We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another poor hotel staff recommendation”
Review of Antonio - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Antonio
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Another poor hotel staff recommendation”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

There must be good reasons why hotel staff continue to recommend this overpriced and underwhelming establishment. Food quality is not one of them.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lostinhollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overprised with really bad food”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I got gaspacho - tastes like a powdersoup and a swordfish - that was too oily and with no flavour at all! Such a dissapointment for a restaurant recommended by our hotel staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Madzia85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good but not the best”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Visited this restaurant after a recommendation from our concierge upon my request for a seafood restaurant which serves shellfish particularly lobster.
We arrived at the time of our booking and were given a warm and friendly welcome.
For starters I had the shrimp coctail which was ok, but not exceptionally good. Partner had the salmon which was nice.
For mains my partner had the turbot which again was good but not exceptional. I had the lobster.
Once again I was told the lobsters in spain do not have claws??? The lobster was good though slighly overcooked.and at 120 euros that was just not good enough.
Partner had the Creme Caramel which was nice.
We also had two glasses of Brandy each (Duq de Alba) which was lovely.
Total bill came to 251 euros.

Three days later we found Il Mare by Mistral Beach which opened in October next to Hotel Guadalpin Banus, this restaurant was exceptionally better than Antonio, even fetching the live lobster from the tank and included claws for 1/2 the price we paid at Antonio.

The visit with Antonio was pleasant and the staff were extremely nice and friendly.
However I was disappointed that for the price we paid the food should have been much better.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poohbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“snobby, traditional”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

very classical, looks like its been there for many years! a lot of the snobby frequent it, seems like an old favourite. food was good, but the waiters and maitre'd were acting as if they were in the dorchester! nice view of boats and the puerto.. i wouldnt go there again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Old school, jet set and snooty!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Antonio is a Puerto Banus jet set classic. Old established but possibly well past its prime. The service at Maitre D level is unjustifiably snooty. I had a nice shrimp cocktail and a stringy fillet steak. The wine list is unimaginative. On the plus side the front line location is perfect for car, boat and people watching and the tables are nicely set. But overall a lazy restaurant where nothing ever changes!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antonio also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
Puerto Banus, Marbella
 
Puerto Banus, Marbella
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing