We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

What a lovely hotel, amazing location, couldn't have asked for better, right on the front and in the old town centre to boot, pleasant staff, great restaurants nearby, lovely pool area, we got upgraded foc to the top floor with the free coffee, water, fruit juice and buns and fruit all day. as our original room was not available. Will definitely return

Room Tip: Go for a sea view if at all possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Relaxed_Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing us and for your review. We are very glad to know that you enjoued our location, as well as our service and pool area. The team & I look forward to welcoming you soon again. Rgds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    517
    114
    42
    32
See reviews for
300
826
38
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Metz
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

A deservedly popular and ideally situated quality hotel . The 4th floor sea-view room was excellent.

Especial mention for the top-class Hotel manager; welcoming main restaurant Maître d'; attentive Beach Club Restaurant manager and his staff (try the salt-baked turbot - a culinary delight!).

El Feurte was a major contributor to our tremendous 10-day Andalusian break.

WELL DONE. PLEASED TO RECOMMEND WITHOUT RESERVE.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a sea-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank emyaisbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing us and for your review. We are very glad to know that the location and the Fuerte Marbella team contributed to make your Andalusian break so special. We all look forward to your next visit. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked the Junior suite which is this hotels second best class of room. The pictures of the room on the website looked amazing but the actual room was not what was portrayed in the pictures. I would be wary of this as I assume this is the case with all of their pictured rooms. Also note that this hotel very much resembles a retirement home, both in its clientele and atmosphere so unless this is what you are looking for I would think twice.

What was an ok stay at an average hotel, was ruined by what should have been a simple issue of reporting a broken table - that turned in to the customer service experience from hell. On our second day in the room we put some water bottles on the bottom shelf of the coffee table, the strength of this plywood table was not up to the task and the bottom shelf collapsed under the weight. We immediately reported this to reception who said not to worry they would send someone to investigate and repair the table. That day when they cleaned our room we returned to find the table was gone and no replacement left in its place. We again enquired at reception about the table and they assured us that there were no issues.

On the day of check out, on top of our hotel bill we were presented with a bill for 200 euros for a broken fridge shelf and a broken table. We were confused and asked to be shown by a member of their staff what we had broken in the fridge. They obliged and embarrassingly realised there was nothing broken so reduced the charge to 150 euros!

After trying to reach an agreement with Gonzalos at reception who was very helpful and a true gentleman, the manager Maria (who it seemed like had been avoiding coming out to see us) finally graced us with her presence. When asked why we were being charged 150 euros for using a table for the purpose it was made for she explained maybe we had put too much on the table?! She then offered the theory that the table was so old and had never broken before that it could only have been misuse that could have caused the structural failure. Such was her confidence in structural integrity of this plywood feet of engineering master piece that she would not accept any other explanation. We offered many theories such as maybe it had been weakened by prior guests, or that if it was as old as she said then that could be the cause or any myriad of reasons. No, according to Maria the guests were at fault and the guests must pay 150 euros for what could only be described as a maybe a 30 euro table at most. Not even an acceptance that since they had made an error in charging us for imaginary damage to the fridge that they also could be being unreasonable here.

We also felt so bad for the airport transfer guy that we felt impelled to give him a generous tip as he was clearly being scoulded by his superiors for waiting for us at the hotel and delaying his next transfer pick up. Further adding to the costs Fuerte had caused us.

I have travelled a lot and I have stayed in many hotels. This was by far the worst level of customer experience by any hotel I have experienced. Not even an apology for trying to charge us for damage that did not exist. At the end of the exchange with the manager Maria there was no gracious apology or fond farewell for her guests she just stormed off like we were an inconvenience to her day. I expect a reply to this review from the hotel somehow attempting to blame the customer again, which will no doubt prove my point.

Be wary of staying here and if possible bring your own furniture as Fuerte accept no responsibility for their own.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Mic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us. I am really sorry that you and your group of friends did not find our hotel convenient. With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This Fuerte in Marbella is an excellent beachfront hotel. We found it based on the good reviews here on Tripadvisor. We enjoyed each day there, and would love to return one day. At the desk upon entering we were greeted with a smile, by Nancy, who helped us throughout our stay. All the staff we met were positive and totally helpful.
We booked a double room with front seaview, requesting a higher floor. Room 434 in the newer building suited us nicely. The front seaview balcony was fantastic! It was a WOW! The room was quiet, beds comfortable, had a nice bath area, and was very, very clean.
The hotel is one of the oldest in Marbella, but looks beautiful, and well maintained. A palace!!! It's always good to see the gardeners, cleaning and maintence staff all doing their work through the day. Liked the secured stairs and elevators.
The two pools were great, with the sea as your background. One pool for the family, and one with swimming lanes for laps. Good! Plenty of chaises too.
Easy access through the gate onto the long esplanade, and to go across to the beach plus beach restaurant. Ate there 2 times, see my other review. It was really good.
The main restaurant & bar were great for the breakfast buffets, and meals & drinks later in the day, even outside.
If you have a car use the easy parking lot for a fair $12E daily. Seemed a difficult area for parking on the outside.
The hotel is on the Golden Mile of the esplanade. Tons of activity any time of the day or evening for all ages. Tons of food, drink, stores, activities, etc., and of course----ahhhh the beach. The beautiful Marbella shore.
Overall, this is one great hotel. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.
Cheers! --------- Ken

Room Tip: Room 434, newer building. Double, front seaview. Right side, looking at the sea. Excellent!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyBeachcomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to write this review. I will pass your comments with pleasure to my team.
I look forward to greeting you personally in your next visit. Best regards from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

There is a review on here stating that the hotel charges €20 per day per sun beds. I have rung the hotel today the standard sunbeds are free of charge but they have 4 poster sunbeds with they do charge €20 per day but that includes a bottle of cava.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to clarify the Balinese beds information. Look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I am very surprised by all te good reviews, we just got back from a week break. This hotel is average at best, breakfast is poor and rooms are very dated. First room we were given was very poor condition and noisy, when we asked about moving the only option we had was to upgrade to exclusive rooms at a additional cost of 30 euro per night. Don't be fooled by the photos, these look to have been taken a while ago, the beds by the pool are charged at 20 euros per day!

The pool is open to the public so gets very busy. For the price you pay, look elsewhere, the location is good but that is the only good point.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amberjaysheree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear that our location was convenient for you. We are a city hotel, and the rooms with no sea view (that is our classic rooms) maybe a bit noisy. We recommend to book side or front sea view room. Regarding the sunbeds at the pool, we do not charge for these. We only charge for the Balinese beds (20€/day including a bottle of Spanish sparkling wine “cava”), and on the beach, the sunbed + umbrella costs 7€/day.
We also offer a superb sports center (free use for hotel guests) with sauna, Turkish baths, weights machines, cardiogym, pilates, yoga, aquagym. Member of the sports center may use one of our pools (we have two, one of them heated and covered in the winter). However, most lanes are reserved for hotel guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and myself spent one week in this hotel last September.The location is excellent as it is beside the sea with easy access to the beach underneath the adjoining street. There is a short walk to the old town which has lovely restaurants and shops. Marbella in itself is very clean with a variety of shops also. However the real beauty is walking the street with the beach on one side and the restaurants on the other side especially in the evening time. We are so impressed with this area that we have booked for 10 nights this September. This is the first time that we have returned to the same place on our holidays. Our wish is to get a sea view room or reasonable size room rather than the small room that we had last year. Other than that we are looking forward to next September.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hughmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you very much for booking again at Fuerte Marbella Hotel. We are very glad to hear that you enjoy our location and the surroundings, specially the variety of shops walking distance and the beautiful beach promenade just by the hotel gardens.
We have checked and we have your reservation in the system for a standard room, made through a travel agent. If you would like a sea view room, please do not hesitate to contact us directly or tell your agent to contact us to change your booking. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#4 of 70 in Marbella
1,753 reviews
3.5 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
0.3 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fuerte Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Property: Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Address: Calle El Fuerte s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#9 Family Hotel in Marbella
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuerte Marbella, the most emblematic hotel in the centre of Marbella, combines tradition and innovation. On the beach front and surrounded by 4000 sq. Meters of garden, Fuerte Marbella Hotel is an oasis walking distance to the Marbella old town, with restaurant and shops. Most of the rooms have magnificent views of the Mediterranean sea. A 7 km long beach promenade allows gentle walking to the famous Puerto Banus, with international shopping and restaurants. Fuerte Marbella offers a complete sports centre with covered heated pool (winter only) and a beach restaurant with sun beds (extra charge, summer only). Easy access from Malaga International airport (60 km) by rental car, shuttle bus or private transfer (book through the hotel). Public direct bus to Marbella bus station is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Fuerte Hoteles, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Fuerte Resort
El Fuerte Marbella
El Fuerte Hotel Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing