We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“enjoyable break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“enjoyable break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

We have stayed at this hotel a few times and find the staff very helpful and friendly.Buffet breakfast outstanding,also if staying on a full board basis front seeview rooms great and all meals excellent,very central and some lovely restaurants nearby.
Booked through alpharooms this year and our room overlooked the garbage and bottlebank area which was very disappointing,bottles were thrown from midnight to 1am and then collected at the dawn along with the rubbish,so sleep was limited,but we still had a great holiday and would make sure if and when we return we will get a room in a different part of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelleaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, June 15, 2010
Great to have you as a regular guest in Fuerte Marbella Hotel and to know that you enjoy our friendly service and superb buffet breakfast.
Here is a tip for you: when booking with an intermediary, before arrival you may email us and request an upgrade to a superior sea view room at a reasonable daily supplement.
We are grateful for your comments regarding the views of the standar rooms. These comments have helped us get a new system for the garbage which will be implemented by the townhall in the next few months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    475
    107
    38
    30
See reviews for
261
736
30
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
76 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

Easy access to beach, two swimming pools - one for doing laps, sea view rooms, decent food.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Recoleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, June 6, 2010
As a piece of information, at Fuerte Marbella Hotel we not only have direct access to the beach but we already have set up our sunbeds (7€ per day) ready to welcome beachlovers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

Had stayed at sister hotel (Fuerte Miramar Spa) twice before and I thought I had web booked there this time. On presenting my documents I was informed pleasantly that I should be reporting to the Fuerte (Fort) 300M's up the road! The Fuerte is larger and we had a super room in the new part. It had a balcony and lots of features that I had not anticipated. I had always been pleased with the Miramar and the Fuerte is probably a better hotel but with a more "formal" feel. Now I am torn between the two when I next book!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, June 6, 2010
Choosing between Fuerte Marbella and Fuerte Miramar Hotel is indeed not easy. My recommentation would be: if you come with small children then use the Miramar, as it has a superb Forti miniclub with many activities for them. If there is only adults, then Fuerte Marbella es ideal, especially if you book a room with front sea view on a high, you would have the prefect sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

Stayed here for a short break with my sister - we are both 40'ish ;) and quite a lively pair when we get together (Bruv and Sis). We were concerned it might be a bit too quiet which it was but in a nice way - Puerto Banus is just a short taxi trip away (10 mins, 9 Euros each way, or the Cat Ferry 15 mins and 8 Euros per person each way, stops 6:30 though, so get a one way and taxi home if you fancy taking the cat out for a nice change) and there some great clubs (Plaza Beach........Wa Hoo!) and bars in Puerto Banus (port side was probably the best bar) there when you are feeling a bit more party. That said this hotel is very nice and stylish and it provides a pleasant place to relax away from it all. I would recommend it for older people who like organised evenings (tribute bands, piano, and some great flamenco) but that said we liked it and we like to let there our hair hang down and then come home to a nice quiet place to relax (nice wine and cocktails) and put your feet up. Great tapas just a short walk from the hotel a la LA TABERNA DEL PINTXO MARBELLA - eat what they bring round and they count the sticks to work out your bill......self control required ;). There are some good days trips on offer on the hotel notice boards but you can pop next door to the travel agent on the sea front by the back gate and things get a little cheaper. All in all a good hotel in a great place.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViolinDingue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, June 19, 2010
Great to hear that your stay at Fuerte Marbella Hotel made the right combination for a good hotel, good location and good tapas bars. Here are a few more tapas tips for you: in the old town try the Estrecho Bar and the Bodega Niña del Pisto, both next to the other. In Puerto Banús try the Taberna del Pintxo (same as in Marbella) and La Moraga (for a more formal tapas choices). Also Fuerte Beach Restaurant offers tapas right in the beach in front of the Fuerte Marbella hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st albans,
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

We stayed for three nights for my husbands 40th birthday. I asked if they could put anything special in the room for our arrival and was greeted with a lovely bottle of sparkling wine and upgraded to a beautiful seaview room. The rooms are beautifully simple and very modern. The beds are huge and comfortable with the most amazing pillows. extremely clean and staff always helpful from the reception to the bar staff. Would def go back and stay again. The only tiny quibble was that the tea and coffee faciltiles were rubbish. i had to keep pinching teabags from breakfast and we never had any coffee in the room at all. Being english I do like a cup of tea in the morning but apart from that perfect..

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fififitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, May 24, 2010
Lovely to hear that Fuerte Marbella was so enjoyable for your getaway on your husband's birthday.
I am really sorry because we failed with your in-room coffee. We have very recently introduce this service following our guests demand and it should have worked out. Thanks for telling. I do hope to welcome you personally on your next stay where you will enjoy your coffee in the room as you wish. Best regards, Maria J. Antúnez, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

Minutes walk from the lovely old town and overlooking the sea. Deluxe room was clean and of a reasonable size. Greeted on arrival with a smile and a glass of Cava. Generally staff helpful but poor service at both the inside bar and pool bar .Pool area rather busy and a bit 'cramped' even in mid May, although there were ample sun loungers.Excellent fresh and varied buffet style breakfast and professional entertainment every night.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BucksAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2010

Stayed here with my husband for a birthday weekend.The first thing that struck us was how clean and smart the hotel is.A very helpful and friendly young lady checked us in and even though we were very early we were quickly in our room.It had a beautiful sea view and was immaculate,we even had a telephone call from housekeeping to check that all was in order.The only other time that has happened to us was in a very high end hotel in America.
The hotel is situated on the promenade and near to the beach although we did not use it.Easy to walk to the old town which is very pretty with restaurants and cafes.The main road has lots of shops and banks,everything you need is within minutes of the hotel.
The small marina has some nice bars serving drinks and tapas.All in all very enjoyable.We found the prices reasonable with lots of offers on meals and drinks.
The only thing that spoilt our break was on our last night when we ate at the LA Pesquera restaurant,it`s on the promenade right next to the marina.It was definitely the most unpleasant meal I think that we have ever had.Tasteless and expensive,with all of the choices in Marbella avoid this one.
Breakfast in the hotel is lovely,lots of choice and freshly cooked,even cava if you feel like.
We will definitely return and as an aside I found a great deal with Alpharooms which
made our stay good value.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madge48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, May 10, 2010
Very glad to hear that your weekend was so enjoyable in Fuerte Hotel and in the city of Marbella.
We look forward to welcoming you very soon again.
Best regards,
Maria Antúnez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 71 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
#11 of 71 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
3.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fuerte Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Property: Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Address: Calle El Fuerte s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#9 Family Hotel in Marbella
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuerte Marbella, the most emblematic hotel in the centre of Marbella, combines tradition and innovation. On the beach front and surrounded by 4000 sq. Meters of garden, Fuerte Marbella Hotel is an oasis walking distance to the Marbella old town, with restaurant and shops. Most of the rooms have magnificent views of the Mediterranean sea. A 7 km long beach promenade allows gentle walking to the famous Puerto Banus, with international shopping and restaurants. Fuerte Marbella offers a complete sports centre with covered heated pool (winter only) and a beach restaurant with sun beds (extra charge, summer only). Easy access from Malaga International airport (60 km) by rental car, shuttle bus or private transfer (book through the hotel). Public direct bus to Marbella bus station is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Fuerte Resort
El Fuerte Marbella
El Fuerte Hotel Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing