We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Position Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Position Perfect”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed at the hotel from early to mid September 2013 for 10 days while getting married. I can say that my stay at the hotel was nothing more than perfect. The hotel was chosen after visiting a number of hotels in and around the area for our guests to stay. After recommending it, we decided to go and stay and check it out. We were glad we made the choice we did.
The hotel is in an excellent location, close to the beach, walking distance to the old town and more to the church if your getting married there and also to the numerous bars around the area.
My room was always kept clean and tidy, the front desk staff were always polite and there were always enough staff on to cope with the in coming guests booking in.
The breakfast was buffet style with hot and cold choices and the added option to go and get fresh eggs and pancakes cooked at the far in of the resturant.
There are two pool, which were both open, however when i went earlier in the year one was covered with a conservatry style shelter.
There are two tower accomadation blocks at the hotel with the older one just finished being redecorated earlier this year. The new one is more modern than the other, but not that spoils anything.
Also if you are taking a number of guest with you then the guest relations are very good and help sort out all our needs making all our guest booking in easy for us. If you can make the effort to stay in contact with them and up date them with requirements then they will do their best to assist. go and make an appiontment and have alook around the hotel
Yes there are cheaper hotels in the area. but if you wanted something that covered all aspects of a hoilday, either for yourself or for a group and certainly if your looking to get wed, then take a look here. Make some enquires and see if they can offer you group prices.

Room Tip: If you are looking at a sea view room. As you look at the entrance to the hotel. the sun sets to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 35sideburns86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Fuerte Marbella for your wedding and for your detailed review. I am sure many travellers looking to get married will find it very interesting.

Congratulations from all the team and we look forward to welcoming you for many more memorable visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    516
    114
    42
    31
See reviews for
294
820
38
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

No need to look any further. Everything about this hotel makes you feel beeing on holiday. It is right on the beach, and has that old fashioned feeling about it. The nearby old town is unbelievable and the best place for dining out at night. It is a little upmarket but very friendly and not overdone. Prices for meals and drinks are good value. Looking forward to come back in two month.

Room Tip: Even the rooms with sea view are great but if possible get a full view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hermann b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your stay and your review. We are glad to hear you felt so well. We also look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We booked to go to this hotel with my 2 sisters & brother in April we came back this weekend.(sept)
Hotel was great very handy ,great pools and lovely breakfast.
But I have to say when we were checking in Vega (a mature receptionist)was the most unhelpful person. We were told that we had booked through a third party and had incorrectly booked so instead of us sharing the 2 double rooms between the 4 of us they took it as 1 person per room.Vega then proceeded to tell us it was out of her control we had to pay and extra £47 per room per night and " that isn't much or else check out!"We then asked to speak to a manager who was as unhelpful and maybe we just wanted to check out and try and book somewhere else! Class! Not only were we booked in 2 different sections of the hotel my brother and sister had to share a double bed!!
I would just like to say I run a business and if I treated my clients in this manner I would not have any clients! All we were looking for was a reasonable solution not brick walls ,so their way or it was no way...
I have been to Marbella 3 times this year and I will never stay there again infact at the price we paid we could have gone to the 5 star down the road Don Carlos!!Which I would highly recommend!
We weren't even offered rooms beside each other we were in 2 different sections of the hotel and when we complained about this Vega thought we were 4 different people booking in yet I had told her we were away for my sisters 40th!!I think Vega maybe needs to listen to her customers and sharpen up her act!

Room Tip: 1st floor is not great as we looked out onto an air conditioner unit and flat roof,my siblings were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kirby O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel and for your review. We are very glad to know that you found Fuerte Marbella very handy , our pools great and our breakfast lovely.
Regarding the information about your reservation, Vega and our reception manager did everything they could to show you that the reservation we got from your travel agency was wrong: your travel agent made a mistake and booked two single rooms instead of two twin rooms. As we already told you, we are very sorry for the mistake, out of our control. And we were happy we could finally accommodate you. With our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is my 3rd review of the El Fuerte Hotel having stayed here 6 or 7 times. Its location cannot be beaten and it is run well with friendly staff. However whereas it used to be a smart hotel; the hotel is now attracting a totally different type of clientele. Be not be surprised to see a large number of guests appearing in shorts or vests at dinner piling their plates to the brim from the buffet food provided ( or from the show cooking section). The quality of the food has also declined Sadly, we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Try to book a full seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aart8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your several stayes and reviews. We are very glad to know you enjoy our location and our friendly staff.

We appreciate your comments about dinner etiquette and we will definately take some action to improve.

Regarding the quality of the food, we have made a few changes (as usual, as we have many repeating guests). However the quality is still as it has been in your previous visits. I would therefore be very grateful to know where exactly you thing we should improve, as it is very important for us.

I thank you in advance for your further information. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We recently stayed at the Fuerte for the third time. We enjoyed it just as much as before. The hotel is perhaps slightly dated but it is clean and well equipped and the staff are all really helpful and friendly. It also has a great gym if you want to use it.
We had a sea view room on a higher floor which had an excellent view over the ocean. We also had breakfast as part of the package and it is a treat. We normally sat outside as we ate and enjoyed the beautiful morning.
The hotel has character and atmosphere. We normally had a drink on the outside terrace after sunbathing then returned to the bar for a nightcap after we had eaten dinner. There was always something going on and it was really relaxing and enjoyable. We met Maria the Hotel Manager a few times and it is good to see how she keeps an eye to make sure everything goes as it should.
Marbella itself is a great place and the Fuerte is in an ideal location - right on the beach but only 5 minutes walk from the old town and all it's charm.
We really enjoyed our stay and would go again.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view, it is a little more expensive but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeenVacationerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your trust and your review. We are glad to know that you found the staff really helpful and friendly, as usual.

it is great to hear that you enjoy Marbella, and our location - right on the beach but only 5 minutes walk from the old town and all it's charm. I am sure other travellers will find your review very interesting.

In the name of the Fuerte Marbella team, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was my 2nd stop in my 2 week long honeymoon in Spain.. So I requested the manager to give me good room and he indeed give a nice room in their new wing..

Rooms - were of a very decent size with a small attached balcony overlooking the beach.. The bed wasn't the most comfortable that I have come across. It could have been far better specially if they did away with the small wheels below the bed. The bathroom too was reasonably ok..

Food - I must say that the breakfast both in terms of spread as well as state was by far the best I came across all he hotels I stayed in Spain. It was the most perfect way to kick start your day. I don't remember the name but a great Indian restaurant is just outside the hotel.

Location - what worked best for the hotel was its location. Right on the beach and even the old town (shopping area) is just a walking distance. Most shopping places were at a max 10 mins walking distance from the hotel.

Service - on the whole the service at the hotel was average and to be honest a slight below expectation.. Definitely much scope for improvement there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing - bigger and better, specially in case if you get the ones facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RohanJain2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in such a relevant celebration and congratulations from all the team.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the room, our buffet breakfast, our location on the beach and in the center of Marbella

We also appreciate your comments on the bed and service. We take them as a present and n opportunity to improve.

The team & I look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Probably about 7th visit to El Fuerte. We found it, initially, after consulting trip advisor and liked the look of the central location. Having stayed at three other hotels and a further three apartments in Marbella, this is the choice every time. The buffet breakfast, with show cooking, is always second to none and the staff are plentiful in number & very helpful too. We generally book B&B though the evening buffet is very good, again with show cooking.
The location can't be beaten for the beach, restaurants & the old town.
Plenty of room for sun beds either by the pool or in the garden unless you visit in high season, when there is a lot of "reserving" of spaces. Since our last visit, signs have been erected warning against this and pool attendants have been seen removing towels.
Price wise, the hotel is about what is expected during the different seasons, and is excellent as a base for both golfers and families.
The hotel has been around a while and as such, may look a bit old fashioned, but we love it.
Very highly recommended and well worth the extra for a front sea view room.

Location, food, service & value .......El Fuerte has it all!

If you're a trip advisor fan, as we are, then don't miss Paco Jimenez restaurant in Orange Square.

Room Tip: Corner rooms seem much bigger, but always go for front sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your trust. We are sure your comments will be very helpful for other travellers regarding our location, food, service and value, for both golfers and families. The team & I look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,721 reviews
3.5 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
0.3 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fuerte Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Property: Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Address: Calle El Fuerte s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#9 Family Hotel in Marbella
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuerte Marbella, the most emblematic hotel in the centre of Marbella, combines tradition and innovation. On the beach front and surrounded by 4000 sq. Meters of garden, Fuerte Marbella Hotel is an oasis walking distance to the Marbella old town, with restaurant and shops. Most of the rooms have magnificent views of the Mediterranean sea. A 7 km long beach promenade allows gentle walking to the famous Puerto Banus, with international shopping and restaurants. Fuerte Marbella offers a complete sports centre with covered heated pool (winter only) and a beach restaurant with sun beds (extra charge, summer only). Easy access from Malaga International airport (60 km) by rental car, shuttle bus or private transfer (book through the hotel). Public direct bus to Marbella bus station is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Fuerte Hoteles, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Fuerte Resort
El Fuerte Marbella
El Fuerte Hotel Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing