We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun worshippers heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marbella Playa Hotel
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Holmfirth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sun worshippers heaven”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Like many other reviewers I feel that 4* is very generous. Decor - tired, but the cleaning staff and gardeners do a very good job.
Food - at first seemed very good but soon became ordinary. But breakfast was excellent. Don't know what it is about Spanish eggs and bacon, but I can't say that I've ever had better.

Entertainment 9.30 pm was kids disco for 45 mins even in October! and cabaret!!!!! at 10.15. This was poor. One night bingo, another dancing competition, Flamenco on another (didn't bother!), Varieties consisted of the hotel entertainment team dancing to some very odd choreography, and live music one night but again didn't bother. Basically it was all too poor and too late.
Having booked with Jet2.com, I would have expected a few brits. Yes there were a few, but Jet2 did absolutely nothing to bring them together. There's a book in the lobby of the dining room, in a rack with all the other foreign tour operators literature. This is where you find that the Jet2 rep isn't the kind who "bothers" you during your holiday and if you need to contact them then there's a mobile number to get them "in case of emergency". A little bit of effort on their part could have changed the experience of many Brits.
Excursions!! Listed on a small card at reception. Gibralta, Cadiz, Nerja, Ronda etc.. After hearing from another couple who had done the Cadiz trip which cost them E62 each, only to find that everybody else on the trip (from other hotels) had only paid E40.
Hotel shop - not much variety and not cheap.
And DON'T GET ILL. Elderly lady had a fall and after a couple of days her knee was very bruised. So much so that she felt she needed a doctor, so got reception to call one. Despite having her Euro health card, this cost her E90. (See daily Telegraph report on Spanish health charges which infers that hotel receptions and taxi drivers are in cohoots with doctors and hospitals and taking backhanders!)

And finally to the title of this review. If you're a sun worshipper you'll never need to leave the site. But if you want to get off the site, it's about 200m to the main road. The road resembles the A1M. Dual carriageway with crash barriers both sides, and 2m high crash barrier in the middle. There's a pedestrian walkway next to the crash barrier, but seriously, you do not want to go for a walk down this road, The only way of crossing this road is over foot-bridges about every kilometer or so, but if you do cross over, there's 20% of not very much when you get over there.
For us, I'm afraid we'll never be going back to the Marbella area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BigPhilW67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Marbella Playa Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your comment. Unfortunately has not been 100% satisfied in our hotel, will of course take note of the points that tells us to improve them.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Know that it is our goal that always pass a different experience and that's what we are working and trying to improve every day.

We remain at your disposal and we hope to visit again

Manuel J. Tome
Marbella Playa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    402
    206
    90
    54
See reviews for
571
226
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 days in this hotel in October.

On arrival hotel looked nice. Pool area lovely. Food okay. (same things most of time but plenty of choice)

However be warned! Whilst there several rooms were broken into in our party plus we heard of others on site. Money was stolen along with other personal items. The hotel didn't deal with the situation well at all and were reluctant to ring the police which is odd.

If staying in a bungalow be extra vigilant!



  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apple881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Marbella Playa Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that we mentioned.

Unfortunately has not been 100% satisfied in our hotel, will of course take note of the points that tells us to improve them. We regret the bad impression that has taken from our hotel. We look forward to us a second chance.

Manuel J. Tome
Marbella Playa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marbella hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Returned yesterday from a 3 day all inclusive break to this hotel. In a party of 8 girls sharing 4 bungalows - 3 of which were broken into and ransacked on the second day of our stay- only reason the 4th wasn't broken into was because one of our friends was asleep in the room all that day. We do understand that other rooms had been broken into as well. When we went to reception to report the break in's the reaction we received from staff and management was disgusting, they were rude and extremely unhelpful at one point they even walked away whilst we tried to explain. They were reluctant to call the police ( which we insisted they did). We had no assistance or help from them whatsoever. At the time we were reporting the incident people were being checked in and obviously they did not want them to overhear our complaint (also nobody was warned to keep their valuables safe). We asked to be moved as the rooms were no longer safe to stay in as the patio doors had been damaged during the break in. Eventually, after much persuasion we were allocated 4 more rooms - one of which had no electricity and the other one the door was insecure, which was reported straight away but not fixed until the next morning. All in all the staff and management were incompetent and uncaring. The incident pretty much ruined our holiday, which is a shame because the hotel complex itself is good with decent rooms, nice pool and surroundings, good choice of drinks. I realise thefts can happen anywhere but the point here is the hotel just did not care and were not interested. We were not aware of any security staff in the hotel or grounds - perhaps this is something that needs to be reviewed? On the plus side would really like to thank Emma and Will a Scottish couple staying at the hotel who were really good to us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 187069Naga_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Marbella Playa Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that we mentioned.
Unfortunately has not been 100% satisfied in our hotel, will of course take note of the points that tells us to improve them. We regret the bad impression that has taken from our hotel. We look forward to us a second chance.

Manuel J. Tome
Marbella Playa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights for a friends 30th.had such a good two days relaxing around the pool only to go back to our rooms and find three out of four rooms had been broken into.money(English and euro)phones.the back doors had been forced open as they don't have proper locks on them.suitcases had their locks broke off.but incredibly everything had been put back as if nobody had been in!we went to reception,the manager was no help at all and she didn't look surprised that we'd been broken into,the attitude of one of the reception workers was disgusting,they didn't want to deal with the matter at all,as they were checking in guest,we was told 'we've delt with the matter' when they had done nothing.if we wanted to inform the police we would have to ring them ourselves.they couldn't move us to the main hotel so we we're moved to another set of bungalows,as 8 women we didn't feel safe at all.by the look of some other reviews it doesn't look like a one off thing,it's awful to think that this keeps on happening and the hotel are doing nothing to stop it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robo090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Marbella Playa Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that we mentioned.
Unfortunately has not been 100% satisfied in our hotel, will of course take note of the points that tells us to improve them. We regret the bad impression that has taken from our hotel. We look forward to us a second chance.

Manuel J. Tome
Marbella Playa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night all inclusive stay. There were a party of 8 girls in 4 bungalows. On the second day 3 rooms were totally RANSACKED and money and phones were stolen. The only reason the fourth room wasn't done was because my friend was asleep in it all day. Whilst you can be broke into anywhere what wasn't normal was the reaction of the hotel staff and management. They were not interested in the slightest. They were reluctant to call the police and did not offer any support or assistance. We were moved rooms and whilst they thought they were doing us a favour in this it was completely necessary as the patio doors in all three had been damaged in the break in. The incident pretty much ruined our holiday and what could be a nice hotel is let down by incompetent and uncaring staff. On a plus note the pool complex was fab, the rooms were lovely, branded drinks on the all inclusive and located on a great beach. Big thanks to Will and Emma a Scottish couple who really looked after us. Would only return if there was a complete overhaul of frontline staff to 'normal' people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nene1183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Marbella Playa Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that we mentioned.

Unfortunately has not been 100% satisfied in our hotel, will of course take note of the points that tells us to improve them. We regret the bad impression that has taken from our hotel. We look forward to us a second chance.

Manuel J. Tome
Marbella Playa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Booked a 4* but in reality this was a poor 3* closer to a 2* hotel. The 'bungalow' room décor was very dated. Tile grout dirty although maids did their best to keep the room clean. Food was quite horrid, very poor quality but I enjoyed the grated carrot and beetroot in the salad bar! Every night was the same with poor quality meats disguised in a 'gloopy' gravy, vegetables grossly overcooked, the grill with fish and meats was slow and not very appetising. I will say thank goodness for the melon, it kept me going for the week. Staff were helpful and friendly but this did not make up for the overall poor quality of accommodation. We were looking for a relaxing week and were extremely disappointed by the difference between the advertised and the reality.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Marbella Playa Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. Unfortunately has not been 100% satisfied in our hotel, will of course take note of the points that tells us to improve them. We hope us a second chance.

Manuel J. Tome
Marbella Playa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I booked a 4 star so was confident that the standard would be good. What a disappointment. The Hotel and rooms where, in my opinion, no more than a 2 star at the very most. The place was down at heel and very, very dated. and looked as though it ws last decorated in the 1980's. No aircon as it wasn't working and the ceiling fan was on it's last legs and seemed as though it was about to fall from the ceiling. The reception staff were the most rude, obnoxious and unhelpful I have ever had the misfortune to come into contact with. The hotel is mostly used by Spanish and German guests and the staff did not speak much English and what with my very rudimentary Spanish it was challenging. The gym is a total joke. Some rubbish, broken down pieces of equipment in a dingy room. The food was ok although it felt like going into battle every time one went up to try to get any food as the other guests had no sense of manners - it was a free for all. The hotel was far further away from Marbella than I was led to believe (7km and 20 euros in a taxi and the airport was a 70 euro ride away). There is very, very little to do there. The rooms were though very clean and thats about the only positive.

Room Tip: try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seaswimmer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Marbella Playa Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment. Unfortunately has not been 100% satisfied in our hotel, will of course take note of the points that tells us to improve them. We hope us a second chance.

Manuel J. Tome
Marbella Playa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.1 mi away
Diverhotel Marbella
Diverhotel Marbella
#51 of 70 in Marbella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
11.4 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#16 of 70 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Roc Marbella Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
5.8 mi away
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
#27 of 70 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marbella Playa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Playa Hotel

Property: Marbella Playa Hotel
Address: Ctra Cadiz, Km 189, 29604, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This marvellous tourist resort situated in Marbella, which imitates the style of an Andalusian town, offers fully equipped cottage type rooms and a fantastic themed pool with slides for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Marbella Playa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lti Marbella Playa Hotel Marbella
Lti Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella Playa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing