We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE BEST IN SPAIN--the marbella club hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marbella Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marbella Club Hotel
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Lockport,New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“THE BEST IN SPAIN--the marbella club hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

well 4 of us traveled from barcelona to marbella thru madrid and seville with a pit stop in rhonda
what can we say after eating dinner with count rudy at the marbella club i felt i was in heaven .the count is the ambassador of the club which he managed for many years but the story of his life should have been a movie.anyhow the hotel was fabulous and the food even better

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PEDIATRIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    104
    35
    18
    18
See reviews for
192
268
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Just returned from short break stayed at a couple of 5 stars in the area which I hadn't stayed at before, have stayed at most others previously, however this is the best, great location, nice old fashioned high end atmosphere, fascinating history, however service really made this stay into something special, I had thought of booking the sister hotel Puente Romana, and was puzzled as to why this is 4 star and that is 5, checked Romana out and-whilst being very nice is not comparable to this one which is definately 5 star, comparable with La Residencia(Deia) and Cipriani(Venice), which I have stayed recently , food is very good at MC cafe, however not able to sample the main grill restaurant which I understand is equally excellent, breakfast-served in the grill restaurant right up there with the best.
I really liked the location as I hadn't realised that at the boundary of the property you can walk on a flat path which runs along the coast of the sea between Marbella and Banus, a very relaxing walk.
There will always be a few niggles with any hotel I will not go into details but these were dealt with professionally and promptly by guest relations(Svetlana), who I must say was excellent.
Prices are not that high for this type of Hotel, please go to Le Manoir in Oxford, then realise this is quite reasonable!
As previously stated all of the staff were excellent, and would look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kryptonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
286 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,051 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I had read about this hotel for years so on a recent trip to Spain’s coast, we stayed here. The Marbella Club is located 2-3 miles from the town of Marbella and neighboring village of Puerto Banus so you definitely need a car.

The front of the hotel is located on a busy boulevard however the hotel’s property slopes down to the beach and its lush grounds cover a sizeable area. As you can see from my photos, our room was decorated in shades of cream with rust accents with lovely accessories, paintings and furniture. It was done up in elegant, old money style. A thoughtful gesture was the handwritten note from the Manager welcoming us to the Marbella Club along with complimentary water, red wine, walnuts and tangerines.

Since we arrived around 2 pm and hadn’t eaten, we went down to their Beach Club to have lunch. Once seated, we were told that there was no a la carte menu, just the buffet. We didn’t think to ask the price and thus were somewhat shocked to receive a bill for lunch for 187 euros! (The buffet price was 78 euros/person, excluding beverages.)

The atmosphere at the Beach Club and beach area had a decidedly Polynesian feel as evidenced by the lush tropical foliage and dark thatched tiki structure housing the bar. There were similarly thatched umbrellas on the beach along with dark teak sunloungers.

Between the beach area and the hotel was a paved public path in heavy use by people walking and jogging by. This is the route we took to use the fitness facility at the neighboring hotel, the Puente Romano, in the morning. (The Marbella Club doesn’t have a gym but does have a large spa.)

The majority of people at the Marbella Club were two sorts of Brits. The first were retirees getting sozzled at lunch over a decanter of claret at the Beach Club whinging about the EU. The remainder were chubby East Ender types wearing acid washed jeans, designer t-shirts and metallic sunglasses while speaking loudly on their cellphones and smoking. Given that this was November and thus the off-season, I am sure that the Marbella Club’s clientele is quite different (ie. more upscale) in the summer.

Last but not least, we really enjoyed the Marbella Club’s breakfast buffet which is served in the main restaurant until 10:30 am. In addition to the usual assortment of pastries, fruit, cold cuts, smoked salmon, local cheeses, cereal, bacon and sausages, there was a lady making eggs cooked to order so I had a wonderful egg white omelet. In addition to a variety of fruit juices, coffee and tea, the buffet included Krug champagne.

If you find yourself in this part of Spain and want to be pampered in tropical, lush old money surroundings, I would highly recommend the Marbella Club! It is a very special place and I would love to return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jemimagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The best part is the Marbella beach club at the beach. I went to eat there everyday. Make sure you are dressed to impressed if you eat in the hotel at night. Everyone was really friendly and the beach is just beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank izzie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel embraces the 'shabby chic' concept and I have to say it does both parts exceptionally well. Some areas of the hotel are truly excellent - the reception, the bars, the courtyards with the lush foilage and tinkling fountains. But others are, well, shabby - the garden swimming pool desperately needs updating. The service can be hit and miss as well - at the pool, when asking for mattresses and towels for four sun loungers, to be told - in a very polite and cheery manner- that 'they are over there, feel free to help yourself' is not what is to be expected from a five star hotel. The breakfast buffet was adequate, but uninspiring. Room service was, again, adequate, but very over priced. The Beach Club buffet was very good, but eye-wateringly expensive for what it was. The food at the MC cafe was better value, but service was slow. Our rooms were of a very good size and had been recently updated, but I wouldn't tolerate the standard of workmanship in my own home, let alone in what claims to be one of the finest hotels in the world. Surely somebody would have checked that parts of the shower weren't missing or loose, that the shelf in the shower wasn't wobbly? And why have a balcony that looks straight at the wall of the villa next door? On the plus side, the touchscreen computer in the room and the complementary wifi were excellent. In summary then, this is a 'nice' hotel, not an exceptional hotel, but with prices that promise more than it delivers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbellaClubHotel, Public Relations Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor, we appreciate all feedback and take any criticisms very seriously. We have passed on your comments to our General Manager to be looked at and will be discussing the issue at the pool bar with the staff to ensure this doesn't happen again.

I am pleased to say that we have very ambitious refurbishment plans over the coming winter months which will be bringing the standard of some of the areas up to the highest standards which you mentioned. Unfortunately this takes time, but please be assured we are aware of the issues and are addressing them as quickly as possible.

Maintenance has been informed about the issues in your bathroom and we can only apologise that this was not dealt with prior to your arrival.

We appreciate the positive comments about the hotel and will ensure that all your other comments are acted upon. Thanks again for taking the time to give us your feedback and we hope you will come and see us again next year when our refurbishment has been completed so you can let us know what you think.

Best wishes,

Georgina Shaw
PR & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This amazing hotel is surrounded by the beautiful park. Very professional and friendly staff at the reception and very efficient room service. MC Beach restaurant offers fantastic food, but the service is somewhat slow and indifferent. Overall, the staff at the beach could do better job. We paid for the beds on the beach a week in advance, still every day our place was taken and the staff were very surprised to see us. It is the only area that should be improved in this otherwise excellent hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank bouji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbellaClubHotel, Public Relations Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write you review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate all feedback, and welcome comments like yours that help us improve and become a better hotel every day. Our goal is to exceed the expectations of all our clients, even those not expressed by them directly to us, and we are very sorry to read that we did not reach your expectations this time.

We have taken good note of your comments regarding the service shortcomings you experienced. Rest assured we will evaluate our service and continue working so these isolated incidents don´t happen again. We agree with you that the best level of service is a distinctive element at the Marbella Club, and it is the aim of our management and staff, along with attaining excellence in everything we do.

Thank you once again for taking the time to give us your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon in order to experience the finest service which Marbella Club is known for.

Sincerely,

The Management
Marbella Club Hotel • Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our first visit to the Marbella Club hotel was full of expectations in the hard hit economic times in Spain. Beautiful property with the glamour only found in hotels with a lot of history from its famous guests. Rooms were spacious and tidy and dinner in the restaurant excellent as well as the atmosphere in the Champagne Room. But when you compare the value for monye between a meal in the main restaurant in Marbella Club to one at a restaurant elsewere on the beatuful coast, you wonder what you really paid for? We had wonderful meals for 30 euros/person at many restaurants, but Here at the Club it was the price of one starter. But aside from that this is the place to stay at if you like to "see and be seen".

Room Tip: Executive deluxe rooms very spacious, but no views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikael_Helsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.9 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#4 of 71 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
0.8 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
1.7 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marbella Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Club Hotel

Property: Marbella Club Hotel
Address: Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe S/N, 29600, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#1 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#1 Business Hotel in Marbella
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#10 Family Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marbella Club Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Southern Spanish Costa del Sol, on the heart of the 'Golden Mile' only 5 minutes to Old Town Marbella and Puerto Banus, the Marbella Club Hotel • Golf Resort & Spa enjoys 325 days of sunshine. Open year round, the renowned Marbella Club Hotel, one of the "The Leading Hotels of the World" was once the private residence of Prince Alfonso von Hohenlohe and features 37 luxury bedrooms, 78 suites, 14 Andalusian-Style villas and the majestic Villa del Mar, throughout 42.000 Square metres (452.083 Sq. Ft.) Of lush subtropical garden.In addition to its stunning accommodations and grounds, the Marbella Club also offers guests a wide variety of amenities and activities including two outdoor heated swimming pools, seasonal water sports, fitness centre, 10 tennis and 4 paddle courts at sister hotel, Puente Romano (only a 5-10 minute beach walk away), Kid's Club by minimec, shopping gallery, equestrian centre, Dave-Thomas designed 18-hole golf course within the hills of Benahavis, Thalasso Spa, an 800 square metre (8.611 Sq. Ft.) State-of-the-art facility with dynamic indoor sea water pool, steam baths and saunas, a solarium and 12 treatment rooms and more. The hotel also features six bars and restaurants including the famous Beach Club Buffet, legendary Grill Restaurant and avant garde MC Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Marbella Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing