We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing holiday - we're going back in 2 weeks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday - we're going back in 2 weeks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

This was my husband and I's first trip to the hotel but second to Marbella. We weren't that knowledgable of the surrounding area of Marbella but booked this hotel as it wasn't directly in the centre of the hustle and bustle. The hotel is approx 5-6km from Marbella town (golden mile) located just off the main road (you hear no road noise though!). Check in I have to admit wasn't perfect. Good reception when we arrived but they just pointed us in the direction to our room so we had to find it ourselves. I wonder now whether this was because they had skeleton staff because the hotel wasn't that busy. The room we were in 703 was a lovely large Deluxe Suite. We had our 3 year old son with us and we had a separate bedroom and his bed was in the living area of the room. Our bed was AMAZING. So much so we've said now we're home we have get one. The pillows too were great, so comfy! The bathroom was of a good standard and very spacious. The only gripe I have about the bathroom is that the large square 'rainfall' shower head was terrible! It might just need to have been cleaned thorough in vinegar for a while but note if in 703 use the shower head instead, much better. The suites are located in the gardens slightly away from the hotel but a stones throw away from the terrace bar, breakfast etc. The staff in the hotel were very good. The bar and restaurant staff were fabulous with my son and they made us feel very welcome with him. Breakfast was very good. A good variety of pastries, juices, meats, cereals but yes like other people said hotels abroad can't seem to get the cooked breakfasts. Although my husband said what he had was very good continental 'english' breakfast especially the scrambled eggs. We ate on the terrace bar by the pool for a couple of nights which was limited choice of menu especially as i'm tomato and cheese intolerant but nevertheless very good quality, presentation and delivery of food. The hotels main restaurant served some of the best fish I've had in my life. Lobster to start (superb) and John Dory for main. If you wanted to eat off site you would need a taxi or a hire car but the next junction up (back to Malaga at El Rosario) is a great little Italian restaurant I think called Da Fabio. This is brilliant and amazing food too at reasonable prices.

Then I come to my favourite part of the hotel and one of the main reasons we loved it so much, La Cabane. La Cabane, the beach club exclusively for the hotel guests is about 500m away from the hotel (with only villas and apartments on tiny spanish 'roads' inbetween). It is truely stunning. You can hire sunbeds at a charge but we never did as our son was always in the swimming pool and the terrace bar was located right next to the steps of the pool. The staff are brilliant, service is immaculate, the place is beautiful and we LOVED it there.

We are going back in 2 weeks with my mother and father in law and staying in the Royal Suite as it's got 2 bedrooms so expect another review soon!! Looking forward to saying Hola again soon!

Room Tip: babysitting at the hotel is expensive 18 Euros an hour so we took our baby monitor which just worked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    247
    99
    42
    30
See reviews for
180
463
21
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

My friends and I spent two nights here during our Spring Break and had an amazing stay. The hotel is beautiful- the pool, restaurant and our rooms were all extremely nice. The staff was incredibly friendly. The food is very expensive but the one dinner that we ate there it was well worth the price- it was one of our best meals in Spain. Also the breakfast at Los Monteros is absolutely incredible- they had absolutely everything including pastries, an egg bar, yoghurt, cereal etc. We had an incredible and relaxing stay. I hope that I make it back to Los Monteros very soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Just returned from a long weekend at this hotel which is celebrating its 50th year. I was last there in 1974! It still holds its charm as a 5* hotel. Staff and facilities are excellent. If I have a 'gripe' it would be similar to that found in many hotels throughout the world - buffet breakfasts cannot do "hot" food unless it is specifically prepared for you at the time. Also, as in many 5* hotels there are no tea/coffee making facilities which is a must for your average Englishman! Otherwise an enjoyable stay. It is also worth mentioning that you really need a car as Marbella town itself is some distance away with Puerto Banus being further away.

Room Tip: Try for a junior suite - I was lucky and received a free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cidees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in April with my daughter, but the weather was not good. We ended up sunbathing by the lovely pool in the hotel dressing gowns !! Rooms are very large and comfortable. Reception staff helpful. I agree with other reviews regarding the food in the hotel, expensive and there was nothing on the menu that suited my 20 yr old daughter, so we went out both nights. The breakfast was of a high standard. Overall loved the hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline12349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

We have just had a beautifully relaxing week at Los Monteros, a hotel which has wonderful grounds, amazing staff but a ridiculous food pricing policy. The food is just so expensive that almost nobody eats there in the evening, so there is no atmosphere. That is such a shame as the staff are so pleasant and accommodating and the grounds are lovely. If you stay here and eat in Marbella at a fraction of the cost, I suppose you have the best of both worlds, but it would have been nice to have been able to stay in the hotel in the evening.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not facing the motorway, if possible ask for a junior suite facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fatduckjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is celebrating 50 years in the hospitality business and boy do they know how to look after you. Let's get a couple of issues out of the way firstly the hotel is 5 km from Marbella strangely the Trip Advisor map sometimes positions it in Marbella it's not. There are no restaurants or shops within walking distance. It is a 10 minute walk down hill to the beach. The hotel does not have a shop to buy papers sun creams etc and with regard to the location the hotel isn't moving and that's it! A couple of things you can do, never leave this wonderful hotel and run up a bit of a bill, rent a car at the airport for about €20 a day, taxi in and out of Marbella €10 or there is a bus stop outside but don't know where it goes. So we stayed in a beautiful junior suite 502 great bed lovely terrace fantastic bathroom(heated floor, lots of goodies, huge separate shower, bubble bath etc) turn down service, towels changed daily etc first class. Breakfast is the best I have ever had in all my stays in 5 star hotels including branded champagne. For lunch we shared a sandwich which came with fries for €24 including a large bottle of water on the pool terrace, delicious. Drinks in the bar are reasonable and service was impeccable from bar staff who have seen a few miles but know how to please. Service round the beautiful pool was very efficient. Loungers were set up with towels and covers. Someone had said that service by the pool was slow but from what I could see there was an army of waiters hovering.
This is a first class hotel no doubt about it. In terms of value for money it is an outstanding hotel. I can't wait to go back in September

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank HenryV111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Good hotel and all needs catered for, but the prices of food in the bar were very high. Service and cleanliness was excellent, and the bedroom with a south facing balcony, overlooking the pool was fabulous. Breakfast was a feast, and the staff couldn't do enough to make sure you had everything you wanted. We wanted to dine informally in the bar, but were horrified when two drinks and a plate of cheese (basically left-over from breakfast) cost us £50!!! This meant that we didn't use the bar very much at all - which was a shame as the staff were so helpful and friendly. Otherwise, within the confines of the Marbella residential area, this is a good place to stay. We did walk along the beach to Porto Banus - but this took all day. Marbella (old town) is about a two hour walk away.

Room Tip: Room 6 was very nice - on the first floor with a balcony, and overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ClassicNavigators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
4.1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 71 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
5.4 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
6.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
2.6 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar
10.1 mi away
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL

Property: Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL
Address: Carretera Cadiz Km. 187, 29603, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most exclusive area of the Costa del Sol, just few minutes from Marbella and Puerto Banús, is the iconic Hotel Los Monteros, a reference in the area. Combining tradition, art and exquisite surroundings, this establishment offers a unique setting for enjoying excellent accommodation, indulging Mediterranean cuisine, practice your swing in the Golf Mile or enjoy one of the most exclusive Beach Clubs in Europe, "La Cabane". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing