We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Cristobal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel San Cristobal
Ranked #23 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This little gem is in a perfect location between the orange square and the beach in Marbella, I recently organised a party and booked 20 rooms here, I couldn't believe how friendly all the staff were and how reasonable the prices were, I will definitely use this hotel for my guests next year, everyone said how nice it was, and a cooked breakfast for the price, wow!!

Room Tip: Take the old town side as its much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules5520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    167
    92
    17
    9
See reviews for
63
196
37
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greece
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

For first time visiting Marbella is right to stay close by the old city of Marbella where you can eat ,drink etc ...properly but expensively!!!So that you have to book a hotel quite central...like the old one but OK "San Cristobal" hotel.Otherwise you might stay to a beach hotel if you can afford the very very expensive rates of the 4 or 5 stars hotels of the area...

Room Tip: high floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mak2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

This is the 5th time I have stayed at this Hotel with my partner and it is brilliant for what we need. The staff are friendly, the rooms are spacious and clean with free wifi and the breakfast is great. It's not luxurious by any means but for the €60 per night including breakfast you wouldn't expect it. The back of the building faces onto small Andalucian cobbled walkways which are quiet and the front of the building over looks the main road which is slightly noisy but also looks over Marbella square which isn't a bad trade off. The beach is a few minutes walk away as are all the shops and resteraunts. Overall, great hotel in a great location. We will be back again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pringy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This place could seriously not have a better location: in the heart of the old town, 3 minute walk to beach, 3 minute walk to grocery store (Super Sol). It is in a very noisy area and is noisy at night but for us the noise level was fine. Free breakfast. The breakfast was not super exciting but all I usually have is yoghurt and muesli anyways so it was fine for that. The coffee at breakfast comes out of a machine and was disgusting. I kept asking the waiter if they had any fresh coffee and he just kept pointing to the machine. I quickly came to realize that the market (super sol) has a coffee bar in the from where you can get cafe con leche to go for .70 Euro. All of the rooms have wifi, safes (ours didnt work), and balconies. We could see the sea from our balcony (just barely) and had a front row seat to allof the "semana santa" (easter week) processionals/parades. The rooms are basic but clean and the matressess are tolerable. Parking nearby is a bit pricey but if you drive for a while up the hill where the white lines are you can park for free.
BTW- The people that work here do NOT speak English. I got by on my mediocre Spanish but beware all ye non-Spanish speakers!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank guslovesdisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just returned from 5 day break to marbella, unfortunately the weather was the worst they have had in marbella for years in march, it rained every day! However the hotel has great location close to old town and to local transport links. The rooms are little dated but has all you need and is clean, room 503 had great balcony so if weather was good it would be ideal. A little traffic noise but we were at back of hotel looking at mountains so not too bad. Breakfast is buffet which was ok. Didn't eat in restaurant as loads of nice places to eat close by. A few minutes walk to beach too. Went to puerto banus which had good bars and shops, a little more expensive to eat and drink here. All in all would definitely return to this hotel however in the warmer weather.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Juan A, Director General at Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guest,
We are really happy to read that everything was good during your stay.
Just we would like to point out that we are refurbishing all the rooms, and we hope to finish them very soon.

Thanks you very much and hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcaidesa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

The quality of the hotel is better on the pictures than in reality. More than it usually is.
Receptionist does not speak any English.
The quality of the furniture could be better. Bed broke when I put my arm on it. And I am not overweight.
Management sent me now the request for recommending them here on Tripadvisor with the link.
They sent it first in Spanish, then in English. Two emails with all other customers cc:ed!!!
Where is the privacy? They should know what bcc (secret copy) is!
The location of the hotel is good. The price could be slightly lower. The breakfast is poor.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dima D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Juan A, Director General at Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion.
I would like to apologize for all the inconveniences caused during your stay with us.

First of all we understand your disappointment with the way the e-mail was sent. We always send one email per guest, but by mistake this time we send several at the same time without secret copy. We are completely sure this is not going to happen again.

Regarding the furniture in your room, we would like to mention that the problem was already solved.

Finally we hope that the problem to speak in English with one of our receptionists were a specific problem, because almost everyone speaks English.

I really hope to have the chance to talk about all your comments with you in person sometime in the nearly future.

Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Clean and comfy in great location for old town, beach and shops. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast fine with good choice overall very good . Rooms slightly dated but good size and really clean. Excellent choice of restaurants very nearby

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dickie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lima Marbella
Hotel Lima Marbella
#24 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
0.2 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Faro
El Faro
#31 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Marbella
NH Marbella
#17 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Cristobal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Cristobal

Property: Hotel San Cristobal
Address: Avenida Ramon y Cajal 3, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Marbella
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Cristobal 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Marbella and 225 mts. from the Beach and the Sea promenade in front of the Alameda ParkShoping, restaurants,bars and Entertainment around the hotel not needing Vehicle.96 rooms (70% with terrace) redecorated between 2003 and 2007) complete bathroom, hair dryer ,telephone,satelite chanel TV, rental safe box, air conditioned and heating.Breakfast buffet. Lunch/dinner waiter service daily menu.Bar and meeting room 100 people with free WIFI.Over 800 private parking places 250 mts around hotel, the hotel owns a limited nº at special fare. Not suitable for phisically handicapped persons.Granted with “Q” Tourism Spanish autorities quality award and ISO14001 environmental management standard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel San Cristobal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencia San Cristobal Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing