We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How refreshing, a really fantastic experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Artola Golf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Artola Golf
Ranked #65 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“How refreshing, a really fantastic experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Having, like others found this idyllic gem I just can not find enough praise for it, it is full of rustic charm, the beds are very comfortable, the rooms very clean, the Service very relaxing, you want something just ask, the pool excelent, sure there is no resturant but it is Bed /Breakfast and there are loads of Resturants around, (Dont look for McDonalds) I would like to be able to put into words just how different and wonderful this Hotel is but words fail me. For a good resturant try Bogart's in Calahonda, just at the start of 'The Strip'
N.B. My wife and I were so impressed we have decided to return again next month and maybe again in October.

John R Martin

Room Tip: I hope to add Photos later in the week
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnrmartin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    3
    2
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
14
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
araruna pb
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

special type of rustical hotel.nice rooms and nice naturalesc beaches in this aerea.

Room Tip: if you are not by car,use taxi from Marbella
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseborgesparaiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

This hotel is on it's last legs. Neglected, no service to speak of. Bar rarely open and when it is-- the staff (if any) are very rude.
Air conditioning out of order and so called staff said' nothing we can do!'.
Rear rooms very noisy---window in room would not shut properly.
All in all--a terrible experience.
Would not be surprised if this place shuts down soon.
Not even that cheap!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonWeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marbella hotels

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

This hotel is gem. Full of character and characters! We found Hotel Artola by mistake and then fell in love with it. The location is ideal, bus stops outside to Fuengerola and Marbella, beach 5 mins walk and local bars and restaurants approx. 10 mins.
Our special thanks to Vic and Lyn for guiding to us to this hotel. Throughout our stay they kept us informed of the best places to go and helped us with everything we needed. Vic also kept us entertained with his dulcet tones!!! Thanks guys.
The grounds are very relaxing with a large pool and terrace bar.
Ou thanks to all the staff for their friendly and efficient service.

Room Tip: Best rooms are 101 to 106, but the other rooms ar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daffydill186530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

beautiful hotel that is in need of some TLC however found staff to be friendly and ideal location for us close to the beach and only 15 minutes away from either fuengirola or marbella . Local beach, bars very convenient and for a short romantic getaway found this to be perfect for the price we paid . Like i said whole place could do with a some small renovations but then it does add to the historical feel of it and the golf course could do with being maintained as my partner was hoping to have a game however it was overgrown so couldn't. All that aside we found it good value friendly and situated in an ideal location and would go back

Room Tip: if you want a veranda book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thumper1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

Oh dear! What can I say? We hoped this would be as their website purports, a quiet, little grand boutique hotel. It was dreadful. Do not believe the favourable reports on here as they have permanent English residents who I suspect are writing the good reports. The hotel is nothing like any of the good reports. The concierge could hardly be bothered to get out of his own way. He began by trying to get us to pay for the whole week in advance and in cash!! I paid for one night in advance but the place just got worse and worse. The pity is it could be a lovely hotel. Its got a lot going for it but it desperately needs and update and some serious repairs. We were the only people at breakfast which was OK I suppose but a little sparse even for a continental. If you are the type who can sleep through a bombing raid then no problem because the toilets are old fashioned type that sound like the dam-busters are on their way! The door to the bar was continually blocked by a chair preventing access, when we did force our way in, there was this very old seemingly permanent fixture of a guest smoking his pipe and watching English TV at an incredibly loud volume! It seemed he was allowed to put the chair there to keep others out as this was a constant fixture! No bar staff to try and get a drink and an atmosphere reminiscent of the London smog.
One of the very few other guests spoke to us and offered some help with directions told us it was old Paddy and not to mind him!! This chap also seemed to a permanent resident and said he was a friend of the owner and helping him out! He seemed to be the only hotel representative available.
If you can't use the bar then you have no choice but to walk or drive some distance to Cabo Pino and eat and drink there. We had hired a car and thank goodness! The Hotel is right on the main coast road to Marbella and actually seems to have its own turning off the very fast dual carriageway. Road noise was not a problem for us as we had a room at the rear or side whichever it is facing the grounds and pool. There are considerable sized grounds but they seem to open to all and sundry to walk through. If it was in the UK I would say there was public right of way. The grounds and garden were unkempt and dirty with lots of dogs passing through. Most of the owners seemed to remove their dog excrement but we still found a few examples. I certainly would not allow my children to play there. The pool could have been lovely but it was full of leaves and branches!
The final straw amongst too many to list was the toilet pipe started leaking and was very smelly. I reported it and was told not to worry as it was only 'poco poco' Oh well only a little bit of Salmonella, no problem there then. I think this hotel would be all right for a stopover but that is about it at the moment. by the way, we did not go there for the 'Golf' but we could see no golf course at the hotel at all. There was a nine hole golf course across the other side of the dual carriageway about a mile drive [you could never walk there!] and I was told it had nothing to do with the hotel. So there you are. A brilliant example of how a very good website can fool you entirely. We put up with this for two nights but when we couldn't get a drink at the bar due to this special smoking guest having taken up residence, we thought enough was enough. However, it is quite cheap and if i was backpacking or something it would be OK. I have to say their website producer deserves an Oscar! On the whole I would give this one a miss.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siencyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

this is a one in a million hotel, one of the few left in this area for sure.
its has gret furniture, history and dates back some 50 years.

a hotel with a difference
loved the free wifi, rooms kept really clean and a great palce to chill out a relax
not far fromthe unspoiled cabo pino beach and dunes,,and very quiet hotel.
freindly englsih guests and most welcoming,,

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardhochuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.1 mi away
Aptos. Mediterraneo
Aptos. Mediterraneo
#57 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
5.6 mi away
Jardines Del Mar Apartments
Jardines Del Mar Apartments
#56 of 71 in Marbella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rio Real Golf Hotel
Rio Real Golf Hotel
#31 of 71 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
5.5 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 71 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
4.4 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artola Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artola Golf

Property: Hotel Artola Golf
Address: Carretera Cadiz Km 194, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Artola Golf 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Artola Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing