We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bluebay Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of BlueBay Banus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BlueBay Banus
Ranked #37 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bluebay Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just back from a week all inclusive and, for what we paid, we had an excellent holiday. Yes there are areas that can be improved but positives definitely outweigh the negatives.

Although all inclusive we like to go out and about so for those who want to venture outside the hotel:
Bus to Puerto Banus or Marbella. Bus stops right outside the hotel and costs no more than 1 Euro 50 for about a 20 minute bus trip to Marbella - superb value!!! Flyblu boat back from Marbella to Puerto Banus - 8 Euros 50 for a nice little half hour trip along the coast. To go in the opposite direction take the bus to San Pedro or, further along the coast Estepona. Again - very very cheap on the bus!! Didn't check out the times of the buses as they come along every half hour so if you miss one, the next one won;t be long in coming along.

If you like walking - come out of the hotel at the side entrance near to the main pool and walk down to the beach - head along to the right and a half hour walk will take you to San Pedro. However, if you want to go shopping in San Pedro you need to take a right off the prom walk when you get to San Pedro. The wee centre is about 20 minute walk inland. If you walk along the beach in the opposite direction you will come to Puerto Banus. A shorter walk than San Pedro and very nice wandering along the harbour admiring the boats!! Taxis to and from Puerto Banus around 6 Euros 50. A taxi to Marbella a bit pricier at around 16 Euros (plus tip).

So - plenty to do out and about without spending a fortune. Beach was good but price for 2 beds and umbrella was a bit pricey at 14 Euros!

Hope you enjoy as much as we did!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to superior room so didn't complain but our room (850) had no sun at all on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chunkofin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    252
    177
    73
    80
See reviews for
131
231
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

dont let horrible reviews put you off this hotel ,my friend and i have just come back from this hotel,we have traveled all over the world we holiday 4 times per year and we loved it...the only thing i would change is an update in the restaurant its looking a bit tired but the food is not to bad always something for every one available we went all inclusive it was great, we hardly spent any money.....the grounds are fantastic no high rise buildings a little chapel...very clean comfy beds your near puerto banus a walk along the beach to get there with stunning views .....will be going back in the spring.....thank you to helpful staff.....Jane & Lynn Roberts x

Room Tip: get a balcony and ask for rooms that are not facing main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janie0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed here with a friend for three nights after we had travelled out to Marbella for a wedding at the end of sept 2012.

We booked back in February and got a really good deal staying bed and breakfast.
I had read some pretty awful reviews on here after id booked and to be honest i was worried about our stay in case it was awful!

But I can honestly say it was fine!
The hotel is nice-maybe a little tired but still fine all the same. The gardens are lovely and when we arrived and checked in we found the reception staff very nice and friendly.

Our room was 807 which was a bit of a walk but we were given a map and found it without any problems.
The room was clean and very big, I had booked a twin standard room and wasn't expecting much but it was in fact very nice.
We had a dressing table, sofa and coffee table plus tv, a large wardrobe and lots draw space for clothes.

The bathroom was also big and had two sinks, shower over the bath and essentials like mini toothbrush/paste, soap, shower cap, shower gel, nail file and shaving kit.

We had a lovely view from our balcony over looking a cobbled courtyard and we had very comfy wicker furniture with a glass coffee table-much nicer then the plastic chairs some hotel provide on the balcony.

The room maybe could have done with a lick of paint but it was really fine.
The air con wasn't that great but we didn't really need it on as it wasn't really hot while we were staying, there was a ceiling fan which we did use, but I'm not sure how good it would be if you were staying mid summer?!

The main restaurant was ok, lots to choose from at breakfast, cereal, fruit, toast, pastries, and bacon/eggs etc which was nice.
I didn't see any horrible looking food! All seemed fresh and restaurant was clean.

The pool was ok, some broken tiles but nothing else wrong, the sun beds where really good, nice mesh ones which are more comfy then plastic ones and there was plenty of parasols.
The sun beds where mainly on grass around the pool-personally I would've preferred it to be more tiled around the pool as the grass was soggy and a little muddy under foot-but there had been a lot of rain the during the week before we had arrived so that's probably why.

Reception staff we found were helpful, always ordered a taxi for us and were pleasant.
We didn't use the hotel bar, but we did eat at the pool bar one lunch time and its was ok, food not that exciting-chips, burgers etc but it was ok.

Our friend got married at a nearby villa on the Saturday which was beautiful!

On the Sunday eve we headed into puerto banus and had a lovely meal and a few cocktails over looking the harbour with its amazing boats, designer shops and very expensive cars!!
It wasn't overly busy anywhere but I can imagine the during the summer it is.
We found drinks fairly expensive ( 10.50€ to 21€ for cocktails! Ouch!) so if staying for longer then a weekend and planning to go out drinking lots take plenty of money!
Our main meal was around 14€ each and the cheapest bottle of wine was 18€.

We booked flights with easyjet and hotel separately so didn't have an airport transfer.
A taxi from airport to our hotel would have been very expensive (80-90€) but we got the bus (coach) to Marbella bus station (6€ each and 45 min journey) then got a taxi to the hotel from there (9€)
The bus stop is easy to find as its right in front of airport arrivals, and there's a bus every 45 mins up until midnight I think.
You just purchase the ticket from the driver and put your luggage in the hold underneath the coach.

So on the whole the hotel was fine (no cockroaches seen!!!) clean, good size rooms, ok food and nice pool etc.
Yes, I have stayed in better hotels when travelling with my husband, but for the price my friend and I paid it was great! (96€ each for three nights B&B!)

I think the some people may have much higher expectations for what they have paid for sometimes!

I would happily stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the pool or gardens and not the main road!! As there is a very main roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetsetters2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south lanarks
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I always check tripadvisor before booking a holiday and this hotel looked beautiful but had very mixed reviews at the time of booking. I decided to take a chance but the closer the holiday came the worse the reviews were getting so I was really worried by the time my partner and I arrived.
Firstly I have to say reception staff were efficient and polite, we arrived around midnight and a night watchman opened up the dining area so we could have a snack and bottle of water.
Our room was a very large double with a lovely balcony with nice padded wicker chairs and coffee table overlooking a pretty court yard, there was also a little balcony at the other side of the room overlooking the small pool. Large bathroom with shower, bath and bidet.
We were very pleased with the room, yes I'm sure it could have done with a wee touch up here and there but that would be bit picky to complain about it.
Rooms were cleaned everyday, lovely crisp white sheets think the towels were the original ones from when hotel was built so had seen better days but were changed daily.
There is two pools, one small with a wooden pergola over it, this was used for massages etc although I never saw anyone in it throughout the week. There is only a few loungers at this pool so its very peaceful except that its outside reception and diningroom.
The large pool has a small divided area for children its very nice and we found it very peaceful. All the bathing/lounging areas are on grass there are no tiled areas so can be abit damp underfoot first thing in the morning.
The main dining area was used for all meals, main lounge was only open in the evenings and pretty sedate. Pool bar served snacks at lunchtime but you had to pay for these.
There is also a beach bar five minute walk down the road, this again you have to pay for, drinks food and use of the loungers on the beach (14 euro for 2 people). We thought this was rather expensive but its even more expensive towards Puerto Banus.
Food was okay but nothing wonderful, 4 day break would be fine but we found it getting too restricting after a few days. Breakfast was cereal, yoghurt, cheese and meats as you would expect, lots of baked goods, crusty breads and always hot selection as well.
Lunch was probably our favourite meal, salads, usually some pasta dishes, meat and there was always paella. You helped yourself to wine at lunch, juice or beer in the evening the waitress would pour you a glass when you eventually caught her attention, I have to say my glass was never topped up throughout the meal.
There is a bus stop right outside the hotel, so if you fancy a trip into Marbella or can't face the walk into Banus its handy. Depending on the bus its either 1.18 or 1.23 euro into Marbella central. coming home its a bit more difficult we ended up getting back to Banus and taking a taxi to hotel which is about 7 euro. Hotel is nearer San Pedro than Banus.
If getting a bus home look for number 27 or 78. There are 2 timetables at the stops, main bus line is L1, L6 etc the timetable for the 27 and 78 tends to be on a different lamp post.
It's a beautiful area, lovely weather and some spectacular looking villas, yachts etc obviously it can make dining out or going for a wee drink bit expensive..
We had a lovely holiday but was happy we hadnt booked for 2 weeks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank destressed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saftesbury Dorset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We returned from there on the 2nd Oct 2012. The hotel is fabulous, very clean and the gardens are spectacular. The rooms are cleaned every day and the food is very good. The beach bar was a bit of a walk and we did not see any water sports.This bar was the only bar in any direction for at least 2 miles around the hotel and the hotel bars closed at 11.30 at night. They advertise an al a cart resturant but we never found it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Walsham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great place to stay, rooms very clean ,breakfast was great but a bit greasy.
are room was a good size tv fridge act cleaned very well at all times, the hotel has wifi (pay for) but does not have great range .
easy walk to town or by bus.
the port is a must ... enjoy

Room Tip: the rooms we looked at all looked cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERBY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Hotel location justifies all inclusive.Nothing to see for half hour walk in either direction on front.Bar service average,both bars shut 11:30pm when open.Our room 711 2nd floor was excellent but the rest of hotel facilities average.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOLFNUTDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.5 mi away
H10 Andalucia Plaza
H10 Andalucia Plaza
#1 of 1 in Nueva Andalucia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,112 reviews
1.4 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
NH Marbella
NH Marbella
#17 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
0.8 mi away
Benabola Hotel & Apartments
Benabola Hotel & Apartments
#2 of 3 in Puerto Banus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.8 mi away
PYR Marbella Hotel
PYR Marbella Hotel
#36 of 71 in Marbella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBay Banus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Banus

Property: BlueBay Banus
Address: Carretera Cadiz Km 173, 29660, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BlueBay Banus 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, BlueBay Hotels & Resorts, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your BlueBay Banus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rincon Andaluz
Rincon Andaluz Marbella
Riu Rincon Andaluz
Rincon Andaluz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing