We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel on the Costa del Sol”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marbella Club Hotel
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel on the Costa del Sol”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Spent three beautiful days at this luxury hotel. The grounds are beautiful beyond description; the rooms large and very comfortable - the staff very friendly and helpful - management always on hand to help. Restaurant prices are, however, exorbitant and cannot justify such high prices - especially when it's almost US$100 for a buffet lunch!
But a stay here is highly recommended for the sheer pleasure of the location and ambience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranckSibille, General Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Halrice,

We truly appreciate your review.

It is lovely to read that you have enjoyed our location, service and comfortable rooms and also that you have fell in love with our gardens.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Franck Sibille
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    107
    38
    19
    18
See reviews for
211
288
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I chose this hotel because it wasn't a large modern impersonal establishment, it had character history and style. I was not disappointed at all. From the moment you arrive until the moment you leave the service is second to none. The staff REALLY do care, they are not simply reading from a script.
The hotel and its restaurants are not cheap , however the quality backed up by the service do justify the cost.

I have looked at under par past reviews, and honestly disregard them- these people simply do not get what this hotel is about! It is about class, style discreet customer service and attention to detail in all areas. I own and run a 5 star establishment myself, so I am naturally critical, well for the first time ever there is simply nothing to criticise .

So impressed were we I have today contacted the general manager to book up for 2 weeks next year so that we can bring our grandchildren.( Simply because the booking calendar for next June doesn't seem to be available yet) Children I hear some people gasp!! Yes there were children staying while we were there, all of whom had parents who had clearly taught them how to behave in such establishments, however when we went to check out the kids club on site we were once again blown away by the offering! Our granddaughters will love it!

The style, attention to detail and service whispered "class". Remember new money "shouts"- old money -whispers!!!

Room Tip: We favoured the room over looking the smaller pool, but that was personal choice! The Beach Club bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fusspot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranckSibille, General Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear fusspot123,

It was with great pleasure that we read your review about the Marbella Club. Your comments about our caring staff, the quality of our facilities and attention to detail means a lot to our team. We take great pride in the authentic service and experiences we provide to our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family to the Marbella Club next June.

Kind regards,
Franck Sibille
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is a very elegant hotel, understated and luxurious. Yes, in parts the pool areas are a little outdated but I think that it adds to the overall charm. We visited with the intention of staying in the near future and took the opportunity of having lunch on the beach. The food and service are exemplary and the staff are indeed excellent and worthy of much praise. The location is fabulous and although a little pricey well worth it as a treat. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranckSibille, General Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Brid 1,

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and will share your amazing words with the team!

Looking forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Franck Sibille
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The hotel was beautiful and very well maintained. Rooms were spacious and service was of a very high standard. Staff made sure our stay was very easy and hassle free. Only downside was the NEED for taxis to get anywhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debash81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranckSibille, General Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Debash81,

Thank you for your recent review. Our team will be thrilled to hear your lovely words.

Looking forward to seeing you in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Franck Sibille
Area General Manager
sibille@marbellaclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This 5 star hotel is absolutely lovely, set as it is in mature gardens, and yet quite near to Marbella town. The service from all staff was superb and we were made to feel very welcome wherever we went and whatever we did.

We had a suite, which was light and clean and well-maintained and had a sizeable balcony area for outdoor seating. The whole suite was very well furnished but strangely the pillows were really uncomfortable and after a few days we were desperate for a decent sleep.

The upper swiming pool is set in tranquil gardens, which we loved. The lower swimming pool is livelier and nearer to the beach, and we decided not to use it. If you are visiting with children you would probably prefer this area because the pool is larger, the beach cafe is a little more casual, and no-one minds the children running around.

It is of course expensive to stay here, which is unsurprising given the high quality of everything. However we had dinner one night in the main restaurant and although delicious the price was crazily high. Drinks in the various bars in the evening were also quite pricey for such small wine measures.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topladytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranckSibille, General Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Topladytraveller,

We were delighted to read your recent review and are happy you enjoyed your stay at the Marbella Club.

We will be sure to share your positive comments with the team. On your next visit please do speak with our Guest Relations team; they would be delighted to offer an alternative selection of pillows. It is important to us that our guests leave the hotel feeling truly rested.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Franck Sibille
Area General Manager
sibille@marbellaclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is truly a Leading Hotel and absolutely 5* which can not always be said about Spanish hotels making such a claim. The formula they have perfected is that they excel in the attention to detail and provide those little extras within the tariff that so often irritate customers in 5* hotels when they are asked to pay extra - welcome wine and fruit, bottled water in the room every day, turndown, free wi if throughout the hotel, free sun beds on the beach, free room service for ice etc etc. Don't misunderstand, this hotel is not cheap - and the food and beverage is very expensive as is the spa - but the service from the maids and gardeners through to the management is first class without any pretentious edge. This hotel knows it is good and is comfortable with it. The gardens are beautiful, our room was excellent (deluxe king) and the pools are good, but not brilliant - a slight mark down - and the food at the pool bar was disappointing. The MC Cafe and beach side restaurant were very good. Breakfast is excellent. Located midway between Marbella and Puerto Banus (35mins and 45 mins pleasant stroll away respectively) it is in a great location with lots of local restaurants to walk to as well. A very high recommend - enjoy

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingbrits03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranckSibille, General Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear travellingbrits03

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to our beautiful hotel.

We were delighted to read that you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay...from the beautiful gardens, to the recently refurbished rooms, to our “nothing is too much trouble” service.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Franck Sibille
Area General Manager
sibille@marbellaclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

After a night or two Marbella Club has this ability to become "home". It is nice to leave in this morning, but even better to get back home in the afternoon. You live in a secluded park with two pools and its own beach. Lots of facilities for children. Staff is extraordinary attentive, We stayed one week in a 80 m2 MC suite with a resort view (almost no rooms have sea view). Very nice indeed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranckSibille, General Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear spogie,

Thank you for taking the time to write about the Marbella Club.

It is an honor to read that you think of our hotel as a “home away from home”. We highly value your comment as it is in every sense what we strive for.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Marbella Club.

Kind regards,
Franck Sibille
Area General Manager
sibille@marbellaclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.5 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#4 of 70 in Marbella
1,753 reviews
2.1 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,675 reviews
8.3 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marbella Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Club Hotel

Property: Marbella Club Hotel
Address: Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe S/N, 29600, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#1 Business Hotel in Marbella
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#1 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#10 Family Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marbella Club Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Southern Spanish Costa del Sol, on the heart of the 'Golden Mile' only 5 minutes to Old Town Marbella and Puerto Banus, the Marbella Club Hotel • Golf Resort & Spa enjoys 325 days of sunshine. Open year round, the renowned Marbella Club Hotel, one of the "The Leading Hotels of the World" was once the private residence of Prince Alfonso von Hohenlohe and features 37 luxury bedrooms, 78 suites, 14 Andalusian-Style villas and the majestic Villa del Mar, throughout 42.000 Square metres (452.083 Sq. Ft.) Of lush subtropical garden.In addition to its stunning accommodations and grounds, the Marbella Club also offers guests a wide variety of amenities and activities including two outdoor heated swimming pools, seasonal water sports, fitness centre, 10 tennis and 4 paddle courts at sister hotel, Puente Romano (only a 5-10 minute beach walk away), Kid's Club by minimec, shopping gallery, equestrian centre, Dave-Thomas designed 18-hole golf course within the hills of Benahavis, Thalasso Spa, an 800 square metre (8.611 Sq. Ft.) State-of-the-art facility with dynamic indoor sea water pool, steam baths and saunas, a solarium and 12 treatment rooms and more. The hotel also features six bars and restaurants including the famous Beach Club Buffet, legendary Grill Restaurant and avant garde MC Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Marbella Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing