We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Bay is on its own”
Review of BlueBay Banus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BlueBay Banus
Ranked #38 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Saftesbury Dorset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Blue Bay is on its own”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We returned from there on the 2nd Oct 2012. The hotel is fabulous, very clean and the gardens are spectacular. The rooms are cleaned every day and the food is very good. The beach bar was a bit of a walk and we did not see any water sports.This bar was the only bar in any direction for at least 2 miles around the hotel and the hotel bars closed at 11.30 at night. They advertise an al a cart resturant but we never found it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    260
    188
    77
    82
See reviews for
139
245
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Walsham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great place to stay, rooms very clean ,breakfast was great but a bit greasy.
are room was a good size tv fridge act cleaned very well at all times, the hotel has wifi (pay for) but does not have great range .
easy walk to town or by bus.
the port is a must ... enjoy

Room Tip: the rooms we looked at all looked cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERBY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Hotel location justifies all inclusive.Nothing to see for half hour walk in either direction on front.Bar service average,both bars shut 11:30pm when open.Our room 711 2nd floor was excellent but the rest of hotel facilities average.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOLFNUTDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just returned from a long weekend at this hotel (4 days / nights). Loved the layout of this place - built like a little village and all low rise buildings - and the fact that it wasn't a soulless concrete mass is a big plus. Room allocated on arrival was a bit disappointing - a good sized double but without a balcony or a terrace, and in that kind of sunny climate some private outside space is essential for me. Got a room transfer after 2 nights though (hotel fully booked out), and new room fitted the bill just fine. There are a fair few rooms at this venue without outside space, so if this is an essential for anyone else, be warned! Check your booking specifies what you will get.

All communal areas like the pools, bars and restaurant are well maintained and I found the staff to be pleasant and accommodating. We were all inclusive, and food standard and choice was absolutely fine, likewise with the drinks. The only confusing thing for me was the BlueBay Banus beach club. Not a part of the actual main complex itself, although it looks like that from pictures, and all inclusive does not extend to here which seems a bit unreasonable.

This is a peaceful place to be which fitted the bill for me (aged 41 3/4 having a wee break not a main holiday) but heard some of the younger crowd complain it was too quiet. Entertainment at hotel is a bit hit or miss, but then again, I was there toward the end of the season so maybe a different story at the peak times? Having never been to this part of Spain before, I went into Marbella for a few hours on one day, and Banus centre for a few hours on another day. Not so fussed for Marbella, but Banus is gorgeous. Public transport is cheap and easy for both, but there is barely a passing nod to the timetables so it is just your luck about whether you wait 5 minutes or 45 minutes.

I would happily return to this hotel for a short break or a week at most.

Room Tip: Make sure the room you have booked has a balcony or terrace, as there are many rooms that have neith...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kazdeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have just arrived home from a brilliant 5 days staying at BlueBay Banus with a group of young girls. I felt the need to write a review of this hotel as I was worried before going on holiday after reading the reviews on here, I think the people who are moaning about this hotel just the type of people who enjoy a good moan to be honest!

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and always assisted with our requests with a smile, what more can you ask for? The hotel grounds are lovely and I did not see one cockroach during our stay.......the rooms are big and spacious and the beds comfy. Bathroom clean and lovely powerful shower in our room.

The food was ok, they have a good selection and you will not go hungry if you are on the All Inclusive option, you pretty much have constant access to food! The drinks are also ok, although please avoid the cocktails that come from the machine (toxic!!). The beer is very nice, and the vodka is fine. All the soft drinks are the branded variety, i.e. fanta, sprite, coca cola.

The pool is lovely and they have always got some kind of activities going on. The beach is about a 5 minute walk down the road and is also lovely.

Would highly recommend Puerto Banus for it's nightlife and if you are going as a group of girls you will definitely be looked after by the promotions staff, free drinks and even free bottles are up for offer! If you are planning on going out of an evening in Banus I would suggest a taxi as it is a bit of a walk especially in heels!! Taxi fare varied but was around 8 Euros on average.

Over all a lovely holiday in a lovely hotel, so please do not let the bad reviews on here put you off!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suziblanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lytham st annes
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I felt I had to write as reading some of the reviews on here after already booking I went with some trepidation but I'm pleased to say that my fears weren't realised. I do believe some people aren't happy unless they're complaining about something or other, and usually if you treat people as you wish to be treated yourself you will get the same back. Upon arrival the reception staff were helpful and friendly and explained in detail the location of the room etc, obviously you expect to take your luggage their yourself for the price you pay. The grounds were lovely, really well maintained as was the pool area. As for cockroaches, I had read about this and requested an upper room in a quiet area, and my request was granted, but lets face it, it's a hot country so roaches are to be expected unfortunately. The food wasn't bad, the staff were very busy, but all very pleasant. If you make an effort to speak Spanish the staff appreciate it - to be honest I heard everyone ordering drinks etc in English - why should we expect everyone to speak English in their country, when the Spanish come to England they don't expect everyone to speak Spanish.
All in all, I had a great week, would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniej70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Before I booked this hotel I saw very mixed reviews so I was unsure on how it would all work out. I have two main issues with this hotel- it is like a nursery school playground for Spanish children and the beach is BARELY sand. It is mostly pebbles.

The benefits are the lovely grounds. Nice walk ways with trees and flowers. The pools are clean with good size. Beach bar staff are exceptional and beach bar has beautiful layout and views. Please note it is about a 5 min walk to beach bar. Definitely pay the extra fee for superior room- they are very big with comfy beds.

However, I did have to complain about the sheets not being changed- that was worrying.

Puerto banus is far better than Marbella for food and nightlife! Beautiful place, marina, bars, beaches etc!

Overall, the hotel is TRYING and mostly succeeding! As long as you are not one of these travellers who moans about everything and anything then you will certainly enjoy it.

If you are on a tight budget I will recommended. Otherwise, go somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLover600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.5 mi away
H10 Andalucia Plaza
H10 Andalucia Plaza
#1 of 1 in Nueva Andalucia
2,166 reviews
1.4 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 70 in Marbella
1,622 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 70 in Marbella
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
PYR Marbella Hotel
PYR Marbella Hotel
#34 of 70 in Marbella
549 reviews
2.1 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,293 reviews
0.8 mi away
Benabola Hotel & Apartments
Benabola Hotel & Apartments
#1 of 3 in Puerto Banus
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBay Banus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Banus

Property: BlueBay Banus
Address: Carretera Cadiz Km 173, 29660, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BlueBay Banus 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, BlueBay Hotels & Resorts, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your BlueBay Banus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rincon Andaluz
Rincon Andaluz Marbella
Riu Rincon Andaluz
Rincon Andaluz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing