We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden era”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marbella Club Hotel
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Golden era”
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We just came back from a stay in Marbella Club. It was an excellent experience.
I travel a lot and have stayed in many luxury hotels around the world, but this hotel does make you feel nostalgic about the old golden days – you just need to feel it.
Feelings aside, here are some practical observations:
The hotel is not new but very well kept. The grounds are breathtaking, pools are marvelous. The staff was very accommodating specially the front desk guys. We booked two rooms – a standard garden room for the teenage children and an executive suit for us. Both rooms were very nice, clean and had all equipped with all necessities. The standard room was pretty big for the European standards and the suite was huge. We spent all day at the beach and ate at the beach café. Since the children are vegetarian, they could not find too much selection at the beach café so they either ate at the MC café or went across the street to the sushi place which they said had the best vegetarian sushi.
My daughter and I visited the spa every day – their treatments are quite nice.
The location of the hotel is very convenient too – it is 5 minutes ( 10 Euros) away from either Marbella or Puerto Banus.
Would we come back? Yes, for sure and hopefully in a couple of months!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAGP, Director of Sales at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your inspiring review, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the gardens, the beach club, the pools, the spa...

We would love to welcome you again very soon, with best regards.

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    108
    38
    19
    18
See reviews for
207
287
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barendrecht, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We travel a lot and have stayed in the most lovely places all over the world so to say that this is a gem means something to us. The rooms are lovely, the overall feel of the hotel is laidback yet spot on and the staff is what you would like in a classy place like this. A special thanks to the waiters at the beach restaurant, lunch is a joy and the service a dream. We are returning soon, thanks for restoring our love for Marbella.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supernova2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAGP, Director of Sales at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
Dear guest,

We are so happy that thanks to the Marbella Club, your love for Marbella have been restored.

Thanks also for your positive comments about the Hotel, it helps to make our job more rewarding.

With best regards,

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

What a truly special place this is. My partner and I stayed here for his 40th birthday and I would highly recommend The Marbella Club to anyone who has a special occasion on the horizon.The place and the people just ooze class. It is positively regal.

On arrival, to our delight, we were upgraded to a Junior Suite which was just gorgeous. We ate in nearly all of the restaurants and the food was exquisite (my partner is normally so fussy and he ate everything put before him which was a first!). The service we experienced was second to none. The staff here are utter professionals and nothing is too much trouble. (On my partner's actual birthday, without any prompt from myself, a tray was delivered to our room with champagne on ice, chocolates and a hand-written card from the staff, it just confirmed what we were thinking, that it is such a special place).

We ventured out into Puerto Banus and couldn't wait to get back to the fabulousness of our hotel and the people that stay there. Yes, it is eye wateringly expensive at times but do you know something, it is worth every penny.

Having read some of the reviews about this place I would be inclined to agree that people who have any grumbles about it, do not 'get it'. If you are into minimalism and 'trendy hotspots' where the women look like Jordan, then really, this is not the place for you.

Would we go back? We are planning our next trip there as I type this and we can't wait. A big thank you to all at The Marbella Club for making our stay so wonderful and we hope to see you all again in the very near future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regalrebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAGP, Director of Sales at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
Dear guest,

We are very satisfied about your experience at the Marbella Club, and as we try very hard to make our guests stay very special, we feel rewarded as well.

Due that you visited Puerto Banus, on your next visit I would suggest a stroll around the old town, where you can find very good tapas bar, artisans shops, etc. so you can experience both worlds, the glamour of Puerto Banus and the real Andalucia in the old town.

We look forward to visit you very soon, all the best.

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

This is a true experience of Costa del Sol. Much like the Splendido in Portofino it represents class and elegance of a lost era. Some of the rooms may not be 'up to date', but the total ambiance an general quality of the resort makes up for it.

Stayed at the hotel several times both for pleasure and business, solo and with partner, always been very pleased.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mr_rosenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAGP, Director of Sales at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your feedback and comments about the Hotel atmosphere, we are happy also to be compares with such a special place as the Splendido in Portofino.

We look forward to welcome you soon, our best regards.

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We visited the Marbella Club Hotel for three nights at the beginning of June 2010. We had booked a Garden View room but were told that the particular room had not been refurbished.
We were somewhat perplexed with our room: Having been told the room had not yet been renovated, we arrived to find ourselves in a beautifully sumptuous and very large bedroom at ground level, with sun terrace, complete with table and chairs and loungers, as well as a very large bathroom, all appearing very modern. We have travelled a lot, and I would hazard a guess that there are hotels out there who considered us “picky”, but everything in this room was impeccably clean by our standards and the bed was luxuriously comfortable. We both immediately commented that we must have been given an upgrade (but we had not), such was the cleanliness and overall "brand new-ness" of the room. We hazarded a guest that it MAY have been last renovated (completely) 3 years earlier, but there wasn’t a single sign of wear and tear, and one could easily have thought this was a new room – a slightly older looking wardrobe safe was the only hint of a date of completion for the room, which was kept spotlessly clean throughout our visit. Partner was happily impressed with the complimentary large bowl of cherries which lay invitingly on the table which lay in wait for us, along with some delicious almonds and bottles of water and wine, both agreeing that it’s the little things that count.

On checking in the very friendly staff informed us of the dining options now (it was late) so we opted to just enjoy the evening with perhaps the most relaxing G&T's in the terrace piano bar - a beautifully relaxed, old world setting amongst lush trees and waterways.

The Beach Club pool was beautiful - we had no difficulty finding a spot in the sun each day, however we could understand how this might be more difficult in high season. The pool was calm, and to the parents who had the children: you should be proud, some of the best behaved children I have ever encountered on holidays, making the pool area a calm but fun place for everyone. The beach is right beside and it was just as lovely, though we stayed by the pool each day. We enjoyed the hydrotherapy pool in the Spa (also by the beach) and relaxed there one evening before dinner. Again, very friendly staff. We discovered MC’s Café across the road on our final day, and had a beautiful and very mid priced lunch.

I cannot emphasise how friendly and professional the staff was. Front of house (Juan) was always happy to make arrangements with no fuss and always an air of calm. Staff were always on hand to provide whatever was needed in a professional manner – a bedside lamp was not working one day (identified by housekeeping), and within 3 minutes a technician had arrived and fixed it.
Overall a wonderful stay and would highly recommend for a short 2-3 night break.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomInDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAGP, Director of Sales at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your feedback, it is important for us learn about your experiences in order to improve the quality of our establishment, and in this case we are very about your experience.

We look forward to welcome you sooner than later, all the best.

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

This is paradise on earth. An elegant resort that provides all the modern amenities while taking you back in time. Truly, we could do without ever stepping foot outside of the resort property. Marbella club redefines tranquility and peace. Imagine a location where all your senses are delighted. The smells from the fragrant gardens enhances the beauty of your surroundings, while you listen to the waves of the ocean and the birds singing. We enjoyed the wondeful facitlies including the spa and the resort golf course. The spa was outstanding with the special therapy pool treatment. The golf course, while a resort course, was challenging and provided wonderful panoramic views. Definitely a place we would love to return again one day.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank iranto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAGP, Director of Sales at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your feedback, we are delighted to learn about your experience at the Marbella Club.

Looking forward to welcome you very soon, best regards.

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Once you arrive at the Marbella Club you feel like you have been transported back 20 or 30 years to the age when Marbella had a bit of 'golden glamour' to it...this hotel is NOT cheap, and it is not for the package tour group 'set'... it is like staying at a private estate of the Von Hohenlohe family (the orginal owner/founders). It is class A for style and substance. The gardens and casitas are quiet, and well appointed. The Beach is nothing to write home about..but that goes for most of Marbella. The pools are small but heated (great for early spring swims!), the choice of restaurants is great (MC Cafe is my favourite...it is almost like being on Rodeo Drive in Beverley Hills)...and the beach bar buffet is excellent. Service is exceptional all through the hotel..and the Thalasso Spa is excellent. The hotel is designed like a finca estate so if you dont like to walk distances..be prepared, and order your golf cart for transport...the upside, peace and quiet. Gorgeous gardens make every walk seem like you are anywhere but in Marbella..A great location...just far enough from Marbella to make it a good walk and keep it quiet...far enough from Puerto Banus to make it...er, far enough from Puerto Banus (!)..and it does seem like 'old marbella'.

The rooms are comfortable..we had a sea view over the spa. Apart from the occassional smell of sea water...it was great. A perfect spring break with sun/food/spa and shopping. Toiletries are excellent...fresh flowers from the garden changed daily! lots of pillows, big robes..slippers and closet space. Nothing too much trouble for staff...and waiter service at all restaurants was flawless...we had one problem with ordering one day at the MC cafe and it was immediately rectified and they made up for the 'lack of service' with a free glass of champagne and we had not even complained!!! Illy coffee is served at ts establishement...great! Wine...great choice and reasonably priced. Honestly...it is like a step back to good old fashioned quality service...ok, at a price. BUT - it is authentic. It is of the highest standard and THAT never goes out of fashion. Congrats on it being a leading hotel of the world...we agree, and we'll be back. One last tip...Sushi Des Artistes across the road is one of the best restaurants for sushi we have ever experienced...creative, delicious and stylish...if you can tear yourself away from the Marbella Club...try it, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris_Battersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAGP, Director of Sales & Marketing at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2010
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your review, we have copied and spread around to all the staff involved so they are aware and enjoy it too.

From my point of view you have perfectly understand the essence of the original idea of the Prince Alfonso Hohenlohe, elegant, charming but simple luxury in a mediterranean paradise.

We look forward to welcome you again soon, with best regards,

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.5 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,721 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
8.3 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marbella Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Club Hotel

Property: Marbella Club Hotel
Address: Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe S/N, 29600, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Marbella
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#1 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#10 Family Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marbella Club Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Southern Spanish Costa del Sol, on the heart of the 'Golden Mile' only 5 minutes to Old Town Marbella and Puerto Banus, the Marbella Club Hotel • Golf Resort & Spa enjoys 325 days of sunshine. Open year round, the renowned Marbella Club Hotel, one of the "The Leading Hotels of the World" was once the private residence of Prince Alfonso von Hohenlohe and features 37 luxury bedrooms, 78 suites, 14 Andalusian-Style villas and the majestic Villa del Mar, throughout 42.000 Square metres (452.083 Sq. Ft.) Of lush subtropical garden.In addition to its stunning accommodations and grounds, the Marbella Club also offers guests a wide variety of amenities and activities including two outdoor heated swimming pools, seasonal water sports, fitness centre, 10 tennis and 4 paddle courts at sister hotel, Puente Romano (only a 5-10 minute beach walk away), Kid's Club by minimec, shopping gallery, equestrian centre, Dave-Thomas designed 18-hole golf course within the hills of Benahavis, Thalasso Spa, an 800 square metre (8.611 Sq. Ft.) State-of-the-art facility with dynamic indoor sea water pool, steam baths and saunas, a solarium and 12 treatment rooms and more. The hotel also features six bars and restaurants including the famous Beach Club Buffet, legendary Grill Restaurant and avant garde MC Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Marbella Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing