We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best location between Malaga and Marbella”

South Beach Marbella
Ranked #320 of 1,412 Restaurants in Marbella
Cuisines: International, Fusion
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“The best location between Malaga and Marbella”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

For 12 years I've been up and down the coast between Malaga and Marbella looking for decent beaches that are restful to sit on. This is it in my opinion. The area is about as up market as you get before they post guards at entrances, you can usually park, but it is 1/2 mile off the N340 which makes it quieter than other locations so keeps visitors down, it took me 5 years to find it. (take the El Rosario exit and go South). The bar/restaurant is right by the sea, twenty feet I mean. The beach does not shelve steeply, it's easy for kids to be safe. The food at the restaurant is not cheap but it is always good, they are 100% reliable. Staff are friendly, polite, attentive. It gets busy and you often need to book a table. A very pleasant way of waiting for the table is to sit at the bar, facing the sea, watching your kids bob about quite safely in the shallow water, sipping an ice cold beer. Last year it was still one Euro for a small beer. Gentle dance music is played at a low volume, people walk up and down the beach, often in a state of near nakedness, making the sober visitor somewhat awkward but the relaxed beer drinker feel rather good. If you hire a sunlounger, you get bar service from a waitress. You can hire kayaks, peddloes. There are showers, toilets. At about 7PM wicker sofas are put on the beach and it becomes a very relaxed place to spend the evening, about 10 feet from the waters edge. It has neither the false snobbery of some parts of Marbella, nor the down market feel of other parts of the Costa Del Sol.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lumponmyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    72
    22
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great value for money and finally a modern, sporty beach Club in Marbella”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Absolutely loved this beach Club, Marbella´s best kept secret as it is not so known yet by tourists. Probably visited mostly by foreign residents, very cool and international feel.

We went to the party they had going on last weekend, a cuban party, which was completely free of charge. There was an amazing Buena Vista Social Club style band playing live music and a Cuban guy showing us how to roll cigars, hilarious!

The kids had a great time with the professional kids entertainers and the mojitos were only 6 euros and super delicious. The food was simply beautiful and there was just a great ambience. Definitely a great place to chill out, our favorite spot this summer!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suriki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Funky décor, right on the beach, good food”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Watch out - closed in wet weather, we were disappointed to find it locked on those days. We regularly ate at South Beach through the winter season. It was always busy enough for there to be a decent atmosphere. We liked the funky décor and music and the fact it's right on the beach so the kids could play with a bucket and spade whilst we had a coffee and then sometimes eat. The food is good. Maria is a terribly bad tempered waitress who was always trying to kick us out early so she could go home, even though we were enjoying the sunset and it wasn't quite due to close! But the other staff were friendly enough. This problem probably doesn't happen in the busy months. The clientèle are all very self-satisfied, self-conscious and full of bling which isn't our scene but we overlooked that for the location and food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GroovyTraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good overall”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Good overall. Great location right on the beach. Good food, friendly staff. Lovely cocktails. Would return. Only negative: it was very busy so service was slow & orders got mixed up a couple of times.

Helpful?
Thank Orlagh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“On the beach”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

A great bar on the beach, a great place to drink and watch the world go by. The food was god too. Understandably closed in January 2014 but I will be visiting again in June

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Beach Marbella also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to South Beach Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing