We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museo del Bonsai

Museo del Bonsai
Ranked #22 of 91 things to do in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

For those who are into Bonsai this is a real find. For the casual visitor there are no guides and no substantial information,and no gift shop. But there are sufficient trees in this collection to get people hooked. The surrounding gardens and lake at the top of the park are nicely done.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    41
    31
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fulham central london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Regular Visitors Valerie + David”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very unusual venue totally unexpected in Spain. Spent more time there than was originally planned because of how different it was.
Recommended

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank littlebisaacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The gardens outside are better than the Museum.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This bonsai museum is very small, you could be in and out in 20 minutes, but my husband and I really enjoyed the gardens outside of the museum which anyone can visit, we loved watching the geckos, birds and terrapins. If your staying in Marbella it is worth a walk up the hill to have a look at the gardens but you may be disappointed by the Musuem, then again how exciting can a bonsai museum be? You may as well have a look after all its a hard walk up to the gardens in the midday heat, so whist your there, why not.
We visited the museum peak season but we were the only ones there. Very peaceful.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Course Needs TLC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We are avid golfers and understand that resort courses are different from pro/tournament courses. However, this course needs quite a bit of attention and up-keep. The tee boxes and greens are not in good shape. However, the quaint clubhouse, staff and food are very good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank goldlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

This museum is tucked away at the edge of the old town - the opposite end from the sea. We went because it was raining (yes bad weather for us in the capital of sun) but the rain did us a favour.

Really enjoyed wandering around the gardens outside and even more enjoyed the museum itself. The water gardens and plants were beautiful and sparse as only bonsai can be.

A peaceful and green place to be - away from the hustle and bustle of the old town and the beach.

If you don't linker you could run run in half an hour - but we spent a couple of hours enjoying the details of the building, the plants, the water and the combinations of shapes and designs.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Annabel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo del Bonsai also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Museo del Bonsai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing