We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Cristobal
Ranked #23 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Oslo Norway Scandinavia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed here in April for two Nights and the service was very, very good. Friendly reception, and very helpful staff, also in the breakfast room . The room was rather cosy. Spacious bathroom. Breakfast good.

Room Tip: Room towards the old town to avoid traffic noice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linklater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josejuanaviles, Director General at Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear client,
your comments are nice and we are really proud of our service and staff.
Thanks very much.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    173
    93
    19
    9
See reviews for
65
202
41
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed here just for 2 days, but the service was so excelent, it was sad to leave the hotel. We asked if we could deposit couple of our bags a day before we checked in, and it was no problem at all. We have been staying in Marbella for 3 months and so ended up with double the bagages than what we arrived with. We were so afraid our bags would weigh more than 20kg, so we asked the manager Cristobal Yague if he can help us, and not only he found us a scale in the kitchen even helped us to carry the bags up one floor (no lift) to the weighing machine. We have traveled and stayed many hotels in our travel over years, but we must point out this hotel and the Niwa Hotel in Tokyo beats every other hotels. Thanks again to a very freindly hotel staff.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the old city are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fce270444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josejuanaviles, Director General at Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of your stay at the Hotel San Cristobal, Marbella.

Thank you also for mentioning how nice and helpful our staff were.

We hope that you will return to stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Just returned from this gem in Central Marbella. Situated on Marbellas Main Street within easy reach of the picturesque lanes and plazas of the old town which are a must to explore. Bus services leave to anywhere you could which to go from your doorstep and the beach and promenade are only short walk away.
Our rooms were on the 5th floor and were roomy, clean, comfortable (slept like a baby) and quiet. The staff are excellent, especially the 2 ladies on the reception desk who went above and beyond the call of duty, suggesting places to visit and giving us directions and travel info on how to get there. Thank you both so much.
With so many choices of places to eat nearby, we only ate once in the hotel and it wasn't great. Maybe it was just an off day.
All in all, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josejuanaviles, Director General at Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear guest,
thanks a lot for your review. Your comments are welcome and we are really happy to see that everithing was suitable during your stay at Hotel San Cristobal, Marbella.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a one week break staying at the Hotel San Cristobel.
You are always a little sceptic when booking a new hotel for the first time and I would have to say all of the positive comments we read on here prior to our holiday were absolutely true.
In particular the hotel staff are exceptionally friendly and anything you requested was never a problem. I cannot think of one thing we were not happy with bearing in mind it is a 3 star hotel.
For me I think the positives of our stay was the location, easy access to the beach and walking out the back door into the old town, also the arrangement the hotel have with the nearby supermarket for car parking (5 mins walk) at a very reasonable daily rate. We would like to thank in particular Susana on reception that spoke very good English and was on hand to give us lots of local advice.
Location, friendly and nice food on offer, but remember it’s a 3 star.
Happy times.
Trevor & Sandra

Room Tip: Depends what you want really, we had a front facing room with a sea view; it’s a sea view across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDFLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Juan A, Director General at Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear guest,

thanks a lot for your review at Tripadvisor about Hotel San Cristobal, Marbella.

It is a real pleasure to read that you liked the location of the hotel. I would also like to thank you for your positive comments as regards to the staff. I will personally share your feedback with the team members who will be glad to know that their efforts contributed to your enjoyable stay.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Superb hotel - well located. Stayed for a week and had no complaints. Room was clean and functional and my return flight wasn't until late evening and the hotel allowed me to have my room until 5pm without any extra charge. Location is great & I easily found the bus station (about 15 minutes walk from the hotel) so I could cheaply travel down to Gibraltar and explore that area. The WIFI in the hotel was fast and reliable which was a plus to keeo in contact with work and friends back in the UK.

I would easily stay in this hotel again if I travel back to the area.

Room Tip: Get a high floor but to be honest all the rooms are quite sound proofed and the black out curtains w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DYardEssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Juan A, Director General at Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for choosing the Hotel San Cristobal, Marbella for your recent stay. We are also very grateful that you are pleased to write and share this review for us.

We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel especially for our location from where our guests could easily access different places in Marbella.

Hopefully we would have another chance to serve you our best again in the future and add your experiences during your stay.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel is definitely the best to book if you want to be central to all that Marbella has to offer. With the Old town at the back of the hotel be sure to walk around the Orange Square - beautiful cafes, trees and ambiance. If you prefer more action and people then cross the road at the front of the hotel walk past the lovely fountain (lights up with different colours at night) and keep going down until you reach the seafront - lovely tapas bars and activity with lots going on all day, If you want to visit the fabulous Porto Banus then save money by going a few metres to the right of the front of the hotel, outside the Pharmacia there is a bus stop - get the "Porto Banus 1" bus and it is only about a euro and a half to get all the way to the main area. Walk around the marina and see the fancy designer shops. At night try Sinatras Bar and Linekers Bar - fabulous - great cocktails, great dancing and the night just gets better and better - end the evening looking at the wonderful stars in the sky!!!! Enjoy - we did!!! Only slight negative was the breakfast at the hotel - basic, no great fruit selection, just some cereal, hams and cheese - would have been wonderful if there were boiled eggs, tomatoes, nuts, yoghurts etc but you can't have it all - lots of breads and pastries if you like that and the coffee was good my friend tells me!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BOBBYSPARKLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Juan A, Director General at Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

I wanted to thank you for your kind comments on Tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay.

I’m really pleased to read that you had a very nice stay and you enjoyed to be in our Hotel San Cristobal, Marbella.

We think many guest will find all your comments really helpful, because yo describe properly all different activities guests in our hotel can do during their holidays.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from the hotel San Cristobel with a group of 18 girls for a hen party. We stayed here for 2 nights and for what we wanted it was fab!! Great Location, near the bars and restaurants with good bus links to Puerto Banus and other areas on the coast. It is basic but clean and the staff were excellent and very accommodating for all of the requests for our party, we couldn't of asked for more. I never had breakfast in the hotel but from what my friends said it was continental breakfast basic but did the job, however there are many many restaurants on the sea front and nearby that would offer a full English for €7. The hotel doesn't have a swimming pool which may be a problem for some in the main summer season however you would never get this location plus a pool!! All in all for what we wanted which was a central base from which to enjoy Marbella it was great but don't expect 4* luxury!!!! For the price you would pay for this hotel you can't fault it!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Craddock1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Juan A, Director General at Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review at Tripadvisor. Your feedback is very important to us.
Once again thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay at Hotel San Cristobal, Marbella.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lima Marbella
Hotel Lima Marbella
#24 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Faro
El Faro
#34 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Marbella
NH Marbella
#17 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Cristobal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Cristobal

Property: Hotel San Cristobal
Address: Avenida Ramon y Cajal 3, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Marbella
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Cristobal 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Marbella and 225 mts. from the Beach and the Sea promenade in front of the Alameda ParkShoping, restaurants,bars and Entertainment around the hotel not needing Vehicle.96 rooms (70% with terrace) redecorated between 2003 and 2007) complete bathroom, hair dryer ,telephone,satelite chanel TV, rental safe box, air conditioned and heating.Breakfast buffet. Lunch/dinner waiter service daily menu.Bar and meeting room 100 people with free WIFI.Over 800 private parking places 250 mts around hotel, the hotel owns a limited nº at special fare. Not suitable for phisically handicapped persons.Granted with “Q” Tourism Spanish autorities quality award and ISO14001 environmental management standard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Cristobal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencia San Cristobal Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing