We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be fooled by the reviews..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the reviews..”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I am very surprised by all te good reviews, we just got back from a week break. This hotel is average at best, breakfast is poor and rooms are very dated. First room we were given was very poor condition and noisy, when we asked about moving the only option we had was to upgrade to exclusive rooms at a additional cost of 30 euro per night. Don't be fooled by the photos, these look to have been taken a while ago, the beds by the pool are charged at 20 euros per day!

The pool is open to the public so gets very busy. For the price you pay, look elsewhere, the location is good but that is the only good point.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amberjaysheree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear that our location was convenient for you. We are a city hotel, and the rooms with no sea view (that is our classic rooms) maybe a bit noisy. We recommend to book side or front sea view room. Regarding the sunbeds at the pool, we do not charge for these. We only charge for the Balinese beds (20€/day including a bottle of Spanish sparkling wine “cava”), and on the beach, the sunbed + umbrella costs 7€/day.
We also offer a superb sports center (free use for hotel guests) with sauna, Turkish baths, weights machines, cardiogym, pilates, yoga, aquagym. Member of the sports center may use one of our pools (we have two, one of them heated and covered in the winter). However, most lanes are reserved for hotel guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    501
    113
    41
    30
See reviews for
280
800
36
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and myself spent one week in this hotel last September.The location is excellent as it is beside the sea with easy access to the beach underneath the adjoining street. There is a short walk to the old town which has lovely restaurants and shops. Marbella in itself is very clean with a variety of shops also. However the real beauty is walking the street with the beach on one side and the restaurants on the other side especially in the evening time. We are so impressed with this area that we have booked for 10 nights this September. This is the first time that we have returned to the same place on our holidays. Our wish is to get a sea view room or reasonable size room rather than the small room that we had last year. Other than that we are looking forward to next September.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hughmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you very much for booking again at Fuerte Marbella Hotel. We are very glad to hear that you enjoy our location and the surroundings, specially the variety of shops walking distance and the beautiful beach promenade just by the hotel gardens.
We have checked and we have your reservation in the system for a standard room, made through a travel agent. If you would like a sea view room, please do not hesitate to contact us directly or tell your agent to contact us to change your booking. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papeete, French Polynesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My friend and I have stayed in Fuerte for 1 week. The room and the breakfast were nice. However, we have booked a day trip to Granda and it was disastrous.

Our scheduled meeting time was 0614 and the coach was late for 30 minutes. The company did not provide any emergency contact phone number. Instead, they have only provided us with their office phone number, which, obviously was useless in this case as their office was not open at 6 am in the morning. While I have headed back to the hotel to figure out what was going on, leaving my friend to wait at the bus station, the coach arrived at 0645. Instead of apologizing, the tour guide shouted at us for not waiting at the bus stop "patiently'. Our real ordeal begun when we noticed that the coach, instead of heading to Granada after leaving the city centre of Marbella, was spending another 3 hours to pick up guest from multiple hotels scattering along the coast from Marbella to Malaga. In total, we have only spent less than 6 hours in Granada. The same lousy arrangement was repeated on our way back. Our coach left Granada at 16:30 and we can only get back to the hotel at 20:45.

It only takes 2 hours to drive from Marbella to Granda.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HongKongChor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us. Great to hear that you enjoyed the room and our buffet breakfast.
Thank you also for your feedback regarding the excursion to Granada where it is clear that we have to reinforce the information we give at the desk, reminding guests that the organized excursion is picking up other guests in other hotels, as well as revise our agreement with the service provider.
Kind regards, Fuerte Marbella Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for three nights and enjoyed it. The location is great with sea view. Staff are friendly. A Breakfast with variety options was complimentary and shouldn’t be missed in front of the swimming pool.

Drawbacks, furniture and decoration are outdated and hotel need to be renovated.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in high floor and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohdmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our great location and sea view, our friendly staff and our buffet breakfast.
We are undertaking the renovation of the Levante building in phases: last winter we did some works and we will keep on improving in the coming winters. The team & I look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at Fuerte Marbella for 8 nights. The hotel is well positioned on the promenade which runs from Marbella to Puerto Banus. It is only a matter of a few minutes walk to the Old Town which is without doubt the highlight of Marbella.
Whilst the position of the hotel is great, there are some criticisms/observations which are as follows.
The breakfast choice is first class and as good as most 5 star hotels. We enjoyed eating outside however, we did notice that some of the staff whose job it was to show you to a table gave preferential treatment and the best tables to guests who had given them a tip! We noticed this on at least two occasions when a good table was free but we were told that it was reserved. we then saw money pass to the staff. I know that I could have done the same but I feel that paying 235 euros a night it should be 'first come first served'.
Talking of paying 235 Euros a night, we booked a 'Junior Suite' in the hope that we would get a room with a good sea view. we were told that there were no direct sea facing rooms available at the time.
To be honest we were disappointed. The 'Junior Suite' was right at the back of the hotel on the 2nd floor (out of 6). We had a good view of the road from our 'lounge area' and an excellent view of the tennis court from the balcony. There was only a glimpse of the sea.
I did ask reception how much it would be to get a higher floor with a better view of the sea and I was quoted another 60 Euros a night.
This would have brought the price up to just short of 300 Euros or in excess of £250.00 a night.
Now we have stayed in some of the most beautiful hotels in the world and it has not cost us that much.
I gave this hotel a rating of 4, very good, because in truth it is a very good hotel. However I do not think that it is value for money (in our case) and do watch out if you want to park your hire car at the hotel as it will cost you 12 Euros a day almost as much as a hire car costs to rent for a day.
Will we return? The simple answer is no. I think that next time I will rent a luxury villa.

Room Tip: If you choose a Junior Suite make sure it is not one at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Thaibart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed our location and our first class breakfast.

Regarding the tables for our restaurant terrace for breakfast, as well as in our beach restaurant, we follow the first-come first-serve rule. Guests may wait for a few minutes to get a table outdoors as the terrace is really pleasant. I do not expend very much time in my office, as I personally seat guests for breakfast quiet often (between 9 and 11 am) as I like being near my guests and my team.

Regarding the junior suites, we have to types of junior suites: front sea view and side sea view, so guests can book depending on their preferences. Junior suites with front sea view are on the Levante building (above the bar) and may accommodate 2 adults + 2 children. Junior suites with side sea view are in the Poniente building and have partial sea view and a smaller terrace, although the room itself is quiet spacious for 2 adults + 2 children. The junior suites are our biggest rooms. In addition we have twins front sea view, twins side sea view and our classic room (looking onto the street or the entrance of the hotel). The quiets’ rooms are the sea view rooms (both side and front). However not all of them are big enough to take a third bed.

Our parking includes shaded spaces and it costs 12€ per day (same rate in the last 6 years). Guest can go in and out with their room card. There are two public parkings very near us, the price there is 16€ per day. Being that we are a hotel in the heart of the city, if we compare with other city hotels, our price is between 4 and 8 € cheaper.
Marbella is a beautiful destination for leisure, with very nice hotels and also very nice villas. We do have some guests who used to come to Fuerte Marbella and now they bought a villa or an apartment, and they still come for lunch to our Beach Restaurant or to our buffet restaurant. Everyone is welcome to enjoy our typical fish on skewer and paellas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have stayed several times over the years and enjoy the traditional style facilities and high quality service. Dont expect ultra modern up to date rooms, they are small, very basic and the air con sometimes struggles to cope. There is now a really good discipline in terms of non reservation of sun beds and this has improved things in what is a fairly congested pool area - well done ! ( other hotels should take note.)The breakfast quality and chef service with a smile makes it a most pleasurable experience, overall another enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view book the highest rooms on floors 4/5 - there is a large tree bang in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaguarbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your loyalty and commitment to our hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoy coming back as often as you do. Regarding rooms, as you probably know, there are two buildings in Fuerte Marbella Hotel: Poniente and Levante. The Poniente one was fully renovated in 2005. The Levante building has once again been partially renovated last Winter, and we will again undertake another partial renovation in the coming Winters. See you soon, the chef and all of us will be just as welcoming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

book a room overlooking it, with a balcony. Rooms of average size, typical for the age of the hotel c late 1950s. Facilities fine, staff mostly helpful but not all, especially at peak breakfast. time. Great breakfast though, taken either indoors or out. Car parking on-site and the hotel's only a ten minute stroll from the centre of old Marbella, Orange Square, lovely old church there too.

Room Tip: Facing the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heraldic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your stay with us during the month of June. We are glad you and your friends have enjoyed the Great Breakfast, as well as Marbella beautiful setting. We will do our very best to improve staff friendliness, specially during peak hours.
The team & I hope to welcome you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
3.5 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 70 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
2.3 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
6.4 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fuerte Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Property: Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Address: Calle El Fuerte s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#9 Family Hotel in Marbella
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuerte Marbella, the most emblematic hotel in the centre of Marbella, combines tradition and innovation. On the beach front and surrounded by 4000 sq. Meters of garden, Fuerte Marbella Hotel is an oasis walking distance to the Marbella old town, with restaurant and shops. Most of the rooms have magnificent views of the Mediterranean sea. A 7 km long beach promenade allows gentle walking to the famous Puerto Banus, with international shopping and restaurants. Fuerte Marbella offers a complete sports centre with covered heated pool (winter only) and a beach restaurant with sun beds (extra charge, summer only). Easy access from Malaga International airport (60 km) by rental car, shuttle bus or private transfer (book through the hotel). Public direct bus to Marbella bus station is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Fuerte Hoteles, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Fuerte Resort
El Fuerte Marbella
El Fuerte Hotel Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing