We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing good except from location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Cristobal
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Alcaidesa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing good except from location”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The quality of the hotel is better on the pictures than in reality. More than it usually is.
Receptionist does not speak any English.
The quality of the furniture could be better. Bed broke when I put my arm on it. And I am not overweight.
Management sent me now the request for recommending them here on Tripadvisor with the link.
They sent it first in Spanish, then in English. Two emails with all other customers cc:ed!!!
Where is the privacy? They should know what bcc (secret copy) is!
The location of the hotel is good. The price could be slightly lower. The breakfast is poor.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dima D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Juan A, Director General at Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion.
I would like to apologize for all the inconveniences caused during your stay with us.

First of all we understand your disappointment with the way the e-mail was sent. We always send one email per guest, but by mistake this time we send several at the same time without secret copy. We are completely sure this is not going to happen again.

Regarding the furniture in your room, we would like to mention that the problem was already solved.

Finally we hope that the problem to speak in English with one of our receptionists were a specific problem, because almost everyone speaks English.

I really hope to have the chance to talk about all your comments with you in person sometime in the nearly future.

Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    176
    95
    19
    9
See reviews for
67
205
43
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Clean and comfy in great location for old town, beach and shops. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast fine with good choice overall very good . Rooms slightly dated but good size and really clean. Excellent choice of restaurants very nearby

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dickie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have just returned from this hotel - It is a great hotel in the heart of Marbella surrounded by shops and restaurants. The beach is a 2 minute walk away, the rooms are spacious and clean and the breakfast is fine. I would definitely recommend it and I shall definitely be returning.

Room Tip: The higher up the better. Always ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank StaffordshireJilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here and the location is fantastic - 2 minutes to the orange square.
You go in through a shopping centre. Staff were fantastic and the room was very large. Basic but this is a budget hotel so you get what you pay for.
Would definately go back if going for a weekend however no pool and so wouldn't stay for any longer.
Parking is close byhowever its 15 euros for 24hours

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamNorton1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

I have just returned from 3 days in Marbella and my 6th time at Hotel San Cristobal. It's a great little hotel in the heart of Marbella and you can choose from loads of shops and restaurants or simply walk to the beach within a few minutes. The rooms are spacious and clean and the breakfast which is included is brilliant. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pringy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Hotel San Cristobal is an excellant place to stay. It is friendly, clean with very friendly and helpful staff. It is situated in the heart of Marbella with easy access to many delightful spots for you to visit. The meals are excellant and very good value. We have visited the hotel for at least 10 years and would recommend it to anyone. It is family friendly and also would suit couples of any age. The prices vary according to season but we find it is good value for money.
If you want to explore you will find easy access to mosy areas either by bus or taxi which are not overly expensive. Try it for yourself and enjoy.

Room Tip: The upper rooms are very good, quiet and with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayr
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Just returned from a great 4 night visit to marbella , the San Cristobal hotel was a really central location for a winter break , while visiting the costa del sol. The staff at this 3 star hotel were always very helpfull at all times , and we all enjoyed our stay at this venue which is in a great position for the , Old Town, and the beach area. The Marbella Old Town , we never get bored with, some great tapas bars and friendly people, give this area a visit its great. Neil ayr

Room Tip: higher floors overlook park opposite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AyrNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lima Marbella
Hotel Lima Marbella
#24 of 70 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Faro
El Faro
#34 of 70 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Marbella
NH Marbella
#17 of 70 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Cristobal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Cristobal

Property: Hotel San Cristobal
Address: Avenida Ramon y Cajal 3, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Marbella
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Cristobal 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Marbella and 225 mts. from the Beach and the Sea promenade in front of the Alameda ParkShoping, restaurants,bars and Entertainment around the hotel not needing Vehicle.96 rooms (70% with terrace) redecorated between 2003 and 2007) complete bathroom, hair dryer ,telephone,satelite chanel TV, rental safe box, air conditioned and heating.Breakfast buffet. Lunch/dinner waiter service daily menu.Bar and meeting room 100 people with free WIFI.Over 800 private parking places 250 mts around hotel, the hotel owns a limited nº at special fare. Not suitable for phisically handicapped persons.Granted with “Q” Tourism Spanish autorities quality award and ISO14001 environmental management standard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel San Cristobal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencia San Cristobal Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing