We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL
Ranked #13 of 69 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I was too disappointed about the hotel, mostly because of the poor location. There truly is not any (other than very expensive hotel restaurant, at lunch time ham and cheese toast was 18 euros!) restaurants, shops, bars, cafes or anything to see than perhaps an empty beach, kilometers away from the hotel. And because the hotel is truly on the right side of the motorway, even if there would be some, you need to go by car. So, hire a car for daytime and use taxi by night. Taxi to Marbella was 10 euros and 20 euros to puerto panos, which seemed nice place to stay.

As said earlier, hotel is a bit outdated, specially the rooms in the old side. So I would recommend to book for a refurbished room. Still, I would say because of the service solid 4* hotel. This was not a perfect location for us, because the remote location from all of the "action", but I would say that this is suited to someone who loves peace and quiet near motorway and does not mind that in the evenings there is nothing else near than the hotels quiet own restaurant ( no entertainment). If not, I would recommend hotels located in benalmadena or puerto panos.

Room Tip: Refurbished rooms, Deluxe or junior suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harri_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,085)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have been very disappointed about our experience at this hotel.
It is dated, quite closed to the autovia and practically far from any points of interest...The sea as well is far, so all the times we were obliged to use the taxi with the consequent cost. The Wifi connection didn’t work in our room and when I ask to use the computer of the business centre I was ask to pay an additional fee! Just ridiculous! The hotel restaurant serves ordinary food quite dear. The service is not at the standard that a 5 stars hotel would require.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Doris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Two business nights in Marbella. My favorite hotels were closed, or went bankrupt. Thats why I choose to go to Los Monteros Hotel. Hotel is in line with expectation (5 star). Nice rooms, friendly staff, excellent breakfast. It is understandable that a lot of facilities are closed first week of december. Next time I will try Los Monteros again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Objective5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Monteros M, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our Hotelt when you visited our beatiful destination Marbella. At the same time, thank you for sharing your experience in our resort with the rest the TripAdvisor Community.

I am very happy to learn you had a lovely stay in our property. That is the most important for us and we constantly effort to offer the best of the services to our guests.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you in your next visit.

Thanks again for your trust.

Best regards


Fernando Al-Farkh
Corporate General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel Los Monteros was so relaxing i would recommend it to everyone, the room we stayed in was very comfortable nice big bed and great bathroom with hydro bath,

Ask for a room away from the pool and bar area though, as at night time it can get very noisy.

The breakfast was fantastic lots to choose from.........

The little golf cart that takes you too the la cabane is really fun, the la cabane was great 30 euros a day for 2 sunbeds, be careful of the place to eat there as we got stung for 215.00 euros for a main and water and desert, it was nice, but not that nice.

enjoy your visit.

Room Tip: away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I booked this as a relaxing 3 day getaway and too advantage of one of the packages which were offered which looked to be really good value for money. Upon arrival we were very impressed with the reception area and with our greeting from the porter and from the reception desk both of whom were very helpful and welcoming.

We were further impressed when we found out our room had been upgraded to one of the suites and when the porter showed us to our room we were very happy with the room we had been given. We were in a split level apartment with a balcony and a view over the pool which was lovely.

I think what struck me the most was the attention to detail and the friendliness of all the staff. Attempts at speaking Spanish were met with smiles and encouragement which is always nice when you're trying to learn a language! All the staff were very helpful and attentive at all times. As someone not accustomed to staying in 5 star accommodation all the time I was always made to feel like I was meant to be there which cannot be said for all accommodation I have stayed in over the years.

The only criticisms I would have would be that the food and drink was particularly expensive and the choice was fairly limited and it was quite isolated so going to the shops to stock up on water meant a trip into Marbella or a supermercado about 1km away by taxi. I was taken aback by being charged 6 euros for an orange juice (particularly when I found out I could have as much as I liked for free for breakfast the next day!).

Also, we took a trip down to La Cabane as it was near the sea and found out it was 15 euros to hire a sun bed. Not too pricey when we were planning to stay all day but once we found out how much lunch was (77 euros EACH for a buffet!) we went back to the hotel to avail of the cheaper bar menu, thereby losing our sunbeds. The view from La Cabane is beautiful though and we found out later that there is a lovely little chiringuito called Los Sardinales which is a 5 minute walk if you turn left out of the beach exit of La Cabane. They served beautiful sea food, salads and have a huge varied menu at far more reasonable prices and you have a beautiful view over the ocean.

Breakfast at Hotel Los Monteros is one of the highlights so if you can get a package including breakfast I would highly recommend it. It is a champagne breakfast with a selection of every single breakfast across the globe that you could ever think of! You can have a fry, a huge selection of fruit, cheese, cold meat, muffins, croissants, and champagne of course! Left the table every morning not needing to eat for a long time after! Also the dining room there was gorgeous as you can sit out facing the pool which is the way breakfast was made to be eaten!

The different rooms around the hotel were gorgeously and lovingly decorated. The bar is very comfortable and the night we arrived a piano player was tinkling the ivories making for a very relaxing atmosphere. There is a beautiful little Moroccan style courtyard with a fountain and the gardens are very nice for a walk in the shade if the heat is getting too much. Also the pool is beautiful and you are brought free towels for your sun beds as soon as you sit down. Having lunch and drinks by the pool is also quite a treat although again, lunch is pretty pricey.

All in all we had a really lovely stay. We were looking for a quiet, relaxing break and that is exactly what we got. There was even a wedding happening in the hotel but we didn't hear a single solitary noise all night as we slept although there was a telltale bottle of whiskey left outside our room on a little table when we got up for breakfast the following morning! Someone had a good night anyway!

But yes, we would definitely come back and the deal we got was quite a bargain and we were very pleased with our stay, with the staff and with the gorgeous layout of the hotel in general. We didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Worth asking for a sea view if they have it. I think they have a policy of upgrading people if they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank verticalfailure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were there for a wedding staying for 3 nights.The marriage held at the Cabane which had areal wow factor.
Everything was very comfortable,no faults to be found!!
The staff extremely helpful .
Five stars but without the chill one can get sometimes from such establishments.

Room Tip: Room 24 very comfort able
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel was very good, clean and well laid out. The room was good and air/con efficient and quiet. Fresh bedding and towels every day. The hotel staff, without exception, were excellent whether they were busy or not, nothing was too much trouble. There was a good selection at the buffet breakfast with fresh fruit, plenty of breads and a hot selection if you wanted. My wife even had porridge.
The area around the pool and the pool itself were very good.
The only down side is the location, you need a car or take a taxi to go anywhere.
La Cabane restaurant down by the beach has beautiful views and the food is as good as you will find but, there is always a but, the price for the buffet lunch on Sunday was extortionate.

Room Tip: Some rooms can be quite far if you have walking difficulties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
4.1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 69 in Marbella
1,883 reviews
6.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 69 in Marbella
1,819 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
5.5 mi away
Puente Romano Marbella
Puente Romano Marbella
#7 of 69 in Marbella
1,450 reviews
2.9 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL

Address: Carretera Cadiz Km. 187, 29603, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 69 Hotels in Marbella
Price Range: $133 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most exclusive area of the Costa del Sol, just few minutes from Marbella and Puerto Banús, is the iconic Hotel Los Monteros, a reference in the area. Combining tradition, art and exquisite surroundings, this establishment offers a unique setting for enjoying excellent accommodation, indulging Mediterranean cuisine, practice your swing in the Golf Mile or enjoy one of the most exclusive Beach Clubs in Europe, "La Cabane". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing