We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT GO HERE !!!”
Review of Guadalpin Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Guadalpin Suites
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“DO NOT GO HERE !!!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

RUDE RUDE RUDE !!!

The staff at this hotel are extremely rude.

I booked this hotel by mistake as they falsely lead me to believe this was the Gualdapin in Banus. As soon as I booked it and received the confirmation, I realised my mistake and called them within 10mins to cancel...... they refused to listen.

The receptionist (Stephanie I believe)... said no matter even if the reservations department had not charged my card yet - they will refuse to cancel the booking.....

Originally they said they would only charge me a cancellation fee, but then changed their minds and have tried to charge me the full amount.

If this is how they treat potential customers who haven't even arrived, I hate to think what they would be like when you do actually stay here.

My advice - Don't GO ... !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Wilbur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    133
    67
    49
    35
See reviews for
122
111
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Guadalphin Suites was previously a hotel which is now rented out as apartments. The apartments were huge and comfortable but the hotel is like a ghost town with the bar, faciliteis and shops all closed and left dirty and unkempt. Everything looks tired and the hotel had an eerie feel to it with nothing open.

Furniture on the balcony was all rusty, The pool area was dirty (we saw an empty cola bottle, cigarette packet and full ashtray left on a table overnight which was not cleared away until mid-day the following day. The sunbeds by the pool were very dirty and looked like they had not been cleaned in a very long time. The WC facilities in the lobby had no soap or paper.

In its day this would have been a lovel 5 star hotel but it has been left empty for what quite clearly is a long time and therefore I would not consider it 5 star by any means.

On the positive side it;s close to the beach and withing walking distance of Marbella and there is a large supermarked a few mins walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lassie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

5 of us stayed in apartment 422 for a hen do in July 2013. It had 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms, a small kitchen and a lounge/breakfast room. It also had a great balcony and a roof terrace with sun loungers and a Jacuzzi. It had great views, was clean and nice decor.
We arrived late but security had our keys and there was a bottle of bubbly waiting for us in the room, nice gesture. The apartments have a communal pool which we never used as so near the lovely beaches but looked good. We used the changing rooms on the day we left as had to check-out at 2pm but weren’t leaving until 6pm.
There are several supermarkets nearby and car park spaces right outside for free. It’s located between Marbella and Puerto Banus so recommend to have a car. Our safe ran out of battery but the facility guy quickly came and helped. We didn’t dare to touch the mini bar as never got a price list but could be useful if you’re desperate.

Room Tip: 422 has a roof terrace and 3 good size bed rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karolin1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This property is a closed down 5 star hotel that is now being run as apartments. For our holiday this was exactly what we wanted and having read other reviews before booking we knew what to expect. The problem is that this is not communicated clearly on their website or some booking sites so other guests were very unhappy about their being no services-we were happy with the room and even had a large terrace. 2 things they need to change: a self catering apartment needs a kettle! And the receptionist needs to speak at least basic English!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mellymos5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have booked a studio with a twin bed and I got two singles connected!!! They would not change it, very inconvenient...!!! Also most of the personnel spoke ONLY Spanish. All the restaurants bars even one elevator were closed at the end of June!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlikakiAthens_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The apartment was described as 5 star, with a price that reflected this, why do people thing they can mislead & take customers for granted.

1: no lights in the landings,
2: the Jacuzzi did not work ( the children were very disappointed )
3: there was building work going on in one of the apartments on the Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday, of this week the noise from the cango hammers was unbearable at the pool side. I did put a call to you on the Wednesday ( I have a video of this )
4: the apartment was described as 5 star, not the case overall the apartment can be best described as 3 star.
5: the place was infested with ants
6: the crockery was dirty on our arrival
7. No air conditioning

These rooms are independently owned, I did write to the owners and they have not replayed !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 747Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The apartments were very spacious, clean and luxurious. The hot tub on the balcony was great and we made daily use of it. The location is ideal for a walk or short taxi into Marbella old town or a taxi to puerto banus. We did this every evening and it was inexpensive. The benefit of the location is that it is quiet and relaxing. The beach is also very close by and there is a great supermarket to hand as well.

However we were there early June and it felt like the hotel was just getting ready for the season. For example the restaurant and pool bar was not open (so there was nowhere to eat or drink in the hotel), the pool had not been cleaned (until part way through our stay). Reception staff were unable to give us a local area map which seems a basic requirement.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
3.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 70 in Marbella
900 reviews
1.5 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
0.9 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Marbella
NH Marbella
#17 of 70 in Marbella
1,464 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Faro
El Faro
#33 of 70 in Marbella
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
#28 of 70 in Marbella
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guadalpin Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guadalpin Suites

Property: Guadalpin Suites
Address: Blvd. Principe Alfonso Von Hohenlohe, 19 | C.N. 340, km 179, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Guadalpin Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering luxurious studios and apartments with large terraces, Guadalpin Suites has an ideal setting just 550 metres from Marbella's beaches. Set in attractive grounds, it features an outdoor swimming pool. Each spacious, modern studio and apartment at Guadalpin Suites is decorated in pleasant cream tones. There is a seating area with a sofa and a flat-screen TV. Kitchen facilities include a fridge, microwave, electric hob, dishwasher and a washing machine. Apartments include separate bedrooms, a living room with a larger TV, and a kitchen. A continental breakfast, consisting of coffee or tea, toasts, pastries, cured meats, and juice or an English breakfast is offered in the apartments from 09:00 to 12:00. Guests can also enjoy room service from 9:00 to 20:00. Set on the Golden Mile between Marbella and Puerto Banus, the Guadalpin has easy access to the Costa del Sol's beaches. It is within 6 km of 3 golf courses. Malaga and Estepona can be reached in 35 minutes by car. Gibraltar and La Linea de la Concepcion are around 75 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Guadalpin Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing