We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Extrastars brought from the Milkyway?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Extrastars brought from the Milkyway?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

When marketing hotel as an apartementos hotel, customer has a true cause to believe that the rooms are equipped as an apartementos should. Not only one kind of glass this, other of that etc. We came with a rental car, believing that a marketing promise "only few parking places, optional" means, that there's still some of them. Receptionist could only say, that if you find place from street, you can leave your car there and pay it daily. And still: There is a big parking house under the hotelproperty! "We have nothing to do with it!", said the receptionist. Just asking: "Why do you not?". Should you have, because it was quite easy to negotiate a moderate price fot the week, should it be your cup of tea to do this negotiation, not for you but for your customers. For the service at all, five points to the young male receptionist for trying and kindness, for you others much less. Good morning, hola, buenos diaz for the customers is much more than your papers on your desk. Believe me, been a hotel GM for over 25 years... If your pool is open and you say, that you can get extra towels there, its also a marketing promise, None! Not even a person to ask for them.

Room Tip: If you need the apartment equips, ask those beforehand. When you are there it's nothing to do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rezi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    333
    80
    20
    5
See reviews for
80
338
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, West Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Like a trip back to 1990! Yellow walled corridors with fake onyx and gold pillars and red patterned carpets with gold grippers in reception. However the rooms are spotless and the location is perfect. Staff very helpful. This seems to be a Thomas Cook and other travel companies hotel. We would return no problems.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 234Darren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Here is a very good address for a comfortable stay in Marbella. Right in the center of the town, on the Paseo Maritimo and a short walk from the Old Town.
Great service of the housekeeping. In the apartments, also provide for the collection of waste, already organized in a very comfortable way.Free Wifi, but only in the reception area.
Anyway, a valuable alternative to the many hotels in Marbella.

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms are sea facing, but they are not always the largest. Specify at time of boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LOSTINTOWN-Roma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We rented a suite for one week during the March break. We found the suite to be good value for the money. The bed was large, and the unit very clean and housekeeping came everyday and kept it that way. The unit came with a small fridge, a small stove, microwave, tv and sitting/dining room. Our room overlooked the sea and the boardwalk and we spent some time on the balcony enjoying the sun. The staff was very helpful and we took day trips from the hotel to Ronda and Gibraltar. They are both about an hour away and the bus is the best way to go. The costs varies, so check with the desk staff in the lobby. There is wifi in the lobby but not on the rest of the floors. There is a PC in the lobby that you can use 1 euro=20 min. Laundry services are available, buy the tokens at the front desk. The laundry is on the 6th floor. You cannot use the facilities before 10:30 am and not after 11:00 pm. The location is excellent and we went on many walks down the beach and along the boardwalk. There is a grocery store right next to the hotel and it is open 365 days a year. Breakfast is available in the hotel for 12 Euros a day per person. There are lots of cafes and restaurants in Marbella. It is a very safe small town. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CanadaHumblepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful 4 night break with friends.This hotel is situated in an ideal location with all amenities within walking distance. The walkway that runs adjacent to the sea has a selection of restaurants and coffee shops. It was so relaxing having breakfast with the sound of the sea so close. Also it is only 5 mins walk to the Old Town where there is a good selection of shops, and a large choice of restaurants in the square which were reasonably priced. We did not have one bad meal throughout our stay. Marbella feels a safe and friendly place to be, and the little narrow streets around the square are a delight. The hotel was lovely, rooms being cleaned daily to a high standard. There is no cooker in the room, but there is a sink, table & chairs, hob, fridge, toaster,cutlery and crockery. We kept a selection of food and wine in the fridge for a snack mid-day if we were eating out in the evening. When we decided to take a trip, but were not sure where to catch the bus, Miguel on reception was most helpful and gave us a map, marking out where to catch the bus both ways, which number to get, and places of interest. All in all a very enjoyable relaxing stay, and we will hopefully be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wow - this place was cheap. Though the decor is dated and campy, the hotel and rooms were very clean and well maintained. The location is FANTASTIC - right on the beach and a few steps away from old town. The crowd here is older and there are many tour groups with older folks - be warned - this is not a hot, young, hip hotel. But it's bright pastel palettes and carpeted stairs give it a dated decadent art-deco feel that made me smile. Did I mention it was cheap?

WIFI: There is a moderately effective WiFi open signal in the lobby.

LOCATION: The location is great - beach in the front-yard and old town in the back. A leisurely stroll in one direction will take you to the markets and cafes for a local experience. A walk down the promenade will plunge you into the tourist-frequented shops and restaurants. Across the street and around the corner, old town beckons. Princesa is close to the expressway and in a well-maintained and safe area.

PARKING: The parking is a pain. Princesa does NOT provide parking so you are left to find street or garage parking. Garage parking is available relatively close but it is expensive. Our rental car was dented while parked in the area so take your chances. If you plan to keep it local - you can walk to anything you need from Princesa. If you plan to explore outside Marbella to Mijas or Gibralter - consider a day rate because when you factor in parking (and damages!) and TIME to find parking and walk back, it may not be worth it to have your car overnight. FYI - there is a Hertz rent-a-car a few blocks away well-within walking distance.

ROOM: I rented a studio - it was clean, well maintained and adequately furnished. The bathroom was petite but that it is to be expected in Europe. The kitchenette had most everything we needed including a stove-top, microwave, utensils, dishes, cooking instruments and most importantly - refrigerator and freezer. There was a petite balcony and you had to lean your head over the edge to see the sea - but it was there! Beware - all the balconies face each other and your next-door neighbors are closely quartered so don't expect privacy. Bed was comfortable. My studio was VERY quiet.

LINENS: Bed and bath linens were fine.

AMENITIES: There was a phone and whether you are charged or not depends on room. (I think some owners don't have phone service, some do and charge for local calls, others don't charge). TV of course with English-speaking channel access. Kitchenette as mentioned above. Typical small soaps, shampoos, etc. Wall-mounted hair-dryer. Basics were provided for but no fancy extras - which is to be expected. Typical small euro elevators - dreadfully slow but hey - ! - you're on vacation! Where do you have to be in a hurry?

SERVICE: I didn't require much. The room was well-cleaned every day and the front desk staff was polite. Their English was sufficient for the most part. There was one clerk who I had to speak Spanish with but all the others spoke enough English to get by. 24-hour desk.

POOL/RESTAURANT: I did not go to the pool and did not eat at the restaurant - sorry!

PRICE: Wowee wow wow wow~! The price was amazing. For what you get, Princesa is a great value for the location alone. It's not the most luxurious or most modern - but more than meets basic needs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahirciveen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Booked this hotel at foot of excellent reviews - beautiful views, sound of the sea etc. I got neither. I drew a room at the rear of the hotel from which the sea was not visible and the sun could not be found on either of the two balconies - the reason I went in the first place. I asked to change room - NO. Could I pay more and upgrade - NO. Could I possibly change after a few days when someone moved out. NO. This was management policy. I could of course go on to the roof which had a small pool and sun loungers for 20 persons - no more - So be warned. If you are booking this hotel you are in a lottery - if you are unlucky you will be viewing neighbouring apartments and will need to be agile to make the roof before a specific well known nationality. The apartment itself was fine and would suit people playing golf etc who would be out all day.

Room Tip: Get one facing sea or afternoon sun - not rear which does not get sunshine at any stage during day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank criticCahirciveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
0.3 mi away
La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel
1.4 mi away
NH Marbella
NH Marbella
#17 of 73 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 stars 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#4 of 73 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 stars 1,347 reviews
2.3 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos

Property: Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Address: Paseo Maritimo, s/n, 29600, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#20 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princesa Playa Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing