We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a short break in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I think this hotel caters for an older clientele, but we found it very clean, comfortable and the staff couldn't have been more helpful or kind. Would definitely return.
Location was superb, moments from the old town, and on the promenade. Perfect

Room Tip: sea view rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiri18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thanks for choosing us for our short break and for your review. We especially appreciate your comment about the staff. The best recognition we could have is to welcome you soon again. I look forward to greeting you personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

727 - 733 of 1,719 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

It´s been a year since I was last at the Fuerte hotel - time flies when you live in Spain and it seemed like last month I was there! A beautiful hotel with a touch of grandeur and the location cannot be beaten.
We had a sea view room and with the extreme weather we saw high tides almost up to the hotel, which made the surfers and paddle boarders put on quite a show for us.
Food and service remain excellent, largest selection of a buffet breakfast I have seen in a hotel, and this time we had the Flamenco dinner buffet which was outstanding, something for everyone, and cakes which we all indulged in.
Staff are always polite and helpful and this time I had a facial in the Beauty Room, and Veronica and her skilled hands made me feel so relaxed and restored after a few days of hectic travelling and shopping. Go visit and you are in for a treat for body and mind.

Room Tip: The upgrade to a sea view is money well spent. We were on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZandaSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you very much for your visit and your review. It is great to hear you had a great time with us. The team & I hope it will not be that long this time for you to come again to Fuerte Marbella.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

My parents stayed here on an over 55's week in Oct and haven't stopped raving about how great it was on most fronts. It certainly suits an older clientele, easy access to promenade for walks, good food buffet style, not noisy as it doesn't appear to attract a young crowd. They were thrilled with the food and were on half board deal and it was a high point of the holiday to enjoy such variety and good quality food. Beach very easy to access. Very happy and would return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jofeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are very glad to you that your parents were happy during their stay with us. We would be delighted to welcome them again. Give them our regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Your hotel and grounds and facilities were amazing with the pool sauna and steam room free.
Everywhere was beautiful, the decor so tastfully done and spotlesly clean. it was so welcoming.
The staff were fantastic and worked so well as a team our thanks to Paquito Francisco in the restaurant who has worked with you for 41 yrs and is so proud of your hotel, Alvaro pool attendent who could,nt help us enough,. the managers who worked along side the teams and nothing was too much bother,. your meals were mouth watering. the presentation and choice was so vast. The food was just heaven and with such local and all other food you could not wish for.anything more. You never had to go out,.now where had your standards or amount of choice. our gala night was fabulous the music and the dancing was amazing. Seeing the lights turn on for christmas was the the icing on the cake. you where all magical Muchas Gracias por Total.
your making us aware of the environment and being aware with towel being hung up, not wasting wáter or leaving things on you are not using forus really worked. Gracias.
Mags Burt room 115

Room Tip: 115 though all rooms brilliant such high standards as all others from group said. Anna was there if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mags b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thanks very much for your stay and your review. We are very happy to know that you and the rest of the group had such a good time. We also enjoyed having you. The team & I look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel in September for 7 nights on a B&B basis.
The location of the hotel is on the beach and 5 minutes walk from the old town.
The bedroom was very comfortable and clean.
The breakfast was exceptional with a enormous choice of hot and cold foods and fresh juices.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and as our room was not ready when we arrived (we were early), we were invited to sit at the bar by the pool and take a drink compliments of the hotel.
Not the cheapest hotel in Marbella, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you very much for your 7 night stay and your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, a confortable and clean room, our exceptional choice for breakfast, and we feel very proud that you appreciated the friendliness of our team. Lets hope we will welcome you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have stayed here a few times before but this was the first time we got a 'welcome back' from the delightful Sandra. Sea front room comfortable with a great view. Free wi-fi worked perfectly.

Breakfast was as fantastic as usual - a wide selection, eggs cooked to order and lovely service. We also had a few lunches in the bar area which were good too. We didn't have dinner in the hotel as there are so many places to choose from nearby.

El Fuerte is a very relaxing place to stay - lovely garden, great location close to the old town and the beach front. Like many others have written we loved falling asleep to the sound of the waves.

Finally a lovely farewell (and see you next year) from Gonzalo!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CathyBic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you very much for your several stays and your comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your sea front room with a great view, the free wi-fi working perfectly, our fantistic breakfast, a few good lunches in the bar, our lovely garden and the sound of the waves while falling asleep.
It is also highly appreciated your comment about the warm "welcome back" and the "see you next year again" by our reception team. We all look forward to it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My Grandparents recently stayed in this hotel,and have done a number if times before.its centrally located,and on the beach front,so if you don't want to rent a car,it's brilliant.Unfortunately the hotel doesn't cater for the winter months,and with marbel floors the hotel is extremely cold at night in winter,When they asked the reception staff for a heater they refused.It was only when a charming waiter from the hotels restaurant stepped in several days later,did they get a heater at night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

We thank you for your review and are very glad that you grandparents have stayed with us a few times. We are happy to know that they appreciated our central location and beach front location. And also that our charming head waiter got your grandparents a heater.

This year we have had a very warm Autunm, with temperatures of 26ºC and a lot of sun. The cold came suddenly on the weekend of 16th November. We then changed our central air conditionning system into hot air. This maneuver takes 2 days. During these days we are always happy to bring a heater in the room when requested. We have been successfully opened 365 days/year since 1957 and always try to provide a warm service as well as a warm atmosphere.

We loook forward to welcoming your grandparents soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 69 in Marbella
1,882 reviews
3.5 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 69 in Marbella
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
0.3 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 69 in Marbella
1,536 reviews
6.4 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fuerte Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Address: Calle El Fuerte s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#8 Family Hotel in Marbella
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: $133 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuerte Marbella, the most emblematic hotel in the centre of Marbella, combines tradition and innovation. On the beach front and surrounded by 4000 sq. Meters of garden, Fuerte Marbella Hotel is an oasis walking distance to the Marbella old town, with restaurant and shops. Most of the rooms have magnificent views of the Mediterranean sea. A 7 km long beach promenade allows gentle walking to the famous Puerto Banus, with international shopping and restaurants. Fuerte Marbella offers a complete sports centre with covered heated pool (winter only) and a beach restaurant with sun beds (extra charge, summer only). Easy access from Malaga International airport (60 km) by rental car, shuttle bus or private transfer (book through the hotel). Public direct bus to Marbella bus station is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fuerte Hoteles, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Fuerte Resort
El Fuerte Marbella
El Fuerte Hotel Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing