We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel who know about customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in middle of May. The hotel was very busy but the service and quality of the hotel were second to none. The hotels location is very central both to old town Marbella as well as being on the boulevard. Everything is within walking distance. The accomodation was very comfortable we had a side sea view which to be honest was as close to a front sea view as you would like. The bed was comfortable and room spacious. We stayed B&B and the breakfast was good however it was the same choice each morning so perhaps a little variation after the second or third day would have been nice. The staff were all pleasant and very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The terrace area around the pool was always clean every day and likewise with the garden area. One small gripe, it would have been nice to have some waiter service at the pool as it was a bit of a camel hike back to the bar!! Apart from this we had a very enjoyable few days and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your 5 day stay. I am very happy to hear you especially enjoyed our terrace arround the pool and gardens. Thank you for your comments, they will help us improve our service. Regarding pool bar, we are now opened for the Summer (jun through sept). We look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 639 of 1,633 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

What does it say when you check into a place and are already hoping you can come back sometime? The location is terrific, but who wants to leave? The hotel is really beautiful, and every room has a sea view. Spacious, gracious room, but we were mostly outside on the comfy chairs overlooking the Costa Del Sol. The water is beautiful, and the beach itself is nice, but the sand's a bit coarse there, and it was too cold to swim, so we stayed mostly on the overlook. There are really fun little restaurants along the boardwalk, and the staff is lovely and helpful. We had the breakfast buffet one morning, and we couldn't eat enough to make it worth it, so we didn't try dinner, but it looked lovely. A slice of paradise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your kind review. We are very lucky to have many guests who come regularly and love Fuerte Marbella. However, It is the first time we read "heaven" or "paradise" to name a guests experience. We will proundly share your comments with the team. We all look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Excellent location-on seafront and two minutes walk to old town.

Large resort style hotel.When we were there mainly senior English and German clientele, but not all so and not all package deals.Hotel also refined as befits one of the original grand hotels of Marbella.

Rooms very comfortable- all the amenities you would expect and spotlessly clean. We had a full sea view -very large terrace with loungers.

Only had the buffet dinner once as not really 'buffet people',but food good and reasonably price.A la carte restaurant only open for dinner later in the season.

Staff very helpful.Very speedy check in,but check out less so.

Given the limited choice of d good hotels in the centre of Marbella, would highly recommend.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you for choosing Fuerte Marbella and for your review. We are very glad to know that our location-on seafront and two minutes walk to old town was excellent for you, that you found the rooms were very comfortable. Thank you also for joining us for our buffet dinner. We now have our restaurante terrace open and it is very pleasant.
We appreciate your recommendation. Look forward to welcoming you and your family and friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I recently spent a weekend at this hotel on a short break with my friends and it couldnt have been more perfect. The location on the coast just beside the old town of Marbella is ideal and the staff in the hotel were exceptional, very helpful and friendly. The food in the restauarant and particularly the breakfast were superb. Highly recommend a visit and would definately return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireCoDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thanks for your stay and also for your review. We are so glad to hear that you short break with friends was so enjoyable. Particularly we are proud to know that you found staff exceptional, helpful and friendly. I will share your comments with the team. Looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We arrived yesterday midday looking forward to celebrating my birthday with family but very disappointed at the lack of customer service...it took over 2 hours to check in as they couldn't find a booking for one of our rooms although I shared all the paperwork and confirmed the booking prior to our visit. Secondly, the towels had ran out near the pool area and we were sent to collect towels from reception, which I have no problem with but was charged €10 a towel as deposit, however the couple behind us didn't have to pay a penny. Generally staff moral is very low with just about all of them with a 'so what' attitude ... My birthday night worked out okay but that's not due to the hotel.. the most painful part is the hotel... Ive seen some very good reviews on tripadvisor and that's why I booked it but personally I'm disappointed as i expected a good service. Our room is on the third floor and the view to the front isn't great..I am here for a couple of more days, hoping the stay improves and will write a final review on my return to the UK.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Micky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you very much for your stay and your feedback. We are deeply sorry about the delay in your check-in. Unfortunately one of the bookings had been cancelled. In any case, we should have reacted more actively. I am really thankful for your comments as this will help us improve.
A 10€ pool towel deposit is charged to all guests and service is in the pool (during opening times) or at reception.
I am glad to hear you enjoyed the sea view from your room and the location, in the center of Marbella and right on the beach. I would very much like to greet you personally in your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Came home on Monday from this hotel and already planning another girls holiday here next year! Location is fantastic - just a stroll away from the beautiful Old Town area and right on the beach. I would recommend paying extra for the sea view rooms as some of my friends stayed at the back of the hotel and only had a window! We were a group of 14 lovely ladies looking for a nice hotel as a base and we were more than happy. I would say the majority of guest were middle aged Spanish couples but with a few groups here and there. If like us you want a nice chill during the day before partying at night this is ideal! It's 5 minutes from Puerto Banus in a taxi. Staff at the hotel were friendly, rooms were nice though could be improved by updating the hairdryers which were attached to the wall and and not powerful so had to just let it dry naturally! No toiletries in the room either which I was surprised at. Breakfast was fab, everything you could possibly want is available from an egg station to smoothies! Gardens and pool were lovely and well maintained, just called at the bar in the evening to meet up which was fine for a quick drink before heading out but was busy with older couples waltzing! I would stay here either with my friends or hubbie as overall a great hotel

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank diravald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you very much to all the ladies for staying with us and for your review. We are so glad to know you had a good time, you found staff friendly, rooms nice, buffet breakfast fab, gardens and pools lovely and well maintained.
Regarding hairdryers, we are currently renovating them and in any case, more powerful dryers are available at housekeeping. Regarding toiletries, we serve basic toiletries and offer extra items on demand.
We look forward to your visit next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Just back from staying 5 days in this hotel we stay here two to three times a year for the past 9 years. The location is perfect and rooms spotless and breakfast very good, however its the reception staff who reacted to our different enquiries with curt indifference. Retraining into customer service would not go amiss!! The bar staff also appeared to be unhappy with their work, and service is very slow. I am returning here in six weeks for a week and asked could I prebook a room he said it was impossible to book rooms however when he looked up his computer he said the rooms was already booked.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank catherine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you very much for being regular guests at Fuerte Marbella and thank you also for your feedback. Your experience is very valuable to us, as it gives us a chance to improve. I am sorry this time we perform bellow our standards,
I would be very grateful if you let me know when you are coming back, as I would like to thank you personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
#10 of 70 in Marbella
931 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,808 reviews
3.5 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Puente Romano Marbella
Puente Romano Marbella
#8 of 70 in Marbella
1,408 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,497 reviews
7.0 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#13 of 70 in Marbella
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fuerte Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Address: Calle El Fuerte s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#9 Family Hotel in Marbella
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: $115 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuerte Marbella, the most emblematic hotel in the centre of Marbella, combines tradition and innovation. On the beach front and surrounded by 4000 sq. Meters of garden, Fuerte Marbella Hotel is an oasis walking distance to the Marbella old town, with restaurant and shops. Most of the rooms have magnificent views of the Mediterranean sea. A 7 km long beach promenade allows gentle walking to the famous Puerto Banus, with international shopping and restaurants. Fuerte Marbella offers a complete sports centre with covered heated pool (winter only) and a beach restaurant with sun beds (extra charge, summer only). Easy access from Malaga International airport (60 km) by rental car, shuttle bus or private transfer (book through the hotel). Public direct bus to Marbella bus station is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fuerte Hoteles, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Fuerte Resort
El Fuerte Marbella
El Fuerte Hotel Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing