We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Kongsvinger, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were two couples,65+,who stayed for one week.The appartments were good,clean and quiet.The beds very good.The AC worked. We loved the pool on top of the hotel,very pleasant water temperature! Our flight home was late in the evening, but we could keep our luggage in a room behind the reception,where we also could have a shower with free soap and towels. We will surely come back to this Appartement hotel,not luxury, but very good value for money.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    333
    80
    20
    6
See reviews for
80
339
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Location is amazing - right on the beach. Rooms with a sea view and twin/double beds are allocated on arrival. In our one bed apartment (room 507) we had twin beds which was a bit annoying for a couple but we did get the sea view so we couldn't really complain. The apt was fine, bedding was clean, bathroom was nice, good hot powerful shower (even with the leak in the hose), small balcony with chair. There was black out blinds in the bedroom and living room - which was great for getting a long sleep. But the place doesn't seem to have good sound-proofing. We could hear everything that was going on in the room above us. Tip - bring some ear plugs! The Kitchenette was compact but useful - only two rings on hob but that was enough for us. The decor of the apt is a bit dated but when you have such beautiful scenery outside who cares!! The staff were pleasant but not overly helpful. The major drawback is that there is no WiFi in the apt. There is WiFi in the lobby downstairs but would be better if it was in the apt. There is a sun terrace upstairs with sun loungers, a cafe and a small pool. The price we paid was amazing - we got over and above what we paid for taking everything into account.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank delmulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is deemed to be a 4* aparthotel, but it did not compare with other 4* places we have been to in the Canaries and Costa del Sol recently. Yes, it was beautifully located, but the actual 1-bedroom apartment was ordinary. The settee was desperately uncomfortable, there was no oven and only two heat rings, so self-catering was out. The bathroom had no bath or bidet, and the whole place felt austere.
Other comments about being dated are fair, and it was commendably clean, with nice reception staff. From what I understand (we felt €12.50 excessive) breakfast was modest. We tended to take croissants and coffee on the small balcony, but sadly the high floor corner position meant lots of wind.
We had a few little niggles on arrival - radiators that mysteriously came on when switched off, air-con that we couldn't work out, which actually was the result of a flat battery in the remote, a bathroom door that would not close, and an extractor fan that never went off in our 10 days. No, not major issues, but 4* - not really.
Another minor niggle was that I booked well in advance through Bookings.com, paying, I think €61 per night. People were arriving 'off the street' and were paying less, with breakfast thrown in. Perhaps these agencies aren't as cost-effective as we think?
There are no gardens or grounds to wander round on site, just the compact roof-top pool and lounge area beneath it. The Princesa Playa was decent, but not 4* standard.

Room Tip: Sea views are not bookable - we tried!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunderlandMackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Five stars for location, three for the hotel. I spent 4 days in Marbella to find a property to buy. For that reason the hotel was perfect! Good underground parking facilities (private, but you get cheaper price by saying you are the hotel guest and got a ticket for the whole period to drive in and out). A short walk to plenty of restaurants, the old city, shopping, everything!

Nice front desk staff and they speak good english. But don't trust their restaurant recommendations! At least I got recommended a very touristic restaurant with those plastic pictures of food, which should be enough to turn you around immediately.

The room was very clean and spacious for one person, a basic kitchenette with micro oven and fridge. Bring your own washing up liquid if you wish to was dishes, the cleaning person doesn't do it. A small grocery store just around the corner. A small bathroom with almost no amenities; only a soap and shampoo in a small bag which was impossible to open. Balkony was small and facing to the sea. First I enjoyed the constant sound of waves, then I got tired to it. Maybe it would be less noisy on the upper floors. No sound isolation in the rooms! Especially the noise from corridors was terrible when people were coming back in the middle of the night! They don't care a bit of others trying to sleep.

WiFi available only on the common area, very annoying! And a funny view, because sometimes the ground floor was full of people with their iPads, smart phones and laptops -and of course by that time WiFi was slowing down...

Breakfast was ok and I enjoyed the great view over the sea. Coffee from an automat and juice was concentrate. I went to see the pool, which was very small and not so inviting, I skipped to try it.

This hotel cannot be recommended to handicapped people, because you can't reach the restaurant or the roof top pool with an elevator.

Room Tip: Ask a room on the upper floors and NOT next to the elevator! Sea facing rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

great location - not expecting much in the line of luxury as very very reasonable for a four-night stay! staff at reception not overly helpful but pleasant enough. rooftop pool very small but adequate if not too busy. we stayed in a 1-bedroomed apartment which was supposed to be for four people - would have been very cramped. on our first morning we went to look at the pool and then enquired about breakfast as it was only served til 11 and it was just after it. very pleasant girl said it was finished but she could get us some fried eggs which was nice of her. however considering we hadn't availed of the full cooked buffet it was a bit steep @ 12.50 per head so needless to say we didn't partake of breakfast there again. all in all a very good location for exploring marbella a short walk to orange square and right across the road from the beach. great shopping centre la canada a taxi-drive away - well worth a look if you are hoping to have some retail therapy

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
Thank veggiefoodiedublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice professional staff that speak perfect English.

Hotel and rooms are dated but are well maintained and are clean.

Good location and a good base for walking the beach or going to the old town.

We had breakfast. Bring an appetite as it is €12.50 per person. It's fine. Nothing special.

Our room was very good value at €55 per night and as a result this is to be recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

When marketing hotel as an apartementos hotel, customer has a true cause to believe that the rooms are equipped as an apartementos should. Not only one kind of glass this, other of that etc. We came with a rental car, believing that a marketing promise "only few parking places, optional" means, that there's still some of them. Receptionist could only say, that if you find place from street, you can leave your car there and pay it daily. And still: There is a big parking house under the hotelproperty! "We have nothing to do with it!", said the receptionist. Just asking: "Why do you not?". Should you have, because it was quite easy to negotiate a moderate price fot the week, should it be your cup of tea to do this negotiation, not for you but for your customers. For the service at all, five points to the young male receptionist for trying and kindness, for you others much less. Good morning, hola, buenos diaz for the customers is much more than your papers on your desk. Believe me, been a hotel GM for over 25 years... If your pool is open and you say, that you can get extra towels there, its also a marketing promise, None! Not even a person to ask for them.

Room Tip: If you need the apartment equips, ask those beforehand. When you are there it's nothing to do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rezi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
0.3 mi away
La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel
1.4 mi away
NH Marbella
NH Marbella
#16 of 73 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 stars 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 73 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 stars 1,353 reviews
2.3 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos

Property: Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#20 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princesa Playa Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing