We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, it was such a shame we had to come home.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL
Ranked #13 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Stayed for a long weekend with family in the Royal Suite, it might be a bit away from the more popular locations but as we know the area very well it suited our means. Hotel is very clean, good variety of breakfast. Pepe' on front reception was fantastic, I only wish some other staff members had his service skills. We have stayed at a few Costa Hotels and we found this one a must for a visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,066)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

527 - 533 of 1,066 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

I literally cannot fault this hotel, from check in to departure everything went smoothly. The staff are attentive, friendly and cannot do enough for you, they even go as far as laying out your towels on sun loungers for you! For a drink you just raise your hand! The room we had was a deluxe junior suite, it was huge, spotless and had the most amazing bathroom! The pool area is beautiful as are the grounds, it has so many lovely features it adds real charm to the place! The whole hotel was spotlessly clean which is quite rare these days!
The breakfast was the best ive had in a hotel, beautifly presented, massive variety and tasted lovely......Mumm champagne included!!!
The only fault I have are the prices of the drinks and food, but then like others have said, if you book a 5* hotel you have to expect 5* prices. For Example Gin and Tonic was 10 euros. Tuna toasted sandwich with chips and salad nearly 20 euros!!! However the food and drink were beautifly presented and the chips were the best ive ever tasted!!!!
The hotel is approx 8 minute taxi ride to Marbella old town (which is just lovely) and about 12 in taxi ride to Porto Banus which is equally lovely. I cannot rate this hotel enough......I will return for sure and will recommend to anyone : )

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bella0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Los Monteros is certainly a very good hotel, but I was not impressed (like if have been on many other hotels - see my reviews). Great location and well wort a visit.

I booked my room on hotels.com at a rate of EUR 120 per night, while at the same time the hotel was asking EUR 320 per night on their own www!

Breakfast is very nice and you can sit outside by the pool.

I got free internet and even got an upgrade to a suite (basicly a large room), which was a huge room with balcony.

I didn't try the restaurant at night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OnlyTheBest-Lux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Los Monteros is a modern, spotlessly clean hotel offering comfortable and pleasant surroundings. We stayed for 10 nights (2 people in early 30's). I had emailed ahead and asked if we could be upgraded if possible and we were upgraded for free to a suite which was fantastic. Big bedroom, ground level, queen size bed, enormous bathroom.

The pros of our visit:
Hotel is spotless and modern.
Grounds are immaculate.
Breakfast was terrific - everything you could possibly want.
Lovely pool and poolside area for bathing.
Room was great and cleaned everyday to a high standard.
Most of the hotel staff were v pleasant and efficient.

Cons of our stay:
Hotel is outside Marbella central which is where you will likely go at least once a day so it's 10e one way in a cab. That's 40 a day if you are going in afternoon and evening.

The hotel does not cater for Snack food. If you want to have a plate of chips and a sandwich at lunch (for ex) perhaps with a beer or two, be prepared to pay approx 30e each. I paid 18e on arrival for a few chicken tenders and about 8 chips. The food was lovely, but 18e?? I think the hotel is perhaps aware that you are a little isolated here and charge accordingly.

Service at Bar Azul: in general the service at the hotel was good but the poolside bar area is clearly understaffed meaning on at least a few occasions we waited over 10-15 mins to be served and then 5-10 mins for a drink to arrive.

Tips:
3 min walk to beach and when you get there make sure to go left and not right. After a short bit of stoney beach the beach to the left opens up into a wide lovely sandy beach with beach bars and restaurants dotted along. We walked this beach most days. If you turn right instead you can walk to Marbella in approx 70mins.

Overall I would Reccomend the hotel but id love to see them do 2 things:
1) introduce a snack menu at the pool with options around the 7-12 euro level and also improve service at this bar.

2) consider running a mini coach into Marbella once each morning, afternoon and evening with
Cheap or free fare for residents. It would be a classy touch and residents would definitely appreciate it.

Otherwise, a lovely stay and I'd return.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Betman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteros, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time spent writing your comments about your stay at Hotel Los Monteros and your impressions about our rooms, grounds and food.

It is really important for us to know that one of our guests enjoyed their time at our Hotel.

We will take in account your comments about the shuttle transfer to Marbella and the snack-menu, for sure.

It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us and we would like to welcome you at our Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

S. Ríos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Five day Break
We stayed in Los Monteros Hotel for five nights in September 2011.

Checking in
The car was whisked away from us as were our bags at the entrance door. Booking-in was excellent with reception having all our details ready and waiting. Off we went in-tow with the porter to the room. Total turn around time approximately 12 minutes.
The room
We had elected to go for the culinary package, we had an upgrade to a larger room. It was clean, bright, comfortable, and excellent.
We were on the third floor with a side view of the pool area. Not the best view but the room was quiet. Booking again, I would choose one of the other room locations, but I had specified a high floor location.
The bathroom was good but not over big.
Towels were plentiful and housekeeping in the form of making up beds etc was good.
Breakfast
Multi choice was offered at breakfast time and table selection was entirely your choice. We sat outside. Coffee or tea was brought to your table following that it was a buffet service with eggs being freshly fried while you waited. A superb range of fresh produce was available.
Dinner
We tried dinner and found this also excellent.
Lunch / Bar meals
We tried lunch bar meals again this was excellent.
Staff
The hotel staff was attentive, helpful, pleasant and friendly.

Would I stay here again?
Excellent hotel. We would stay here again but not in a side room.

Down Side?

• Slightly difficult to find
• The bar area for the lunch service was under staffed
• Be informed that there are two short flights of stairs within some rooms. In our case it was not a problem
• The beach club facility was closed.

Room Tip: Some rooms have flights of stairs within the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Co.DownBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Firstly let's be clear, THIS IS NOT A 5 STAR HOTEL. At best it is 4 star.
The bad bits:
It was difficult to find, as the address is not recognised by GPS. On asking the reception about this they shrugged and said they knew about it and laughed. Why not change your website address then, to one that the rest of the world outside Marbella can recognise!!
Reception management are very rude and surly (perhaps a reflection of their failing economy). This doesn't apply to the other staff who were pleasant and generally helpful. Perhaps they should swap jobs Mr or Mrs Owner !!
On finding that I had been allocated twin beds, having requested a double, I was told that they would make up the beds Italian style (using a double sheet to create a double bed out of 2 singles). Now I don't know how many of you have tried this strange setup but amazingly there is still a gap to fall down between the beds in the middle of the night !!!
Reluctantly I was given a different room with a double bed, only to find that the aircon wasn't working. Reception were informed and a technician was sent to the room. He reported that the whole row of rooms wasn't working and it was left at that. After much complaining it was explained that a part was required from Malaga but that they were on holiday for the day and that it wouldn't arrive until the following day. Swelter on then !! How many holidays do they have in Spain?
WiFi was intermittent, again met by a shrug from reception.
Hot water appeared eventually. The best bet was to turn on the shower, go down to breakfast then return, satiated, to a hot shower !!
TV channels in English were woeful given the amount of English visitors to Marbella.
Hotel feels tired and living on past glories. Sean Connery may have stayed here but I doubt he would now.
The good bits:
Lovely restaurant settings. Champagne with breakfast. Beautifully kept grounds. Great beef sandwich. Nice facilities.
All in all a Hotel with great potential let down by it being dated and staffed at a senior level by surly unhelpful people.

Room Tip: One with working aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sparkytraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We spent a week here. The suite was lovely. The breakfast was lovely. The staff were cool and slow to respond if you could get them to understand yoour needs.
The beach club is beautifull. Too expensive for what you get - 15€ per bed plus same for cabana - so it cost us 45€ a day for the privelidge. We seem to have picked a bad week as there were 4 weddings/functions during our stay at which point you are told the club will close at 6pm (instead of 8pm). The truth is, they start to clear everything away at 4.30pm. You feel uncomfortable because of this and give up come 5pm. The staff seem to go into full on funtion mode and therefore stop caring about the guests from the hotel - it took us an hour to get a shuttle back to the hotel on one such afternoon!
10€ per way for a taxi into Marbella adds considerably to an already expensive stay. There are no amenities within walking distance so you should really hire a car which impares boozy lunches and nights out.
Lots of the people we talked to were disgruntled. They seem to normally holiday at same time of year but would usually be at the Don Carlos or the Don Pepe, so perhaps we will try one of those instead next time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank claxton2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteros, Director General at Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for the time spent in writing your comments, which will helps us to improve.
With reference to the cost of the sun beds at La Cabane, let me inform you that a normal fee for a sun bed at one of the plenty of “chiringuitos” at the beach it cost 7 €, and they do not provide you with towels, and obviously they do not offer you the service and quality of our beach club La Cabane.
Regarding the functions at La Cabane, we are deeply sorry for the inconvenience we may caused you, and I take this opportunity to let you know that we have changed our rules for next summer.
I hope you could still enjoy our facilities in a future.
Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar
4.1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,847 reviews
6.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 70 in Marbella
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Puente Romano Marbella
Puente Romano Marbella
#9 of 70 in Marbella
1,436 reviews
3.4 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL

Address: Carretera Cadiz Km. 187, 29603, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Price Range: $151 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most exclusive area of the Costa del Sol, just few minutes from Marbella and Puerto Banús, is the iconic Hotel Los Monteros, a reference in the area. Combining tradition, art and exquisite surroundings, this establishment offers a unique setting for enjoying excellent accommodation, indulging Mediterranean cuisine, practice your swing in the Golf Mile or enjoy one of the most exclusive Beach Clubs in Europe, "La Cabane". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Monteros Spa & Golf Resort GL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing