands out from the rest by welcoming interior and well balanced traditional menu. We were actually looking for El Castello based on other reviews but its name was hidden behind a big burgundy awning. So we picked a place that offered traditional paella for 12 euro p.p and crepes. The food was very good and abundant, and the service was very attentive. To our pleasant surprise, the bill boar the name El Castello del Gourmet, lucky us...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food, great value, great service!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We found this restaurant along the beach front in Marbella, among many other restaurants and bars. We had already visited the Old Quarter that day and weren't too impressed by the menu choices in relation to the prices being charged. However, when we found El Castello, it just looked right - it looked inviting, so we took a table. The meals were not only reasonably priced, the portions were huge! Our two friends are not the biggest eaters so they struggled, but they were determined to die trying because the food was so good! Main courses varied in price from 9 Euros up to 20 euros, but the general cost of a main course (steak, pork, lamb, etc) was about 15 Euros, inclduing all the trimmings. I thoroughly recommend the mixed fried fish at just under 9 Euros, and also the mixed grilled fish at 15 Euros - a great selection of five different fish, with prawns, mussles and delicious baby octopus! And chips.....
Service was excellent and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. We booked for the second night and they reserved two tables - the one we had the night before or another one which was out of the breeze if we wished.
I think the best way of summing this up is to say we went for a long weekend, just three nights, and we ate there for the three nights because it was that good - I'm not saying don't try anywhere else, but if you're in Marbella, give it a go if only for one night!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kev69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Out of a wide range of restaurants along the seafront, this restaurant was our best. We shared a chicken paella which tasted fantastic - the service was very good and when we returned for lunch a couple of days later we were remembered and had another excellent meal.

A must!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MattKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EL Castillo Del Gourmet also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to EL Castillo Del Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing