We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not N-ough sun loungers”
Review of NH Marbella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NH Marbella
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not N-ough sun loungers”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Positives
Nicely decorated rooms
Generally helpful staff especially javier on the night shift who tried valiantly to help with our botched coach transfer
Safes and hairdryers in the room
Breakfast from 7 to 11, which are good hours though we didnt manage to make it up in time so cant comment on the quality
Quiet location, very little noise at night
Easy access to puerto banus and marbella

Negatives
Balconies are small and unfurnished
There are about 150 rooms at this hotel, but there appear to be about 40 sun loungers. This is greatly exacerbated by people putting towels on them early and not returning until late afternoon, at least 3.30 in some cases.
 The prevailng attitude is that nothng can be done about this, though other hotels we have stayed in show that this is possible by removing unused towels after 30 mnutes
The pool also opens onto the road and there is no need to show a room key to gain admittance, this public access also adds to the lack of loungers.

Room Tip: You can't see he pool from the lower rooms with a pool view, and you cant see the mountains from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GandTJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    631
    170
    33
    27
See reviews for
219
652
64
223
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed here recently for four nights. Parking charged at 14 euros per night, although street parking is available outside the hotel.

Good sizes rooms, nice shower.

Breakfast buffet limited but OK, great coffee though.

20 min walk along the promenade to the centre of Marbella it is ideally located with restaurants all around.

Strange that you have to enter the street to go to the pool but it was not too busy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Intcopiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We found the staff nothing but poliet and helpfull. The room was spotless and the pool lovely. The breakfast was delicious and lots of choice especially the continental section. The food by the pool is normal bar/snack pool food bit reasonably priced compared to some other places in the area.

The location was perfect to enjoy both Puerto Banus and Marbella with both being a short cab ride away. Reception are happy to order one for you and ranks in both places mean it is easy to get back though we were here at the end of the season we were told the taxis in summer are very busy.

I would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roorox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We left the hotel this morning and here is our humble opiniont:

PROS - general cleaning good; free parking (on public streets outside) at about 50m from the hotel in a quiet area, with shadows by the trees and guarded by shops and a 5 * hotel; reception staff very friendly and available; nice pool; silence and quiet ideal for families, pool towels available; mini sewing kit available at reception; hairdryer in room, shower gel, shampoo, soap, toothbrush and sponge available too; good shower;

CONS - hotel parking 14€/24h; some employees very unsympathetic, especially in the restaurant; very slow internet connection and only available for free for a period of 24 consecutive hours from the moment you log in; very few loungers by the pool; pool bar not very agreable, expensive food and drink; garden "terraza" only open during the day and away from the pool; gym with access only by key requested at reception; food very repetitive and although with quality it is easily exhausted, even if restaurant is almost empty at dinner time; endless queues for breakfast; dinner served water in glass bottles constantly reused (and refilled!); hotel very far away from the beach, 20 minutes walking; low quality beach too - rocks, black sand, hundreds of jellyfish in August - impossible to swim;hotel too quiet in general; "everything away from everything"...

Marbella: too much luxury, too many of people, a lot of traffic, a lot of "luxurious" prostitution as well. Not very good beach, cold water, rocks, sand hurts your feet when walking. Want a great beach?Go to Sotogrande, 50 km. Puerto Banus: extreme confusion at night, ultra expensive parking: 38 min = 3.95 euros, a lot of prostitution Gibraltar and Tarifa: please visit, are great!

Room Tip: Very quiet neighboorhood, no problems with noise;
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AugustAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at the NH Marbella, during peak season in August.

The rooms and reception areas were simply decorated but rather generic without character.

Although across the road from the beach. If you go to Marbella to go out, the location is not ideal. Be prepared to get a car or a taxi to and from the hotel to Puerto Banus which is about a 5-10 minute car ride away.

The pool was quite small but the beach being so close was a plus point.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrew l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I would say its a fair assumption to take an air of caution towards any hotel which displays their TripAdvisor rating on the reception desk. It's like going to Wetherspoons in England where they have a "hygiene rating 4/5" on a giant sign outside - like they felt the need to prove it to you!

Nonetheless my stay at NH Marbella was decidedly average. Initial impressions were good (aside from the Trip Advisor rating on the front desk). I'll walk you through the hotel.

The lifts were speedy, once you'd pushed/jabbed/gently poked the button enough times for it to light up!

The corridors were clean and tidy, although I did notice a room service tray outside someone's room which was there for a while and started to smell.

The rooms have a slightly old/tired feeling with the wooden paneling that make up the walls, however they were clean. Our room lacked tea and coffee making facilities, as well as a hair dryer and ironing board and iron. My friends in two other rooms also lacked these facilities.

The bathroom toiletries were plentiful, but slightly tacky in their strong apple or orange fragrances. Ok if you want to smell like a fruit bowl. The shower was alright - not really much power and the tap/shower mixing function was confusing, after much pulling and twisting it eventually did work to a small degree. Water temperature struggled slightly in consistency.

We did not eat in the evening, but dropped onto the beach to a place called Cappuccino - which was great and worth the prices we paid - great cocktails, quite close to the hotel.

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON COCKTAILS BY THE POOL. So not worth it! I asked for a mojitto and was given a glass of mud and sugar granules with decorative mint leaves? My friends also had other cocktails which equalled mine. As I say, get yourself down to Cappucinno - excellent cocktails.

The pool was generally clean and tidy, with comfy sun loungers (but there aren't many so get there early if you plan a day by the pool). Whilst the water was clean - watch yourself on the water vent/filters which surround the entire circumference of the pool. I actually saw a young girl of around 3/4 fall through a cracked one! She was fine but lucky not to hurt herself on the sharp plastic - surely something should be done about this?! My friend also put his foot through one.

The sauna was good, but you need to get a key from reception. More towels by the sauna shower would have been nice. They also provide you with a free towel service for by the pool - so don't waste luggage space bringing one!

Breakfast was alright, but never seemed to have enough orange juice when I wanted some! Also the jelly was unusual but nice. The scrambled eggs were good but the bacon wasn't really up to much. Coffee was nice too. Best to get there before 10am to save queuing at the door! It was a little chaotic at times and the host lady seemed a little stressed, through no fault of her own :)

The staff seemed friendly enough and happy to help. It is by no means a bad hotel, and I have been a little critical - but it is just small things which prevent it from excelling - and for goodness sake, get the tacky trip advisor sign off the reception desk....


A bit on the location (my star ratings of the hotel do not include this, but I thought I'd offer some opinion anyway):

Good for families who want something a little quieter/tamer and don't want to swim in the sea. Hundreds of jellyfish in the sea, to the point you can't swim in it - you can go knee deep at a push. Just keep an eye out!

Jet skiing at "Funny beach" was good (if you don't mind the jellyfish - not as many the further out you go!) but generally the sea in the area is awful for young children who want to play in it!

No good for 18-30yr olds! Stay at Benal Madena or Puerto Banus for that. Benal Madena has a better beach and sand and more people with a wider age group and NO JELLYFISH. Puerto Banus has some good but very expensive clubs.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nathanjrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed for a week at the begining of june and loved it here, the food was great and staff all helpful, the only thing we would change is to have the bar by the pool open during the week and not just the weekend.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charliewoodx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.3 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
2.4 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 70 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
1.4 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#16 of 70 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
0.4 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Marbella

Property: NH Marbella
Address: Avenida Conde de Rudi, s/n | The Golden Mile, 29600, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Marbella
#12 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#21 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH Marbella puts you in the heart of Andalusia's Costa del Sol, steps away from pristine beaches and mere minutes from the country's most glamorous destinations for fun in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your NH Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Marbella Hotel Marbella
Nh Hotels Marbella
Nh Hotel Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing