We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to discover and/or love olive oil, wine and Andalusia, that is THE place to go!”
Review of D.Oliva

D.Oliva
Ranked #3 of 27 Shopping in Marbella
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Located in the heart of Marbella's Old Town, D.OLIVA is a delightful shop with a distinctive rustic Andalucian look and feel that specialises in premium Spanish Extra Virgin Olive Oil. Lovingly sourced from Spain's top olive mills, there are no less than 80 varieties to sample and choose from. The bountiful olive tree not only yields its coveted oil but a host of related products to tantalise the palate which have been given pride of place in D.Oliva's delicatessen, alongside select vinegars and other gourmet condiments. The shop also stocks an extensive array of beauty products based on the nourishing properties of Spanish Extra Virgin Olive Oil.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you want to discover and/or love olive oil, wine and Andalusia, that is THE place to go!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

If you are for the first time in Marbella like us or already been there many times, D.Oliva is a must go. It is a culinary sanctuary for high quality olive oil and wine from the Andalusian region: a delight! David will take all the time you need to show you, make you taste and help you to decide which of his local products you want to take back home. You will know more about each of the products you would like to try, the story of the owner, how it is done and can ask any questions you want. It is like an olive oil and wine tasting session at the same time. Knowing more about what I was and would be tasting/eating/drinking makes me enjoy the olive oil and the wine much much more than I would buy it in a regular shop.
The service was so nice and human, one feels so good and almost like at home sitting with some friends enjoying a good wine and some olive oil with bread. Simple but incredibly joyful!!!
D.Oliva is a fantastic mirror of the region: very nice and open people willing to enjoy their lives e.g. what else do you want in life! The shop and service makes you really want to come back in the region and the shop asap.
In other words if you enjoy food and wine and consider it a divine but real pleasure, you have found in D.Oliva a heavenly setting on earth!!! I try to recreate the settings every day at home by drinking as suggested by David one tea spoon of olive oil every morning - better than the adage "one apple a day keeps the doctor away"I can tell you..plus I am happy that even in case I cannot make it to Marbella before my olive oil and wine are done, I can still order what I want and get it shipped very fast back home in Austria.
So, if you are in the area, just pass by and enjoy this fantastic piece of Andalusia's treasures: olive oil, wine and David & its crew!!!You will definitely not regret!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank NadiaM08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Treasure in Marbella”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

If you have had the chance to visit old town Marbella, you will find many little stores selling items that you can find almost anywhere, usually at highly inflated prices, knowing that tourists will do or pay anything to try and bring home a memory, a piece, of their time in Marbella. If you are interested in finding a magnet, a piece of cheap jewelry, a flamenco dress or scarf, then this store is not for you.

If, however, you are looking for something more - something to enjoy, something to give as a gift, something that you will actually find useful and enjoy long after your visit to Marbella ends, you must visit this store. The owner, David, has created a culinary oasis - a diamond among the overpriced, inauthentic, tourist trap trinket stores of Marbella. He has lined the shelves of his store with the culinary treasures of Spain - chiefly among them are olive oils, vinegars and wine, handpicked by David to showcase the very best of what Spain, in particular the Gold Coast, has to offer.

To be sure, these products are ones you will never find on the shelf of your local Lidl, Aldi or megamarket, and while they may be more expensive, once you taste them, you will understand why, and you will never look at a bottle of olive oil the same way again. And, if you take the time to visit the store, the associates there are more than happy to allow you to taste the oils and try the wines while sharing with you the story behind each product - the region it came from, the ingredients with which it is made, and how to best use and serve it. Take the time to explore the offerings of the store, take the time to sample some of the finest oil and wine available in Spain, and take the time to ask questions.

If you have plans to visit, be sure to call the store prior to your arrival to see if there are cooking demonstrations or wine tastings during your time there. They are events not to be missed - each meticulously planned to offer the guests an intimate culinary experience of Spain.

This is a store that you must visit - whether for five minutes or four hours (like me) - it is one unlike any other in Marbella. Put down the refrigerator magnet and step away from the flamenco dress - if you want to bring a true, authentic piece of Spain home with you, this should be your first stop.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank KathleenFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“buy your souveniers here!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Liked the helpful staff and the wide selection. We bought many litres of D.Oliva ecological extra virgin oil - best we have ever tasted.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank aiugdsaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“What a lovely experience”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have been to Marbella 4 times now and visiting this shop is becoming a bit of a tradition. Like most travellers I have to make that difficult decision on what tat to take home, well now that is behind me, I visit this shop, try some different olive oils and chose one to take home. This time the really lovely sales lady helped me choose an oil flavoured with lemon, just lovely. I also mentioned in passing that I wanted something to take to a friend who had invited me to dinner on Saturday night. She immediately showed me her favourite, and when I agreed to buy one, without asking, she wrapped it so nicely, I was thrilled and can't wait to share it with my friend.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyMadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely shop”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This shop was recommended to us by a local restaurant and I am so happy we visited. Really amazing olive oil all beautifully displayed with samples available to try before you purchase. The shop employees are very knowledgeable and helpful. An excellent way to bring a bit of Spain home after a holiday!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tess_Si
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D.Oliva also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to D.Oliva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing