We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll come back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marbella Club Hotel
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

5 minutes from Puerto Banus this hotel have an excellent 18-hole golf course and a wonderful international restaurant.
Spa is not cheap but my wife and I both had very pleasing and relaxing treatments there, including a nice hydropool beforehand.
The staff is very polite l and well-mannered. Faye and Cala the concierge were perfect polite and helped us in all our demands. We‘ll come back

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saaham_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranckSibille, General Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear saaham_12,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us! We are pleased that you enjoyed our Spa facilities and treatments!
It is wonderful to hear that you were able to take advantage of our golf course. We pleased to offer guest complimentary green fees and shuttle service to the course.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff…they will be thrilled to hear that you were so pleased with their service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

With best regards,
Franck Sibille
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (747)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 747 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

We spent 8 days at Marbella Club Hotel in late May hoping for a romantic escape from the cold weather in Switzerland. Having read the great reviews on TripAdvisor and considering the storied history of the hotel and the prices we were paying, we were expecting quite a magical experience. Unfortunately, it turned out to be anything but!

The first room we were given had a roadside motel-like feel, with its front door down a few steps from a car parking area, insufficient natural lighting and a lack of privacy. We asked to be switched to a larger, brighter and more private room, especially as our LHW Leaders Club membership should have entitled us to an upgrade (the hotel failed to note our membership despite our highlighting it in every email relating to the reservation and at the time of checkin). The one we were moved to had not been occupied for quite a while, as it was extremely musty (i.e. the air in the room was so unpleasantly stale that we had to go out and buy incense to mask the smell). It was also close to the main road and right behind the hotel's main kitchen, so all we could hear was the sound of the traffic, the kitchen ventilation exhausts, and crashing glass as they emptied the bottles early each morning. We had to spend our first 3 nights in this room due to hotel's occupancy, so needless to say, we couldn't unpack and relax as had hoped to. On the 4th day, we were finally moved to a room that we could relax in with light and privacy.

From the website, the hotel gives the appearance of a beachfront luxury getaway hotel for adults, however the beach is very far away from all but a few of the most expensive rooms and you don't even get a view of the sea. And it was completely overrun by kids, especially the pool areas, in which it was almost impossible to get a deckchair and very difficult to relax with all the noise. With the newly developed and large children's area still yet to open at the time of our visit, we can imagine even more kids and families visiting the hotel in the future. The sea was cold and rough and not suitable for swimming, and the beachfront was windswept and mostly empty.

The famous hotel restaurant was one of the few positive points, together with the hotel's beautiful 18 hole golf course in the nearby hills. Our overall impression was that this hotel appears to bask on its (well) past glory and history, but fails to deliver if you are looking for a true 5 star luxury hotel experience, a seaside getaway for couples, or any kind of value for the very top prices you are paying for this.

Room Tip: Unless you can afford a private residence or the beachfront rooms, don't bother with the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank RONausOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranckSibille, General Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear RONausOZ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are very sorry that your experience at Marbella Club was less than extraordinary. We take pride in our relationship with LHW and apologize that you did not receive the appropriate program recognition and amenities.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience due to your room allocation and we are pleased to inform you that our rooms, suites and villas underwent an extensive refurbishment in 2013 and this will continue through the first half of 2014, until all of our rooms and suites are completely refurbished.

While Marbella Club is tailored to adults, families can now take advantage of our new extensive Kid´s Club program and facilities in a completely separate environment.

We would love to welcome you back to the hotel so that we can redeem ourselves. I would also appreciate if you could contact me directly for your next visit, as I will personally oversee your reservation´s details and will make sure you experience the service we are pride of.


Yours sincerely,

Franck Sibille
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

All the employees at this hotel are courteous and willing to help. We were upgraded to a suite during our 8 night stay. Great breakfast , outstanding golf course, the spa is amazing ! And the location is perfect. A lot of parking place at no charge. I am definitely going back to Marbella club hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debora N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria F, Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Debora N,

Thank you for your lovely comments.

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay…from our friendly staff, to the service, to the facilities. We always strive to create extraordinary experiences for our guests. We are so glad that we were able to upgrade your room and that we were able to make your stay even more memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Yours sincerely,


Maria Fernandez de la Vega
Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I have been going to the Marbella Club since the 1960's it just keeps on getting better and better, the only hotel to dine drink and stay in Marbella very good indeed serious 5 star with a grand deluxe feel. The Champagne bar is world class, and even the MC cafe does a superb Lunch or Dinner for the budget conscious

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnnysKitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria F, Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear JohnnysKitchen,

It is a pleasure to hear from one of our beloved long time guests! Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our recently refurbished Champagne Room and Grill! The MC Café does indeed offer a superb lunch.

We hope that you can join us in the summer months so that you may try MC Beach! It is a fabulous experience. Surely it will stir some fond memories.

Best wishes,


Maria Fernandez de la Vega
Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a 1 week stay here in early July - I especially liked the quiet of the garden pool, though this was shattered for 1 day by a large party of children - though this was swiftly dealt with. The gardens are truly beautiful, as is the private pier, and service both in the restaurants and around the pool done with real aplomb. Food was excellent, particularly in the MC Beach. The standard room though, does need a little attention aesthetically

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria F, Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear JDUK1,

Thanks you for your comments. Your feedback regarding our standard rooms was greatly appreciated. We are pleased to inform you that we have two fabulous internationally renowned designers, Jean Pierre Martel and Kamini of Ezralaw Design refurbishing our guest rooms. We hope that you will visit us again so that you can experience the new design.

We are also pleased to tell you about our new 5,000 square metre Kid´s Club, which offers a private Children´s pool.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our restaurants… We agree, the food is excellent at MC Beach.

Best reagrds,


Maria Fernandez de la Vega
Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I call Spain the country of love and beauty. Marbella Club is one of the most beautiful boutique hotels I've ever stayed at. I love the beach, food, atmosphere, their rooms and the services. Have I mentioned the smell in the air? There's nice boardwalk which takes from the hotel to all the shops and restaurants around the area.
Great place to have your honeymoon or even if you want to go on your own. The people and the staff are so nice and friendly and you'll never feel alone. I highly recommend this luxuries paradise.

Room Tip: Try the rooms right in front of the beach. The beach view at night is breathtakingly beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WondeRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria F, Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear WondeRox,

We really appreciate your amazing comments about Spain and the Marbella Club. Reading this review made us smile with great pride. We agree ; Marbella is a romantic paradise!

We attribute the beautiful fragrance to our gardens…..the Bougainvillea is a favourite among guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in 2014!

Yours sincerely,


Maria Fernandez de la Vega
Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We spent a week at the Marbella Club this October. We came here to relax and rejuvenate and we did just that. The place is just. Beautiful, the flowers and the scents are amazing. The service I found to be impeccable , everyone here couldn't be nicer. The restaurants particularly the MC cafe was fantastic. The word No was never heard, we even had them deliver our favorite pizza from one of the restaurants for dinner on our terrace one night. A true European old fashioned resort at its best!! Loved it!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria F, Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Joan k,

Thank you for your excellent review about the Marbella Club.

It is lovely to hear that you have enjoyed the MC Café. Our wood burning Pizza Oven is a favourite among guests. And we are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your terrace…. our enchanting terraces are one of the hotel's most unique features

Looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Kind regards,


Maria Fernandez de la Vega
Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.5 mi away
Puente Romano Marbella
Puente Romano Marbella
#7 of 69 in Marbella
1,450 reviews
1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 69 in Marbella
1,883 reviews
8.3 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 69 in Marbella
363 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 69 in Marbella
1,819 reviews
2.1 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marbella Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Club Hotel

Address: Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe S/N, 29600, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#1 Business Hotel in Marbella
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#9 Family Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: $338 - $1,988 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Marbella Club Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Southern Spanish Costa del Sol, on the heart of the 'Golden Mile' only 5 minutes to Old Town Marbella and Puerto Banus, the Marbella Club Hotel • Golf Resort & Spa enjoys 325 days of sunshine. Open year round, the renowned Marbella Club Hotel, one of the "The Leading Hotels of the World" was once the private residence of Prince Alfonso von Hohenlohe and features 37 luxury bedrooms, 78 suites, 14 Andalusian-Style villas and the majestic Villa del Mar, throughout 42.000 Square metres (452.083 Sq. Ft.) Of lush subtropical garden.In addition to its stunning accommodations and grounds, the Marbella Club also offers guests a wide variety of amenities and activities including two outdoor heated swimming pools, seasonal water sports, fitness centre, 10 tennis and 4 paddle courts at sister hotel, Puente Romano (only a 5-10 minute beach walk away), Kid's Club by minimec, shopping gallery, equestrian centre, Dave-Thomas designed 18-hole golf course within the hills of Benahavis, Thalasso Spa, an 800 square metre (8.611 Sq. Ft.) State-of-the-art facility with dynamic indoor sea water pool, steam baths and saunas, a solarium and 12 treatment rooms and more. The hotel also features six bars and restaurants including the famous Beach Club Buffet, legendary Grill Restaurant and avant garde MC Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marbella Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing