We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good Marbella base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alanda Hotel Marbella
Ranked #33 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good Marbella base”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We based ourselves in the Alanda but with the intention of spending every day on the beach and eating out at nights. Overall the hotel was very good for our purposes and in particular the Alanda beach bar and sunbeds although I do think the sunbeds should have been free or reduced for those staying at the Alanda. Instead the Alanda beach beds were the most expensive around. But they did meet our purpose and the beach bar staff were very good thorughout.
As to the hotel. It is a bit dated now but the rooms are spacious, clean and have excellent beds. As an aside I think the ugly box type TVs found in the Alanda have been obsolete for a couple of decades but we didnt use the TV so not a big matter for us.
The reception could be better. It looks like an old style Soviet Block holiday camp reception. The hotel does not have a bar as such which is a loss. It used to have one downstairs from the reception which was a dreadful place to have a bar hence its failure. But thta dos not mean a more open friendly bar would not attract customers to mingle together. The pool bar was fine though for a G&T in the early evening but closes at 7pm.
Overall though its a good spot for the beach and you can indulge yourself in the Peunto Romano hotel just across the road (which sells UK and Irish papers). Its also good walking distance for a good number of restaurents.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    187
    117
    40
    30
See reviews for
94
223
11
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel is in the golden mile of Marbella and is divided into three buildings: the main hosts the reception and the restaurant. The other two face the swimming pool. The buildings are recent and the rooms are modern, spacious and clean. The breakfast is a good continental breakfast with plenty of choice . The swimming pool is wide and stays open until late.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarloItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

For a short break at a very reasonable price this hotel was fine. It had large comfy rooms and a nice pool. The staff were obliging even though few spoke English. However be aware of the parking - you have to pay 10 euros a day which adds considerably to the cost of your stay! We found you could park round the back of the hotel safely (with the staff!!) for nothing. We also booked half board - don't bother. The food was boring though edible and the service very slow. We changed the deal to lunch which was much better and ate out in the evening. Another minus was the lack of a changing room if you had an evening flight. We were forced to pay 5 euros each for a shower in the spa. Incidentally you had to pay to use gym facilities. So hotel is fine but be aware of the headline price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzyd18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel situated on the Golden Mile and the situation is very good a few minutes from the Port , driving and if you can get a parking space, so advisable to walk the 25 minutes maybe a little more.
The reception staff had a nice smile but when waiting to check in they answered the phone and I had to wait until they finished the call which seemed longer than it was. The phone was more important than the guest, for all I know it might have been his wife asking what he wanted for dinner!
The rooms and to be honest have not been updated in the 10 years it has been built. But 10 years ago this hotel was a very high standard and good decor lasts.
The room I was in was opposite the mosque so early morning and latish at night ...not in Spanish terms though, I was entertained by the recorded message.
Breakfast was very good which is more than I could say for the staff whom were slightly abrupt, maybe the Spanish way of hosting.
The WIFI was additional which is a pet hate of mine.
The pool a little dated and the gym which is another pet hate was also chargeable.
Most people stay to be near the beach and even though it is not beachside you can cross the road and walk through the other hotel to the sea front.
So not the best experience and I think it is living on the past reputation but not now up to the real standard of the good modern hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marbella hotels

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Staff were very inefficient and no very helpful especially around the pool bar, staff too lazy to make cocktails ,no ingredients for another cocktail,didnt want to give us food for the poolside then on collection it was served in polathene boxes to eat at poolside??? Poor layout in hotel . Hotel very tired looking pool had broken/squeky ladders in pool very ennoying when trying to relax by pool side. Not a very enjoyable stay for my wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I was one of the first guests at the NH Alanda when it opened and have stayed there several times, but this was the first time I had returned to Marbella in 7 years, so I was worried standards might have slipped and the place might be in need of a refurb. However, not so! Absolutely nothing has changed except the breakfast (will come to that). Yes the TVs in rooms are old and it might be time to add flat screens, but the rooms are immaculate and look as good as new, which suggests the housekeeping have done a great job. The pool is brilliant, staff charming and if you don't want a typical holiday hotel and somewhere more relaxing, then NH Alanda is perfect. Back to breakfast, like most hotels, they have gone 100% buffet style which is a good buffet standard, but there used to be a chef making fresh omelettes to order. Management - bring back the chef please!!!!! Other than that keep up the good work!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrChipsManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We booked this Hotel after arriving in Marbella, finding our original hotel was a dive and took a drive to find something better.
This place ticked 9 out of 10 boxes.
Very Nice and Clean, and very spacious surroundings, and its own Car Parking facility. Yes you do have to pay to park, but you can buy a weekly ticket (Unlike a lot of other areas in Marbella) meant once paid you can come and go as you please.
Staff were excellent, the Rooms were out of this world and the pool lovely.
The only downside, for a hotel with 3 bar areas, they don't seem to have embrased the use of these Bars. We found in the evening everyone went out of the grounds to the local restaurants etc, and this may be a trick missed by the hotel, as they could have used these areas to keep the guests drinking and socializing there. But all in all excellent

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Pompeytel61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.1 mi away
NH Marbella
NH Marbella
#17 of 70 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
2.4 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
1.3 mi away
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
#27 of 70 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#16 of 70 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
2.0 mi away
El Faro
El Faro
#34 of 70 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alanda Hotel Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alanda Hotel Marbella

Property: Alanda Hotel Marbella
Address: Blvd Principe Alfonso Von Hohenlohe | Ctra Nacional 340, Km 172, 29600, Marbella, Spain (Formerly NH Alanda)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#21 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alanda Hotel Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Alanda Hotel Marbella, our passion is to create and share an exceptional stay experience by offering outstanding services, assuring carefree enjoyment and excellent quality of lifestyle in a unique location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Alanda Hotel Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Alanda Marbella
Nh Alanda Hotel Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing