We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Diverhotel Marbella
Ranked #52 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A very good family hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

A good family hetel. Well run with good food. Close to sandy beach, although hotels swlimming pools are excellent. No lift from reception area to 1st floor although a lift from floor1. This is difficult for elderly people with their luggage. Good entertainment proramme. although in Spanish.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Diverhotel Marbella, responded to this review, November 22, 2010
Dear Guests,
I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Best Regards!

Alejando Castillo
Gerente Pinomar Playa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    232
    142
    63
    79
See reviews for
462
70
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

well me and my fiancee are just back from 10 nights at the pinomar playa in marbella,i must say our first impressions of the hotel were quite good,we arrived at 9.45pm but had to rush our check-in cause the restaurant closed at 10 o'clock.we did get something to eat but were quite shocked at the prices,the evening meal was a buffet and was 18euro per person,the lunch was 17 euro per person,which was expensive compared to the town centre.the room was lovely but very basic,we found ourselves having trouble finding other people who spoke english aswell,so we spent most of the time in town,the room walls were a bit thin and we could hear alot of people comin in at night time.overall its definetly not a place for couples cause it was all big families,the food was too expensive,it was also 6km from marbella,but a bus service ran to the town centre every 30 mins or so,the staff were very friendly and did their best for us as we didnt speak spanish,it would b great for a family(cause they had activities all day for the kids and party nights for the adults)but only if you could speak some spanish.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keving497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Diverhotel Marbella, responded to this review, November 22, 2010
Dear Guests,
I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service.

I am very sorry that you haven´t like the hotel, but our hotels are mainly focused on families, although we also receive couples who come to spend their holidays.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Best Regards!
Alejando Castillo
Gerente Pinomar Playa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marbella hotels

Brno
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

Hotel Pinomar Playa ***+ is situated almost 10 km from city center of Marbella. But there is a shuttle bus going to city center every day right from the Hotel. Hotel has very nice surounding and is very clean - outside sport grounds, pool, parking/ and inside - rooms, restaurant, reception.. Every day clean towels and there is also posibility borrow hotel beach towels.
Very special thing I would like to mention is food and catering in Hotel. Swedish table fuuuuull of spanish specialities - paella, gaspacho, sea food, fish, sweets, .... meat and fish prepared right behind your eyes by nice lady. All underlined by perfect staff. Not good english speakers, but nice, helpful and friendly except that. (we speak spanish so we hadn't comunication problems).. We have half board, but no hunger during day ;o) It's enough!! We made long and rich breakfast and 7 course dinner at 21.00 .. excellent!! Food was absolutely amazing!

We recomend Pinomar Playa Hotel to family with chidren definitly. All day and nigth animation programs were mostly for children. There are many play grounds and swiming pool with two tobogans, mini club and big children company everywhere..

Sea was wild with big waves most part of our holidays. We like it, so we enjoyed every day on the beach. The sea water is clean, no jellyfish, but very cold or fresh if you like!!! ;) The beach is sandy, clean and not overcrowded. You can borrow sunbed for 3 euro per day.

If you don't mind having some more excitement you can take a bus to Marbella bus station and make nice trip to another part of Spain from Marbella ;) It's much more cheaper than trips offered by travel agents (to Granada, Sevilla, Cordoba, Malaga..) The best way how to sightsee Andalucia is a car hire. But you must make a reservation very soon, because there are no many cars available in Marbella.. it is big PROBLEM!!!

We had wonderfull holiday in Andalucia, in Marbella and Pinomar Playa hotel!!! We recommend you this place for your holiday, mainly when you like excelent spanish food, hot weather, culture and sigthseeing, spanish atmosphere and active holidays!

Enjoy Spain as we did!!! :-)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BJBBrno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada and Torun, Poland
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2008

The hotel had a great breakfast. The lobby is not too interesting and not very welcoming. The hotel staff were great. The hotel manager is a dictator. The rooms are ok, the water pressure is just ok, no elevators in this place so beware. Distance to Marbella downtown is about 5km. There is a bus number 7 and 220 that you can catch a short walk from the hotel for euro 1.20. Taxi from Marbella bus station to hotel costs about 17 euros at night. The walk to the beach is close (2 minute walk) and the beach itself is ok. (not great, but average). Not very central but quiet. Not that far away either to Marbella. Malaga to Marbella takes about 1 hour if your plane is landing in Malaga. The pool is good but looks bigger in the travel websites and there is a mini-slide for kids into the pool. They did not serve any snacks at the pool area although the hotel did say they serve all kinds. If you find this hotel for a good price stay. I would recommend another place because the location is just off the highway.

  • Liked — Breakfast, Clean rooms, Nice pool
  • Disliked — Lobby not great, inside closed entertainment at night,
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hudzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2008

Booked a weeks all inclusive at the 5* Continental Garden Reef Resort in Sharm el Sheikh through Global Late Deals; unfortunately xcel went into liquidation so we lost our holiday, we were offered the Pinomar Playa in Marbella as an alternative.

We accepted the weeks holiday at the Pinomar Playa as myself and a big group of us what were supposed to be going to Egypt were looking forward to a holiday (as xcel went into liquidation the week before we were due to travel). We were told by the holiday rep that the Pinomar Playa was a 4* clearly it is not as we found out when we arrived as the massive hotel sign has 3*. The hotel was really outdated and just off of reception there were 2 sets of steep stairs to climb (my mother has to walk with the aid of a walking stick due to arthritis) and then another set of stairs to get to your room. The room we were given was tiny and 3 people had to share it, my husband stubbed his toe in our hotel room on the bed leg on the 1st night staying at the Pinomar Playa and he was in agony the rest of the duration of the holiday.

The hotel information on Global Late Deals states 200m to the beach, well I can tell you it was definately more than 200m. On the journey down to the beach the bins were overflowing, dead mice and water leaking onto the broken path. The path beside the beach was littered with broken glass bottles.

The pool bar was small with an outside pool which had plant debris floating in it. The inside pool was empty and had been for some time, the last day of our holiday it was being filled up so was of no use to us. The pool bar ran out of alcoholic drinks, my husband can't drink fizzy drinks so he was at a bit of a loss to what he could drink. The bar menu is also completely written in Spanish and the staff speak no or very little English.

The animation evenings were held in the Griffo Bar and consisted of one Spanish girl talking and entertaining completely in Spanish no English spoken!

The food at the Pinomar Playa in our opinion and the rest of our holiday group we found disgusting as they only cater for Spanish! The only decent thing to eat was in the mornings jam on toast and we had to eat out the rest of the time, and thank god we had a car because there are no restaurants in walking distance apart from: PAPA LUIGI which we found had really EXCELLENT, tasty food and we would really recommend it..

During one of the days while staying at the hotel in rained, this then leaked onto the 2 sets of stairs and also onto the floor. To compensate for the leaking roof orange towels were placed down onto the steps and onto the reception floor.

Our annual holiday was completely ruined by inadequate faclities (entertainment, food, room and alcohol running out etc)

My advice would be DO NOT TO GO TO THE PINOMAR PLAYA!!!

  • Liked — all inclusive brand name drinks (when they hadn't run out)
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mmalkin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORTUGAL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2006

We have just returned from a week at the Pinomar Hotel Marbella. The hotel is quit old but in good conseving condition. The service is simple and perfect. It have a dinner buffet with many many diferent food every days. The beach have a brown sand (not so good). If you want a central Hotel this is not a good idea, becouse this hotel is 6 Km far from Marbella.

  • Stayed September 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank RuiFerreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marbella
0.1 mi away
Marbella Playa Hotel
Marbella Playa Hotel
#27 of 71 in Marbella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Roc Marbella Park
11.4 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#16 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#18 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
6.0 mi away
NH Marbella
NH Marbella
#17 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
8.1 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diverhotel Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diverhotel Marbella

Property: Diverhotel Marbella
Address: Carretera Cadiz Km 189, 29604, Marbella, Spain (Formerly Pinomar Playa Hotel)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Diverhotel Marbella 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel, situated between Marbella and Puerto Banus, proximity to several golf courses. It also has a large pool, entertainment programmes and all kinds of activities. Ideal for fun-filled family holidays! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Diverhotel Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinomar Playa Hotel
Pinomar Playa Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing