We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Ranked #18 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel in a great location!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

My best friend and I stayed at the Princesa Playa for 6 nights in May. We arrived around midnight and the check-in was seamless! The sea view room we were given was perfect for us, spacious balcony with table and chairs, plenty of wardrobe space and comfortable beds. Air con also in the room was lovely on some of the very hot days. Roof top pool area was a little small but we didnt mind. Plenty of sun loungers and pool big enough for a dip to cool down. Lovely terrace area on roof too where the hotel serves food but with the fabulous beach-front location of this hotel, there are many lovely bars, cafes and restaurants along the promenade facing the beach. We got a taxi into Puerto Banus most nights which cost €15. It was the same price to get a taxi to Nikki Beach too. Staff were very pleasant no matter what time of the day and our room was cleaned with towels changed daily. On our departure day, check out was 12 but we were able to store our luggage in reception. We then used the pool area for a few hours and were given towels to use the shower area behind reception to get ready for our flight home. This was the first holiday for my friend and I in 10 years and we couldnt have asked for a better hotel!! Muchas Gracias Princesa Playa!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mechele1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    384
    94
    23
    7
See reviews for
96
400
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asnieres-sur-Seine, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stay a week in this hotel and we do not regret it. it was a very good choice. The situation is very good : we were at the edge of the beach, walking distance from the old town, 10mn, and walking distance from the Marbella bus station, 35mn (if you take it to come from Malaga airport) . The rooms are ok and the good thing is that you have a little kitchen in it. You have plenty restaurants around, along the beach or in the old town. There is a little swimming pool (heated up) on the roof and a solarium. We went there every day because the beach were a little windy and the sea too cold.
If we have to go back to Marbella, we would return to this hotel.
The only bad point is that the buffet for breakfast is very expensive : 12.50€. We found a churreria pretty close and we could have a spanish breakfast for 11€ for 2 persons.

Room Tip: If you can ask for a room in the highest level, sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francoise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel at the end of May. My teenage children loved being close to the beaches, shops, cafes and restaurants - it was so easy to just walk everywhere. The Old Town was so much better than we had expected, with lots of gift shops, boutiques and fantastic restaurants. We enjoyed eating out every night, sitting watching the world go by. It felt safe and relaxed. Lots of families with younger children too. We hired bikes from just behind the hotel and cycled to Puerto Banus - an hours cycle ride on the flat promenade - lovely!! There is a great shopping centre with Zara, Mango, Pull and Bear, H & M etc at the back of Puerto Banus, worth a visit if you like clothes shopping!! Would definately come back to this hotel for a short break. The only downside was the pool was 'mobbed' in the afternoons with not enough sunchairs, so get there early!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyS67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 7 nights as we were invited to a family wedding.
The wedding was in the Church of la Encarnacion in the old town and it is a stunningly beautiful backdrop to any wedding. The old town is a charming maze of narrow cobbled streets, small plazas, kept spotlessly clean and bedecked with flowers and plants. The walk back through the streets from the church to the reception gave countless photo opportunities.
The location of this hotel is perfect as it is directly opposite the beach and only 5 minutes walk to the old town with all its shops bars and beautiful churches and chapels. Tip:- Make sure you bring plenty of money as the shops are just too tempting and we could have spent much more than we did, were it not for the luggage weight restrictions!
If you wander out of the reception and head left along the promenade you are spoilt for choice with hundreds of restaurants and bars. We tried many places over the week and never had a bad meal and everything from Hamburger and fries to fine dinning is available.
Our room was a decent size for the two of us and would easily sleep 4. The twin beds (we pushed them together were firm with good bed linen and we slept really well. The air-conditioning unit made little noise & we were soon became used to it. The bathroom had no bath but the shower was powerful and ran at a steady pressure and temperature. The kitchen was small and basic but if required you could whip up a small meal or snack. There were a good selection of cups, plates, bowls & cooking pans and most essentially there was a corkscrew to open the wine we were keeping cool in the fridge. The room was kept clean and tidy everyday, as were all the communal areas. The staff were all very friendly and those on reception spoke great English. The only slight let down to the place is the lack of WiFi in the rooms but I did not let this spoil our holiday.
Overall a great location, a great hotel and good value for money.

Room Tip: Most of the side facing rooms still have a fairly good view of the sea and you probably will not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fatman1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongsvinger, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were two couples,65+,who stayed for one week.The appartments were good,clean and quiet.The beds very good.The AC worked. We loved the pool on top of the hotel,very pleasant water temperature! Our flight home was late in the evening, but we could keep our luggage in a room behind the reception,where we also could have a shower with free soap and towels. We will surely come back to this Appartement hotel,not luxury, but very good value for money.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Location is amazing - right on the beach. Rooms with a sea view and twin/double beds are allocated on arrival. In our one bed apartment (room 507) we had twin beds which was a bit annoying for a couple but we did get the sea view so we couldn't really complain. The apt was fine, bedding was clean, bathroom was nice, good hot powerful shower (even with the leak in the hose), small balcony with chair. There was black out blinds in the bedroom and living room - which was great for getting a long sleep. But the place doesn't seem to have good sound-proofing. We could hear everything that was going on in the room above us. Tip - bring some ear plugs! The Kitchenette was compact but useful - only two rings on hob but that was enough for us. The decor of the apt is a bit dated but when you have such beautiful scenery outside who cares!! The staff were pleasant but not overly helpful. The major drawback is that there is no WiFi in the apt. There is WiFi in the lobby downstairs but would be better if it was in the apt. There is a sun terrace upstairs with sun loungers, a cafe and a small pool. The price we paid was amazing - we got over and above what we paid for taking everything into account.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank delmulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is deemed to be a 4* aparthotel, but it did not compare with other 4* places we have been to in the Canaries and Costa del Sol recently. Yes, it was beautifully located, but the actual 1-bedroom apartment was ordinary. The settee was desperately uncomfortable, there was no oven and only two heat rings, so self-catering was out. The bathroom had no bath or bidet, and the whole place felt austere.
Other comments about being dated are fair, and it was commendably clean, with nice reception staff. From what I understand (we felt €12.50 excessive) breakfast was modest. We tended to take croissants and coffee on the small balcony, but sadly the high floor corner position meant lots of wind.
We had a few little niggles on arrival - radiators that mysteriously came on when switched off, air-con that we couldn't work out, which actually was the result of a flat battery in the remote, a bathroom door that would not close, and an extractor fan that never went off in our 10 days. No, not major issues, but 4* - not really.
Another minor niggle was that I booked well in advance through Bookings.com, paying, I think €61 per night. People were arriving 'off the street' and were paying less, with breakfast thrown in. Perhaps these agencies aren't as cost-effective as we think?
There are no gardens or grounds to wander round on site, just the compact roof-top pool and lounge area beneath it. The Princesa Playa was decent, but not 4* standard.

Room Tip: Sea views are not bookable - we tried!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunderlandMackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
0.3 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
1.4 mi away
NH Marbella
NH Marbella
#17 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
3.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#14 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 71 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos

Property: Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#20 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princesa Playa Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing