We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hostal Berlin(Marbella)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Central(Marbella)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
El Rodeo(Marbella)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hostal Paco(Marbella)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,770)
Filter reviews
1,770 results
Traveler rating
1,017
557
118
44
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,017
557
118
44
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewold townexclusive loungesea frontbreakfast buffetlovely hotelorange squashoutdoor poolbeach restaurantreception stafffour starlocation is excellentlarge bathroomper dayplenty of sunbedspublic areashotel guests
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
714 - 719 of 1,770 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Spent 5 nights here just past. To add to what has been covered in previous reviews as well as repeat the great location, the big thing here is the utterly charming terrace that gets all day sun but provides dappled shelter under two lovely pine trees. I will return for this alone.

Also very Spanish, as in friendly and relaxed. Bit too relaxed among the waiters on the terrace but that is no big deal in the circumstances.

Rooms of variable size, sea views seem to mean uplift in size, no scope for that when we stayed, it was full. Got on with enjoying the lovely weather .

Would recommend for lovers of a quiet time and seniors.

Room Tip: Go for sea view and check for room size.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CalmTraveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

We thank you for your 5 night stay and your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed so much sitting in our Pinetree terrace that you consider coming back just for it.

Regarding rooms with sea view, please make sure you make your reservation quite in advance as these are the most demanded rooms. Furthermore, cancellation conditions are very flexible for bookings made through our central reservation office and our website.

We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Was here from thursday to sunday, i liked the location, rooms, food, close to centrum, enjoyed all the days, i think i come back this place in not so many years. the stuff and the washers are very polite also.

Room Tip: i got room 343 very practical, close to the elevator, and nice view, balcony, 2 washes, all you need
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raino84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you for choosing Fuerte Marbella for your weekend stay, and thank you also for your review. I am very glad to hear that liked the food, you found staff very polite and location was convenient to you.
The team & I look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Very clean hotel, good selection of food , excellent situation. We were on the 6th. Floor with NO AIRCONDITIONING !! While the room was comfortable we could not sleep because of the stifling heat. We were told the air.con. was not working and fans were not supplied. Because of lack of sleep we were glad to come home.

Room Tip: Make sure air conditioning is working before you unpack, otherwise demand another room. We wish we had!
Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Avril R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Thank you very much for your stay in April and for your review. We are happy to know that our location was excellent for you.
Regarding the air conditioning, the hotel is fully AC, however we have a central aircon system, that means we have heat in the Winter and cool air in the Summer. It has been quite warm during the day in April, but at night the temperature goes down to 12 ºC and therefore majority of guests would not wish to have cool air then. Temperatures have stabilized now and at night minimum average is 16ºC during the day 24ºC, so we have changed already to cool air. I am so sorry this was an inconvenience for you.
The team & I are very grateful for your stay and would very much like to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Location of this hotel excellent and the facilities very good. Constantly kept waiting for service though. Due to flight changes had pre requested a late check out and had confirmed , but then told this was not possible by reception staff,.Also, clientele at this hotel mainly elderly.

Room Tip: Request a romm away from lifts.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your review which will help us improve our service. We are glad to know that you consider our location excellent and our facilities very good.
We are already taking some action for a quicker service. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We have now stayed at the Hotel Fuerte Marbella twice - once last summer and our second visit in March of 2014. We really like this hotel. The interior is a bit dated but it was always clean and the decor is in good nick. The staff are very friendly (English as a second language could be a bit hit and miss but that encouraged us to practice our Spanish). The breakfast buffet is well suited for vegetarians (and meat eaters), with a great selection of cheeses, fruit, pastries, and an egg and pancake station. The dinner buffet is fine as well (again, good selection for vegetarians) but a bit on the pricey side if you are just having salad and vegetables, and some things felt a bit like ‘experimenting with left-overs’. It is a good option if you are knackered after a long day trip and just want to stay in the hotel though.

The hotel is also ideally located. It is tucked away on a side street with the Old Town about a 5 minute walk away and the main road and motorway within easy access for day trips. The hotel is also directly located on the boardwalk.

As for rooms - on our first stay last summer we stayed in a standard 'garden' view room. This was very comfortable and quiet. I say this as they had live music most nights in the summer. The set-up for this is directly under the sea view rooms. We stayed in a sea view in March and the room was really lovely but we did wonder what it would be like with the musician in the summer.

There is an actual gym attached to the hotel which was a bonus (not one of these token efforts). The hotel also has two pools - one which is a designated lap pool. Last summer, my husband was training for a tri and this hotel was perfect!! He was able to do spinning in the gym, go for runs on the boardwalk and do laps in the pool.

We only thing I would say was that the hotel (and Marbella in general) seems to have two seasons – in the summer the hotel was full of families and couples. In the spring it was mostly elderly and Irish golfers. This was fine, but made for a different vibe than our summer trip. This was also mirrored in the Old Town when we would go out for dinner and not a negative on the hotel in any way!!

We will definitely be going again!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are so glad to hear that really like our hotel and our sports center which is free for hotel guests, with the covered heated pool in the winter, sauna, Turkish baths and many more activities.
Regarding music in the summer, yes, we have live music almost every night; however we only have the performance outside on the terrace until midnight. Then the music goes on inside the bar.
The team and I look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews