We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in spain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marbella Club Hotel
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the best in spain”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Love this hotel and its vast range of restaurants and timeless classic feel to it on the golden mile of marbella, the piano bar is lovely and the MC cafe is great and the sunday brunch is absolutely amazing with a fantastic choice of foods , beautiful hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welltravelledDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria F, Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear WelltravelledDorset,

We really appreciate your lovely comment and are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed dining in all of our restaurants.

On your next visit, you may want to enjoy one of our magnificent treatments in our renovated Spa.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,


Maria Fernandez de la Vega
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    108
    38
    19
    18
See reviews for
207
287
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at the Marbella Club Hotel from 5 to 10 February and it was just wonderful. We had a big, recently renovated room near the sea, a huge terrace. TV, DVD, Radio, separate bathtub and shower, two basins. WONDERFUL PILLOWS and DUVETS, the quality of sleep was very good, no disturb.

As it was off-season, workmen make some renovations nearby but it did not disturb us at all (and they were polite too, said good morning etc. if walked by).

Breakfast buffet has a very large variety of all the healthy food (an unhealthy varieties available, too, for those who want to enjoy them). We did not had a lunch at the hotel (78 euros/person), it seemed a bit over-priced but seemed to be delicious. Perhaps in the summertime we might have eaten that but now we wanted to walk around and have lunch e.g. in Puerto Banus (3,5 km, easy to walk there) or nearby Marbella.

All the personnel was very service minded!

The gym was about 5 minutes away in Puente Romano and it was well-equipped. We had our workout different time each day and there were only a couple of persons each time in addition to us. In the evening and in the morning it was very chilly (only around 4 - 5 C) so we had to had warm clothes for the walk/run (we did not use the sauna etc. as we wanted to take a bath together in our room). It did not bother us but it is good to know this.

The spa was under renovation and we did not use that (weren't every sure in advance whether

During the days, it was warm (around 20 C) and everyday the sun was shining brightly.

Everything was just perfect for our stay and it was a good break for us from Finland, full of snow and dark at the moment. We want to thank the Marbella Club for making our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgina S, Public Relations Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks very much for your review, we’re delighted that you had such lovely weather and it sounds like you made the most of all the facilities.

I am pleased to report that from this summer we will have a fitness centre in the hotel, so guests will no longer have to walk to the Puente Romano for their daily workout and the spa will be reopening in March.

We are delighted we can offer some winter sunshine and we hope to see you here again soon.

Best wishes,

Georgina Shaw
PR & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had a five day break here and could not fault it. And a huge bonus is that this part of Spain - it is very far south - seems to have wall to wall sunshine most of the time so it is an excellent destination in winter, low season months. We had five days of cloudless blue skies, temperatures 17 to 21 degrees mostly. Warm enough to sunbathe and swim in the hotel's heated pool.

Rooms are good. We were upgraded to sea-view one, having only reserved a standard room.
But I asked later to view all grade rooms and they were all very attractive. Several were being refurbished for the coming season, as is the Spa.

And the staff at this hotel are wonderfully helpful and attentive, as other reports have said.

Lunch at the beachside pool was an expensive set price of 78 euro - no light snacks - but I imagine this is to discourage too many people from the public walkway outside from flocking in! You can get light lunches - pizzas, club sandwiches, salads etc- by the other pool in gardens above or in MC Cafe.

Dinner in the candlelit Grill is a good experience - food excellent, as is service - certainly worth trying at least once! The more informal MC Cafe is also a proper restaurant - large varied menu - featuring dishes from Spaghetti Bolognese, to MC Burger and fries - to MC fish and chips..informal and friendly. Breakfasts even offer champagne , fruits are freshly squeezed....

Not essential to hire a car here - you can walk to Marbella Town along the beach "promenade"
in about 20minutes, a lovely walk - or in the other direction to Puerto Banus..Or the local taxis are
very good - about 8 to 10 euro into Marbella or back. Also saw a lot of people cycling along beach walkway.

We were very impressed with whole area around the hotel, clean ,sandy beaches, exotic vegetation ...towering palms everywhere - it is great place for a winter break - can t wait to return.

Room Tip: The more expensive beach /sea view rooms are lovely BUT furtherest from main hotel and involving qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgina S, Public Relations Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review including this useful information about the area and average temperatures. I am pleased to say that more people are discovering the destination in the winter months and with the added bonus of being able to ski in the Sierra Nevada it’s a real treat.

You’ve done a great job reviewing all the restaurants as well so thanks so much.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes,
Georgina Shaw
PR & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Love this hotel. It has a lush, sub-tropical feel and though there are a lot of glamorous people here, it's always low key. Living a bit on the grandeur of its past, but it still has style and charm.

Breakfast is great and the buffet by the beach club pool is stupendous (and not cheap). Dinner under the stars in the candlelit main restaurant is lovely.

Service is accomplished and the concierge as helpful as you'd expect in what is the best hotel on the Costa Del Sol and one of the best in Spain.

Rooms are attractive, with enough local touches to give them a bit of extra character. Some of them need a facelift, but the newly refurbished suites are very smart. The villas are luxurious and have their own pools and gardens, but the views aren't great.

There's plenty to do - golf, riding, a tennis club next door in the Puente Romano and a spa which is aging a bit but has good treatments. There's a kids club with pool and a garden where our boys (4 and 7) made friends quickly and were kept busy by energetic staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jafarcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgina S, Public Relations Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks a lot for your feedback on the hotel, we’re delighted that you love the hotel and I’m pleased to tell you that all the rooms will be refurbished by the end of the year to come up to the standards of the new suites that you liked so much. The spa is also being refurbished this winter and will be reopening in March.

I will pass your praise on to our concierge and team, they are always delighted to hear back from happy customers.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Best wishes,

Georgina Shaw
PR & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knutsford
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This hotel combines Old fashioned service and charm with all the facilities of an ultra modern hotel. The attention to detail and customer service overseen by an excellent manager and well trained, long serving staff all contribute to make a very relaxed holiday .

Room Tip: The rooms are situated throughout the lovely gardens and suggest a ground floor if you want to use t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindadolphins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria F, Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Lindadolphins,

Thank you for your lovely review!

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your beautiful compliment with our staff – they will be so pleased. It makes us proud to hear that our passion is illustrated by the service we provide.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,


Maria Fernandez de la Vega
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This a club, hotel, villas, you name it. the beach is a fair walk from our room, but it is very nice. fully serviced, and there is a separate company 10 feet away from the lounge chairs that give good and reasonably priced massages. The lunch food was just terrible & overpriced, but champagne breakfast was awesome, and the dinner that we had brought to our private deck was quite nice. Oh, and we got engaged there, a suprise engagement, that the staff executed to perfection.

Wonderful place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikez1299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbellaClubHotel, Public Relations Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we’d like to take this opportunity to congratulate you on your engagement! It’s fantastic that our team was able to help you to make this extra special.

I am sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the lunch, we will look into that for you.

Congratulations again on your engagement and we look forward to welcoming you again, perhaps for your wedding or honeymoon.

Best wishes,

Georgina Shaw
PR & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is a never-want-to-leave-hotel. The food and service are exceptional; the setting and location could not be better; and the rooms are lovely. We enjoyed Marbella Club even though we could not get in the cold water. There is a terrific walking path along the beach. What I loved most is that it was not trendy--it was understated luxury--marvelous.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank seetheworld2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.5 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,721 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
8.3 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marbella Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Club Hotel

Property: Marbella Club Hotel
Address: Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe S/N, 29600, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#1 Business Hotel in Marbella
#1 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#10 Family Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marbella Club Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Southern Spanish Costa del Sol, on the heart of the 'Golden Mile' only 5 minutes to Old Town Marbella and Puerto Banus, the Marbella Club Hotel • Golf Resort & Spa enjoys 325 days of sunshine. Open year round, the renowned Marbella Club Hotel, one of the "The Leading Hotels of the World" was once the private residence of Prince Alfonso von Hohenlohe and features 37 luxury bedrooms, 78 suites, 14 Andalusian-Style villas and the majestic Villa del Mar, throughout 42.000 Square metres (452.083 Sq. Ft.) Of lush subtropical garden.In addition to its stunning accommodations and grounds, the Marbella Club also offers guests a wide variety of amenities and activities including two outdoor heated swimming pools, seasonal water sports, fitness centre, 10 tennis and 4 paddle courts at sister hotel, Puente Romano (only a 5-10 minute beach walk away), Kid's Club by minimec, shopping gallery, equestrian centre, Dave-Thomas designed 18-hole golf course within the hills of Benahavis, Thalasso Spa, an 800 square metre (8.611 Sq. Ft.) State-of-the-art facility with dynamic indoor sea water pool, steam baths and saunas, a solarium and 12 treatment rooms and more. The hotel also features six bars and restaurants including the famous Beach Club Buffet, legendary Grill Restaurant and avant garde MC Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marbella Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing