We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Star Hotel in Marbella”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Laupheim
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 Star Hotel in Marbella”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This Hotel is excellent. About 6 km from Old Town Marbella. Excellent Pool area. Unfortunately the beach access is difficult. Positive: they bring you there with gold car. Negative: the beach club is really expensive. And the food/drinks in all bars even more expensive. Other than that the hotel is absolutely recommendable

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Monteros M, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest.

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience in Los Monteros Hotel & Spa 5* GL.

Our Beach Club La Cabane is a very well known exclusive place in the area and our guests can enjoy special prices. Even more, we have special offers that include a day in La Cabane and discounts on food and beverage. We suggest for your next visit to check our website for this kind of offers.

We are truly glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact our reservation department for assistance in your next booking.

Yours faithfully,

Fernando Al-Farkh.
General Corporate Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    247
    99
    42
    30
See reviews for
180
463
21
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Nowadays there are (what some people call 6 star),so one has to realise that a 5 star grande luxe!,is not necessarily what we used to think was the creme de la creme.
If you also realise that if you are paying 190 euros for a junior suite,you are naive to expect the calibre of the Sandy Lane or Claridges.
I suppose the best way to describe the Los Monteros Hotel is "faded elegance"
That does not mean by any way that the value for money here isnt amazing.It was!
I spent 10 days here peak time for 190 euros per night in a junior suite!
i had 2 suites,1 by pure chance was huge!,the other slightly smaller(as no 2 junior suites seem to be the same),more modern in decoration.
The pool is very impressive and the best bit is that its 35 degrees!
The kids were in and out the whole time!
i said earlier faded elegance.Let me explain.........the ornaments in the halls are chipped,the doors are slightly scuffed,and generally the hotel could do with a renovation.That does not mean that you wouldnt stay there,it just means that if you were aying 500 euros plus a night you would expect more.
the breakfast was far better than many other comparable hotels,and the staff were extremely friendly all round.I never got the feeling once we were driving them mad ,and they always tried to help.
Little things you would hope for ,include towels on demand at the pool(,without having to give a token),as you do here ,and get the token back when u return the towel.
A pain if you have 4 kids !
Sheets werent changed daily, and on 3 occasions, we asked for turndown at concierge( as we had left the room at 8.45 pm to go out),and that wasnt done.
All in all the pleasant staff made up for the hotels misgivings,and i would certainly ask for renovated rooms.
La cabane ,the beach club is great,(20 euros per bed),discounted from 30 if you are a hotel guest ,and a golf buggy used to take you down regularly.
The lunch there is supposed to be superb!!
We ate at the hotel only 1 night and the food was perfectly acceptable.
Room service was reliable,and burgers and chicken sticks were very tasty! all about 15 -18 euros ish.
Drinks came with crisps and olives and a big bottle of water by pool 6 euros (so not a rip off)
We didnt use the spa however it looked perfectly acceptable.
All in all its a good old fashioned Spanish 5 star,that if the ratings were as strict as in England,would probably be an ok 4 star.
Would come again if was with kids and didnt want to spend £500 a night in Italy or South Of France!

Room Tip: go for a junior suite in the newly refurbished wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mono551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Monteros M, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your very detailed description regarding your stay at Los Monteros Hotel & Spa 5* GL.
We appreciate all of our guests' feedbacks since it is the best way for us to improve our services and facilities.

As we have previously stated some other time, we are inmersed in a ongoing process of improvement.We are giving our best every day to make our guests' experience unforgetable and make everyone feel at home.

It makes us happy to learn you enjoyed your stay and that we are on the right path towards our goal.Thank you for the kind words of acknowledgement regarding our staff.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family again in our hotel in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact our booking department for your next visit to Marbella.

Yours faithfully,

Fernando Al-Farkh.
Corporate General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The rooms are old and tired, maybe cool in the 1990th.

Internet speed unbelievable slow.

The breakfast buffet is great, the reason for 3 stars instead of a1 star review.

La Cabana nearby is exclusive and nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dktraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Monteros M, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your stay at Los Monteros Hotel & Spa 5* GL.

Our guests' comments and suggestions are the best way to improve our services. It is thanks to comments like yours that we can target certain areas that need to be improved, so please do not doubt that we will have them in mind for future plans.

Regarding our rooms we are glad to inform you that we have kept the original style in some of them while we have renovated some others. Some of our guests really like the original style; all tastes are valid and equally important to us. For your next visit please let us know your preferences and we will try our best to honor your requests.

We are glad you enjoyed the buffet breakfast and the Beach Club La Cabane.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel so that you can see for yourself the improvements we make day by day.

Please do not hesitate to contact our reservation department for future bookings.

Yours sincerely,

Fernando Al-Farkh.
Corporate General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

There is not much to fault about this hotel. The hotel and grounds were lovely and well kept. The staff were nice and helpful. The hotel rooms were kept clean and tidy although never exactly the same (some night the beds would be turned down and curtains closed and other nights not).

The kids club was great - it was outside and informal. Kids could come and go out of the club depending on what was on the agenda and they were always asking other children if they would like to come and play.

Breakfast was lovely! Always fresh fruit and baked croissants and donuts for children. There was always a good spread of food and the fresh cooked omelettes were a treat. The free champagne also helped! Although lunches were pricey (would not expect anything less in a 5 star hotel) they were delicious and we often would share two meals between the family which was enough for us all.

The only downside was we booked a Deluxe Suite and expected one of the newly refurbished modern rooms with a separate bedroom however we got a slightly tired room in the old hotel building. That said it was a good sized room with a separate bedroom although the balcony was small.

Would recommend a car if anyone was planning on staying here and wanted to get out and about. Although we had a car we often took a taxi into Marbella in an evening for just over 10 Euros.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazzaferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Monteros M, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience in Los Monteros Hotel & Spa 5*GL.

We appreciate your comments and suggestions as it is the best way to help us in the ongoing process of improvement in which we are immersed.

It makes us very happy to know that your children enjoyed our VIKS CLub (Very Important Kids) during your stay.

Our breakfast certainly is one of the best buffet breakfast of the area, we are glad you enjoyed it.

Regarding the rooms, we would like to inform you that we have kept the original style in some rooms while others have been refurbished since we have a lot of guests that demand this type of style. We always try to accommodate our guests tastes which are all equally valid and important to us. For your next stay may we suggest you let us know in advance your preferences.

We are in a privileged location just a 10 minute drive to the Old Town in Marbella and 45 minutes away from the airport. There is a taxi stop at the entrance of the Hotel and a bus stop in front of it as well, which also makes it easier to move around the area. At the front desk there is the possibility of renting a car and the concierge is always happy to help our guests with this and any other requests.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you and your family again in Hotel Los Monteros, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department for future bookings.

Yours sincerely,

Fernando Al-Farkh.
Corporate General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I recently stayed for 6 nights at Los Monteros, on business. My wife accompanied me, and she probably got the better deal. She loved the activities and got lots of coaching in running, yoga and water aerobics in the pool. The onsite sports coach is very helpful and knows his stuff. The pool is a reasonable size, and is surrounded by the hotel building on three sides, which works well. The gardens are attractive, but not extensive. The spa is being renovated, so we missed that. It is supposed to be back in July.

Our room was unusual - a junior suite on three levels, with a single spare room, a good lounge and the main bedroom in the basement. Not a huge amount of light, but we liked the layout.

Food is expensive at Los Monteros, and even a light snack lunch will set you back €20 easily. I recommend the breakfasts, and the buffet lunch with steak or fresh fish cooked while you wait is excellent. Dinner is less impressive - eating out in Marbella or Puerto Banus, or in one of the hill villages such as Benahavis or Mijas is better value.

Without a car here we would have felt cut-off. It's only a ten minute drive to Marbella centre but walking out of the hotel there isn't much to see except the beach club, down the hill. Car hire in southern Spain need not be expensive, and is a definite must for this hotel. Parking is out the front, and the hotel is very easy to access from the eastbound lanes of A7 highway, just the other side of the perimeter wall.

I would stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 110-114 if you want to sit on the balcony. They overlook rather noisy air-conditioning u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eurobloke17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Monteros M, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your experience in Hotel Los Monteros with us.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that your wife got the most out of our new activities. The staff is very welcoming and they sure know how to entertain adults and children. Our guests are enjoying these new activities a lot.

Our Spa Center has just recently been opened and it’s offering Thermal Circuits and different treatments such as massages,manicures,pedicures… You can check all the information on our website.

During the summer we are having special dinners,for example on Fridays there is a Tapas Festival with typical Spanish food which our guests are loving.

We will be more than happy to welcome you back in Hotel Los Monteros so please do not hesitate to contact us in case you need further assistance for your next booking which hopefully you would also be able to enjoy as much as your wife did last time.

Yours sincerely,

Fernando Al-Farkh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel has benn closed for a year or so good to see it reopend along with some of the old staff they are trying very hard to get it back to top form they are working away updating some of the rooms,we would go back again in the near future

Room Tip: We did ask for a room change as the fist room was a little dark we ended in room 710 which was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonardcarshalt... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Monteros M, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your experience in Hotel Los Monteros.

We appreciate your loyalty to us. It makes us very happy to know we are on the right path towards our goal which is excellence.

Once again it will be a pleasure to welcome you again in the Hotel please do not hesitate to contact our reservation department for your next booking.

Yours sincerely,

Fernando Al-Farkh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I spent a week at this hotel managing and running a leadership workshop for senior business leaders from around the World. The service and support was mostly faultless, and I (and my delegates) are very demanding customers.

It is worth getting a superior double room or above. These are split level apartments with a separate living room and bedroom, double basin bathroom and balcony. TIP: Try and get one overlooking the pool area if possible.

The beach is a 15 minute walk (slowly that is - well it is 28 degrees) through a quiet road and some luxury villas. I have been coming to this area in Spain for the last 30 years and used own a villa on the other side of Malaga. The Spanish built their costal motorway a little too close to the coast, so hotels like are right next to the main road, but once inside all is fine. Makes it very convenient for getting around. BTW The beach is clean and quiet.

Do not miss the quite spectacular breakfast - probably the best I have had anywhere, including the best hotels in the world. Champagne on ice, great coffee, delicious fruit, and pastries that should carry a health warning!

If you are on business, the conference functions and facilities are excellent too with super fresh juice drinks and snacks.

Service in the bar's and restaurants is formal and spot-on, as are the pool attendants etc.

Not the cheapest or best value hotel on the coast, but otherwise difficult to find anything to moan about. Remember, it is 5 stars.

Room Tip: Double superior or junior suite overlooking pool, but really just enjoy the sun and food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Monteros M, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time spent writing your experience in Hotel Los Monteros.

Comments like yours it’s what gives us more strength and faith in what we are doing because our goal is always to give the best service to our guests. We are immersed in an ongoing process of improvement and it makes us happy to learn that we are on the right path.

Please do not hesitate to contact our booking department for your next visit which hopefully will be for pleasure! And if you ever need to book a conference again please contact our groups department, we’ll be happy to assist you.

Yours sincerely,

Fernando Al-Farkh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
4.1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 71 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
5.4 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
6.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
2.6 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar
10.1 mi away
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL

Property: Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL
Address: Carretera Cadiz Km. 187, 29603, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most exclusive area of the Costa del Sol, just few minutes from Marbella and Puerto Banús, is the iconic Hotel Los Monteros, a reference in the area. Combining tradition, art and exquisite surroundings, this establishment offers a unique setting for enjoying excellent accommodation, indulging Mediterranean cuisine, practice your swing in the Golf Mile or enjoy one of the most exclusive Beach Clubs in Europe, "La Cabane". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing