We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value close to Puerto Banus”
Review of BlueBay Banus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BlueBay Banus
Ranked #38 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Value close to Puerto Banus”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I read previous reviews of this hotel and had reservations about coming, but due to the fact that we booked late we were limited to hotels we could book in our price range.

I followed suggestions and requested that the hotel put us in a room on the top floor away from noise to make sure we would not encounter any cockroaches or traffic noise. That was the best thing we could have done. Our room was great, it was very clean....and we did not see one cockroach in our room. We were also overlooking a small square and to the right was the main pool but trees provided a sound barrier.

If the hotel updated their rooms they could be something special. The property grounds were absolutely beautiful. There are lots of wildlife and insects due to the gardens and I think that is the reason for so many encounters with cockroaches ...I saw people on the first floors leaving their doors open, and I saw two cockroaches on the road ouside of the hotel so I can see how they could get into the rooms.

We stayed at the beginning of July for 5 days and it was extremely busy...if you wanted a bed by the pool you had to put a towel on it early at like 8 am to save the seat. But we went to the beach nearby and enjoyed that way more, it was less crowded and a 5 to 10 minute walk from the hotel. What was nice is you got a discount for the beds on the beach for staying at the hotel at 5 euros per person. You also get to order drinks from the Blue Bay beach club which the staff brought to you on the beach which was very nice.

Service at the hotel was fine, the issue is the hotel is so crowded that the staff is overworked, but even the staff helping with breakfast kept a smile although it was so many people to serve and they workin hard to keep up with all the people. We had breakfast included...there were many choices from fruit to eggs to bacon and sausage, but the quality was not good, although the food was edible. I would not eat all inclusive its just too many people and the food was not good enough. We enjoyed all of the other choices of great restaurants in Puerto Banus and Marbella.

Puerto Banus was about a 20 minute walk away and there is plenty to do there. There is a great cocktail bar there (havana club). Or you can walk in hour (or take a car, like we did) to Marbellas ports and beaches, food there is less expensive and there are more choices. If you get the chance go to Da Brunos, there is one on the boardwalk and another on the golden mile (which is even better) the food is absolutely delicious and reasonable priced and next door is a great wok place with a buffet for 15 euros per peron and they will make the food for your fresh.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up and away from the main pool and main road are quieter and ours was free of insects.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Purtygirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    258
    188
    77
    82
See reviews for
138
244
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel from 5th July to 12th July 2012. There is no way it is a 4 star! maybe a 3 and that's very generous. Staff attitudes were strange ...inconsistent, rude and just ignored you...however I believe this was because the hotel was very full but extremely under staff...We did meet some staff who were very helpful,polite and eager to please but this was the minority. The rooms were large but definitely not a good standard...the hotel needs a serious revamp...towels old, furniture dated in the foyer, dirty cups, glasses left for ages before being cleated, bath towels were hand towels...we stayed in a room with a balcony and also had visitors - pigeons nesting CDs were randomly place to distract them but this did not work. We rarely sat on the balcony due to been worried about droppings. We regularly had to ask for this area to be cleaned. I could go on for ever but I am sure you get the idea. Hotel state it's located near central Marbella town but is actually a bus ride away and the the hotel is on a dual carriageway.... it is in a very poor location with limited amenities around...

Room Tip: Unable to comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frankie6391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marbella hotels

Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Don't go by the picture of the pool and serene looking atmosphere because what greets you on arrival are howling babies and people crawling out of every nook and cranny! There is no "rest & relaxation" happening here. The hotel was heavily over booked owing to the peak season, which was understandable, but it was so badly understaffed that it was inexcusable!
The room was ok, large but quite dated and room service was not very efficient either. Considering it was so far from civilization and without any service they could atleast put a kettle in there.
This hotel does not deserve a 4 star rating. In my entire stay of 3 days I only encountered 4 staff members. The reception behaved as if they were doing us a favour by checking us in. The staff was rude and inefficient.
We had to lug all of our stuff to our room which was at the very back of the hotel and on the 2nd floor in the sweltering heat. Upon arrival the airconditioning did not work. Calling the reception was a joke, after trying their number repeatedly for 20mins no one picked up.
They were not able to connect to international outgoing calls, neither was the staff helpful with incoming calls (I doubt they even had an operator). I missed 2 very important calls due to their incompetency and when I asked if there were any calls they promptly lied by saying there were none! They refused to connect incoming calls citing they had 600 guests, then they ought to hire more people! Appaling!!!
Do not go here if you are looking to enjoy a dream weekend, this was a nitemare of no service!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eshaa_Venkatesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

As a group of 8 girls going on a hen do the Blue Bay Banus seemed like the perfect hotel. Close to the strip, lovely grounds and reasonably priced.
While there the hotel staff were pleasant and the food was good with decent sized rooms.
On our check out the hotel Manager demanded we pay 50euros per room due to the amount of noise that we had created. At no point during our 3 night stay did any hotel employees ask us to keep the noise down so this demand for money was a shock. This condition was no where in the hotels contract and we were not made aware of this before we paid for the hotel. When refusing to pay for the noise the manager advised he would then call the police and the taxi would not take us to the hotel. As we were running late as it was we had to pay the total 100 Euros. I believe this is a scam to get money out of guests and that the hotel and the taxi company work together.
My friend has already made a comment in which the manager replied saying the police had been called on us and we broke the furniture which is complete lies.
If you go to this hotel please think twice as they may try and scam you out of your holiday money on your check out.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Soffia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lothian
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My friend has separately written a review about this hotel - Julie L - we stayed for a weekend to celebrate our 2 best friends hen doo. Hotel was clean, food was nice and cocktails were delicious. We had a great time until it was time to leave.

We were told upton check out that we had to pay a 100 euro fine for noise ... We had not been made aware at any point during our stay that there were issues with noise levels so this a complete shock and we refused to pay. We had booked a taxi to take us to the airport and the driver refused to take us unless we paid 100 euros - as we were already running late and no taxi ranks close by, we had not choice but to pay.

I strongly believe this was a complete scam and would not recommend anyone to visit this hotel for this reason only. The manager was completely rude and took advantage of 8 young woman.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WestLothianCheryl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I wouldn't normally leave a review on here however, having read some of the previous comments I feel strongly enough to do so. I'm not sure what people expect for £35 per night half board. The food selection was great with something for everyone. The pool area always had beds to spare so no need to be up at the crack of dawn to reserve with your towel. Staff really friendly and rooms basic but very clean. I have travelled to many places and stayed in different stars of hotel however value for money here is fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

my friend booked this hotel for my stag do there were nine of us with 3 triple rooms and could not have much to complain about we were all inclusive which the hotel has now started doing, the booze was a bit rough but we did not drink to much of what they were serving us (if you get what i am saying). food was ok big selection nothing that was very exciting but ok served the purpose. Pool areas were very nice dissappointed the gym has been removed. At the cost though it was well worth the money would definately return and not just on a stag.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidd1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.5 mi away
H10 Andalucia Plaza
H10 Andalucia Plaza
#1 of 1 in Nueva Andalucia
2,159 reviews
1.4 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 70 in Marbella
1,621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 70 in Marbella
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
PYR Marbella Hotel
PYR Marbella Hotel
#34 of 70 in Marbella
549 reviews
2.1 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,291 reviews
0.8 mi away
Benabola Hotel & Apartments
Benabola Hotel & Apartments
#1 of 3 in Puerto Banus
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBay Banus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Banus

Property: BlueBay Banus
Address: Carretera Cadiz Km 173, 29660, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BlueBay Banus 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, BlueBay Hotels & Resorts, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your BlueBay Banus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rincon Andaluz
Rincon Andaluz Marbella
Riu Rincon Andaluz
Rincon Andaluz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing